We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalahari Trails

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Start your review of Kalahari Trails
 Click to rate
Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Morning walk was a bit disappointing. Friendly guide, but was rather slow and not much for the R200 per person paid. Walked a bit in the veld and saw some trees and tracks on the dunes. I think a morning guided walk in Kgalagadi would be better value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari Trails, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I'm sorry you were disappointed but our morning walks are rather like a game drive in the Transfrontier Park. Sometimes you see a lot, sometimes not, it's dependent on the weather and especially the temperature the previous night. This walk is slow because we are concentrating on the small things and the story their tracks leave in the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We were 4 adults and had booked the chalet for our two night stay. We booked two nights because I was particularly looking forward to the early morning walk with The Prof...Ha! guess what, she does not do the walks anymore. Maybe the website should be updated (?). Jaco proved to be fairly knowledgeable but being particularly interested in botany...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traveloggers62
Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari Trails, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay here. Owing to health reasons, I have been unable to do the walks for 3 years now, I am just too old at 77 to manage them any more but Jaco Reichert is a qualified and very good guide. Please understand, the people that come on the walks have very varying...

Strand, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Clean and well equipped rooms with shared facilities in large house. Secure parking and friendly, helpful staff. Nice braai facilities. A guided early morning walk to read the "Kalahari newspaper" is a must !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henkt509
Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari Trails, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review Henk. It was a pleasure to have you here and both Jaco and I wish you all the very best for 2017. Anne

Reviewed 17 August 2016

We booked the cottage for 4 nights which was a great decision. It has its own little water point very close by so we were able to view numerous bird species as well as gemsbok, springbok and other small mammals. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk with Jaco and the meerkat family and Professor Anna Rasa proved to be a mine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari Trails, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words Wendy. Its great to know that there are people who really appreciate what we are trying to do here - to give people a Kalahari experience that they will find nowhere else. Thanks again, Anne

Lichtenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

THIS IS WHAT WE READ ONLINE: "Highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Kalahari Trails Meerkat Sanctuary is a 3 500ha private reserve situated 35km south of Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. The setting is a nature-lover’s paradise. Given over exclusively to game, it offers a wide range of habitats to explore. Various accommodation options are available..... Guests are welcome to explore the farm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-Sannieshof
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived very late having originally booked in for camping, but decided that fixed accommodation was probably a better idea. I'm glad we did as the rains were very heavy that night! We were greeted very promptly and given a choice of rooms. We stayed in the one at the end with double bed and bath. Honestly the rooms do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank a-marie1983
Dublin
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We camped for 2 nights at Kalahari trails on the way into Kgaligadi. It was a great introduction to the Kalahari, with the benefit that you can just walk into the dunes, which you cannot do inside the park. Campsite was empty except for us when we were there. There are braai and sink facilities, and clean bathrooms with showers....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dara219
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Kalahari Trails prior to a week in the Kgalagadi National Park. We were met by Prof. Anne and her meerkat friends. The facilities at the guest house were clean and welcoming. We made use of the freezer and fridge for our provisions in the Park. We had booked 2 nights in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sueg1953
Nome, Alaska
Reviewed 22 May 2015

My friends and I spent the night on our way to KTP in mid April. The accommodations were basic, but clean and well maintained and the setting was delightful. We had hoped to do a nature walk with the the owner, Dr Rasa, but she was recovering from a serious illness which may explain the unfortunate state of affairs described...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank orito63
George, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We spent 2 nights in this facility on our way to the Kgalagadi. This was quite a disappointment. Not only was our room double booked, but the toilet was not functioning properly, the shower drain was partly blocked, the kitchen zinc was totally blocked and everything else had a shabby appearance. The kitchen in general was dirty and the management...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toerman

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Trails is a self-service Nature Reserve with a main guesthouse, chalet, tented camp and campsite.We specialise in guided walks and drives and show visitors a Kalahari they would never see from a car.A visit here is the ideal complement to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, just 20 mins drive away. Come walk the Kalahari with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Trails

Address: Twee Riverien, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Trails staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice meerkats”
paulj930, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Book a room with on-suite bathroom.”
henkt509, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms in this guest house. Don't stay here.”
kalmond123, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“En suite bedrooms are more spacious”
JudithS234, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“There is no such thing as a good room here.”
WilfredThessinger, 23 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5