We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coach House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coach House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Coach House Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel many times but i haven't stayed here for over 7 years. Unfortunately the hotel has not kept the superior reputation that it had. The rooms are dated and it feels run down. The location however remains magnificent and the surroundings pure bliss, I will be back many times, I hope.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 380garethv
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Coach house has such great potential - a truly beautiful setting, and friendly competent staff, and yet seems to be falling apart slowly. Carpets in rooms have not seen a good wash in ages, or maybe just need replacement, drain in bathroom blocked, hot water tap in shower couldn't open, ran out of biscuits and cheese, fruit by Sunday breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizl P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Grand and large and all sooo awesome! That's how I describe my room! Two bathrooms, to choose from, such a spoil! A fire place for cold winter nights! Air-con for the more modern. They've combined the old, rustic and new very nicely! Beds are huge and comfortable and the nights so quiet and peaceful you dont hear a thing! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zaar M
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted well with fresh litchie juice at reception after a long but winding mountain pass trip on the bike. Room was clean and beds were super comfy. Pillows were fluffy and inviting. Cleaning staff was lovely and polite. Dining room was quaint with lots of old items on the wall including copper bed warmers. Food was well prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephannie S
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stephannie , Thank you for such amazing feedback , knowing we are serving our guests better everyday is how we want our business to grow. We value your support and will definitely mention this to our staff & our senior management so they could continue the great work. We wish to welcome you back real soon. Warm Regards Management...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent one night at the Coach House in around 1998 and was so impressed. I really looked forward to my next visit. But my stay in room 28 was disappointing: the upholstery of the lounge furniture is stained. A few light switches were missing. The patio furniture is in tatters. A blue-green goo runs down the tiles below the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karindorville
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Karin , Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback , we will address the poor quality of maintenance and housekeeping with senior managers for further action. We value your support and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Warm Regards Management & Team Coach House Hotel

Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The views from the hotel are stunning. The lodge is very attractive and must have been super in a bygone era. Our room was extremely spacious. It needs to be refurnished. That would make a huge difference. The dinner was excellent and the restaurant staff were wonderful. They were most professional and charming. Just being with them made my visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joan , Thank you for the wonderful review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so extremely pleased  that you had such a great experience with us. We hope that you will indeed return soon and we cannot wait to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Staff and Management Coach House Hotel and Spa

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I love the setting, and believe me they have the best steak, but I truly miss the little extras the old Coach House provided. I've been coming here for the past 8 years. This time, no fridge, no nougat and no surprise coffee in the morning. The staff is still great, but maintenance inside the room is becoming a problem....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liezlm242
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Liezl, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services at Coach House Hotel . We value your feedback and be assured that your comments will be reviewed by the senior management and will address reccommended changes. We wish to welcome you back to our Properties some time soon. Kind regards Coach House Management and its Team.

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

My husband and I have visited this hotel a number of time, which just shows we have enjoyed our stay there. The rooms a well appointed with an old world feel. The beds and linen are top quality. I just love the coffee hatch, where coffee or tea is brought every morning with a rusk. There is a Spar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carol , Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services at Coach House Hotel . We value your feedback and be assured that your comments will be reviewed by the senior management and shared with the personnel. We wish to welcome you back to our Properties some time soon. Kind regards Coach House Management and its Team.

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Towels with holes, mouldy smelling room, moulded ceilings where do I start... too afraid to even walk with bare feet on the carpet and decided to rather avoid the restaurant ... Priced at almost R2000 per single for a night I expected much more , but it is not worth more than R200 in a backpackers hostel. It was too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank h3st2017
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest , Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services at Coach House Hotel . We value your feedback and be assured that your comments will be reviewed by the senior management. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused by the state of the rooms .We wish to welcome you back to our Properties some time...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

the hotel is on a great location on the top of the hill with beautiful gardens and surrounds. The service was friendly and accommodating although slow at times. The facilities and amenities are adequate, the room sizes fantastic although the decor is dated. The only real criticism is that the marketing of the property portrays a hotel of 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gmoon899
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dearest Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your most valued feedback and we will definitely heed your advice with regards to the marketing. Thank you once more. Please do return again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Coach House Hotel and Spa

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
16.9 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
163 reviews
20.5 km away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
142 reviews
13.0 km away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
13.5 km away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 15 in Tzaneen
61 reviews
11.0 km away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Price Range: $80 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coach House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coach House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Terrific location”
380garethv, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“find another hotel”
h3st2017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suites are good”
gmoon899, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't drive late at night on a rainy day, early morning drives are a must.”
Dwight87, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“View over Wolkberg Room 1 - 8”
carinv381, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5