We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Summit Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Grand Summit Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
County Offaly, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We as a couple from Ireland attending a family wedding here at Summit Hotel early November had a lovely few days . Hospitality was really good, room very clean and comfortable. Food in Hat Tavern was really lovely. We had breakfast and three evening meals there . Lady on duty there over breakfast so friendly and accommodating . Pity hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnmariehynes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I did not have a great experience in August (shabby room, poor TV reception, poor temperature control, etc.) but when the assistant manager responded nicely, I thought I would give the hotel another chance. Well, I did, and I'll pick somewhere else next time. The breakfast had fewer options than last time, but it is still the highlight of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 72850007
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We are certainly very disappointed to hear that we were unable to provide you with a better experience upon your return to the property. You can be sure that we will take corrective action to address the issues you have... More 

Budd Lake, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our wedding was two weeks ago at the Grand Summit Hotel and every time I talk to one of our guests, this is what they tell me. My husband and I attribute this to Jimmy and his incredible staff at the Grand Summit. We planned our wedding over a year and a half. Whenever I had a question or concern... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and comfortable hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Hat Tavern is a nice place to take a beer (and you can taste several ones) after dinner. I really appreciated their willingness to prepare me a club sandwich after the kitchen was already closed. On top of everything the upgrade that was given me for the Presidential Suite was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulo R
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here a few weeks ago. I have stayed here MANY times before! The room that my sister and I had was appalling ...urine on the sheets...terrible odor in the room....noise ALL night long. We had no choice but to sleep together in the same bed. I told management in the morning and they offered to comp me the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bubbles664
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bubbles, I welcome the opportunity to speak with you in regard to your review here. I was not aware of your experience, and would be more than happy to speak with you to resolve your issues to your satisfaction. Your comments are not indicative of our guest experiences, and I want to apologize for the issue you describe here.... More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So wanted to like this place but just didn't. Everything is a little off. The bar downstairs is cute in the front and oddly like a cafeteria in the back. The room is dated with a sheet for a door to the closet that blows in your face when you open the door to the room. The bathroom is tiny.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek P
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Grand Summit Hotel likes to think of itself as an "elite" property, but as hotels good it is very nice, but nothing exceptional. Rooms, for example, have too few plugs for all of today's modern conveniences. But, you can beat the charm and the warmth of the hotel staff. From the Front Desk, to the Conceirge, to the House... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan L
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were less than adequate although recently updated. Clean and comfortable, but somewhat cramped. Staff was very personable and helpful. Breakfast was included, but not extraordinary. Lovely area - Summit has many good restaurants and shops.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of your hotel was in the right place for my needs.My room was very, very nice. All the staff was very helpful in every way. The food was OK. I say this because, the bacon look good but appeared chewy.It may have been put in a microwave oven. Eggs seemed to be powered, not good. over all,it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We have the pleasure of hosting many guests visiting Overlook Hospital, and we appreciate your choosing our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and the staff. We were disappointed to hear that you did... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 30 years ago and remember it as top hotel. Our recent experience was less than satisfactory. The first room offered to us was next to the lobby. Across from a conference room and the storage room for conference equipment. The room smelled moldy. We asked to be moved. The front desk said they had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howard M
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Howard, Please allow me to apologize for your experience with us. We take pride in the extensive list of repeat customers that we have, so we are disappointed to hear that a return guest like yourself could not be made to feel comfortable. We have a large selection of room types that includes rooms that have been completely renovated... More 

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
3.1 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
909 reviews
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
8.5 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
739 reviews
14.8 km away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
648 reviews
9.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Price Range: $202 - $1,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
over a year ago
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the first floor are less than adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles 505eileenb, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I understand they have some newer, brighter furnished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles IraC24, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in several options over the past few years, all great - depends on your budget”
 of 5 bubbles PoppiMimi, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay on first floor, can hear everyone walking in hall all night and morning! Can hear the loud parties in the ballroom”
 of 5 bubbles NYUMICHMOM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe pick a top floor?”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay