We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DeBary Inn

Certificate of Excellence
12/05/2017 13/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
DeBary Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DeBary Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

My recent stay at the Debary Inn was for four nights and couldn't have been better. Jimmy the Innkeeper was fantastic and very helpful with restaurant and public transit recommendations. This was the perfect place to return to after a full day of meetings. Highly recommend room #17 at the top floor. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Matt, nice to hear that you enjoyed our Millennial Suite with free Netflix on our 42" Smart TV, perfect spot to pamper yourself.

Reviewed 15 January 2016

This was a great B&B. I travel a lot for work, so I've seen my fair share of disappointing breakfasts, but the spread at DeBary is outstanding. They get breakfast cakes from one of the local bakeries, plus they have cereal, eggs, yogurt (greek and regular!), and great bread/spreads. Plus, the staff was super friendly and helpful. I'd absolutely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Natale's Bakery, in Summit, gets the credit for the pastries, and cakes. Our wonderful guests get the credit for creating a wonderful atmosphere for our staff.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Charming, Comfortable, impeccably clean, great location in darling town of Summit with train to visit elsewhere & good restaurants, delicious fresh breakfast, beautifully restored inn, quiet & private, spacious living room & porch ideal for meeting up with family & friends. It is our home away from home( Ohio is home)as we enjoy our family growing up in Summit! Just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Beth for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated. But allow me to add that our greatest asset at the inn is our guests.

Yadkinville, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I was quite pleased with our stay here. The BnB is a beautiful stately home in a quiet neighborhood in town. It is within walking distance to a plethora of boutique shopping and a wide variety of dining establishments. The Victorian Inn is beautifully decorated. The room (we had a full sized bedroom) was quite comfortable and welcoming. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Julie from the entire staff.

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 28 December 2015

This is a beautiful old home that is nicely decorated. My room was small but that was fine. The problems I had were the sheets were AWFUL. They were old and scratchy. I've had better at very cheap chains. The walls are also very thin so I could hear the TVs from both my neighbors. Guests must have been taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy R
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry Dorothy you had a less than pleasant experience with our 600 thread sheets. We have never had a complaint before but we will look into it. As to our coffee mugs, we inspect every mug every day, the mugs will stain after you have had your first cup due to the strength of our coffee. Our guests have...

Summit, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We were longtime Summit residents who now rely on the DeBary for our home away from home. Our family has stayed at the DeBary for many holidays and trips back to Summit to see our dear friends. The house is lovely,clean, and very comfortable. The location is fabulous,2 blocks from downtown Summit which has many restaurants, a movie theatre, shopping,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda627615
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Linda, always great to see old friends again. We look forward to meeting the rest of your family over Christmas week.

The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We were very disappointed and upset to find that our bathroom was not connected to our room. (It was across the hall and was accessed with a key.) When we said as much to the host, his response was that when you stay in a boutique B&B that is what you get. We have stayed in many similar B&Bs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carpe123
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Room 16 is the only room at the inn with a detached bathroom, we clearly describe that fact in all our listings. We also price the room accordingly, it is the lowest priced room at the inn. Our policy is to upgrade a guest whenever it is feasible, but on the day of your reservation we were completely booked making...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

I come to the DeBary since years during my business trips in NJ, three or four times per year. The propriety is a typical hold house, Very charming. You feel at home. This changes from the usual chains Hotel in US. All the same everywhere. However in the last year quality of breakfast became disappointing. Dishes, mugs and glasses doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NP-7175
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast, I can assure you that we take your review to seriously and will take steps to ensure that our breakfast lives up to both of our standards. We are very diligent when it comes to choosing our fruits, occasionally a bad strawberry gets by and we apologize for that. . We...

Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewed 3 December 2015

I stayed at the DeBary Inn for the first time this week, as I am in the area for work. This spot is a great find! Comfortable and welcoming with lots of little touches to make you feel at home, from fresh baked cookies at reception to a number of common rooms to relax in. There is even original stained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Christina, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The inn is a beautiful, turn of the century building, with all the amenities offered in a big box hotel but with a little more style and grace. We were very pleased to meet you and hope you will consider us on your next stay in the...

Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewed 3 December 2015

I travel for business every month and have tried a couple of different hotels in the area. This is the best for many reasons. The staff make me feel at home (they even let me keep my insulin in the kitchen refrigerator), it is very close to my office, it feels like home - every room is different and unique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy24bda
Frederick D, Owner at DeBary Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Nancy, we try our best to make sure all our guests have not only a great stay but a wonderful experience. We are glad that we were able to achieve those goals on your stay, please come back asap.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
12/05/2017 13/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.2 km away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
463 reviews
7.7 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
440 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
983 reviews
10.2 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
775 reviews
8.8 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in a quiet residential street in Summit's historic North End. The DeBary Inn is newly remodeled and redecorated, and we have taken great care to make sure that you are comfortable and feel at home. Located at 265 Springfield Avenue, in an amazing neighborhood that is renowned for its magnificent Victorian homes, the DeBary is just one block from chic restaurants and charming boutique shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DeBary Inn

Address: 265 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-3607
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Price Range: $185 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeBary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DeBary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debary Hotel Summit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DeBary Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from DeBary Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for air condition to be turned on prior to arrival”
ShoreLifeIsGrand, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay on top floor to ensure you don't hear people walking early in the morning or late at night!”
L7388ACjasonm, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in the 3rd floor suite,large living room, bath and bedroom. There are also rooms with fireplaces. Beautiful old mansion!”
895SherryH, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the second floor in the back which was very quiet.”
994pennym, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room on the top floor so that there would be no noise from above.”
wvlori, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates