We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Colonial Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Colonial Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We spent 4 nights at the Colonial in early August. We were totally satisfied. Convenient to the beach and restaurants. Always a parking place. Quiet neighborhood. Friendly, helpful staff. We'll stay there again and have recommended it to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellman3
StoneHarborMotels, Front Office Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the good review, we love hearing from our guests, and your recommendation is the best compliment we can get. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent a wonderful week as guests of Colonial Lodge. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while in Stone Harbor. The Parlor Suite had hot water, a comfortable bed, two TVs, and all within 1 1/2 blocks of the beach. We had a great time enjoying what Stone Harbor offers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
StoneHarborMotels, Front Office Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for the lovely review! We like to think of The Colonial Lodge as Stone Harbor's little love nest, so we are so glad you chose to celebrate your 40th anniversary with us! Congratulations on such a marriage milestone, and feel free to stay for your 41st anniversary too. Thank you again, our customers are...

Chesterfield, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second year here while a large group of friends rent a house a couple blocks away. We really love it for its cleanliness, location, and pleasent atmosphere. We will always stay here for our trips to stone harbor. We do bring our own coffee stuff because no shops open before 7 and we get up early- they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
Pat B, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for making the Colonial Lodge your "go to" when visiting Stone Harbor! We really appreciate it when our guests have had an enjoyable stay and share it with us. Thank you for the great review, we cannot wait to see you again!!!

Lititz, PA
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We stayed here the Memorial Day weekend 2015. The morning of our drive to the hotel, I broke my foot. Dr's visits pushed back our arrival and had explained my situation and asked to be on the ground level. Of course all the ground level units were reserved. However when we arrived at 11PM, a ground level room was waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KEYSFAMILY
Pat B, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are especially happy that you didn't let your broken foot ruin your vacation! Sitting on the beach is the best therapy! Thank you again, we are looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 25 January 2016

The motel seems as though it was last renovated in the early 90's, and is outfitted with rather standard (cheap) hotel bedding and decor. That being said, we never ran out of hot water and had in-room air conditioning. Located on a quiet street, two blocks from the beach, this is a good place to book your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allyson H
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 16 September 2015

OK OK, I know the Reeds is also there and that's nice...and pricey! For a vacation stay, the Colonial Lodge has been our home for the past 10+ years and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. It fits our lifestyle--two seniors who appreciate the quiet setting 2-3 blocks from anywhere, whether the beach, shopping, snacks and restaurants. And an easy ride...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Norris T
Laurie B, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the Super review! We have the greatest customers at the Colonial Lodge! It is always such a pleasure to see the same friendly faces year after year. Thank you again for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Can't wait until we see you next summer!

Leesburg, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2015

My wife & I needed a place to stay in Stone Harbor, NJ for a long weekend to meet up with our cousins. We found the Colonial Lodge and rented a single room with 2 queen beds, private bath and small refrigerator & microwave. The room was comfortable and very clean. The addition of a dehumidifier along with a ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
Laurie B, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! It is guest like you that makes our job so much fun! The staff really appreciates it when our customers have had a good experience and share it with us. Thank you again, we really look forward to see you next summer!

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 August 2015

i highly recommend staying here the rates are affordable,the service was excellent and it was spotless clean! We arrived early and where able to change in the office bathroom so we could go to the beach! Close to downtown restaurants and shopping no need to drive! a few block walk.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drewlou102
Laurie B, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us such a super review. It is repeat customers like you that makes our job so enjoyable. The staff really appreciates it when guests have had a great vacation and share their experience with us. Thank you again, we are anxiously looking forward to your next visit!

Chesterfield, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We reserved a room a week before arriving just for two nights to visit friends. The Colonial was no frills, but clean, comfortable, and had a friendly environment. Seemed to be in a quieter setting than the other hotels we saw once we got there. Perfect location from beach and main street. We will be back! (Next year we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen H
bridgej1, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Quick, awesome trip? How about great, awesome customer! We are so grateful of our wonderful guests, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Thank you for the kind words.

Grove City, Ohio
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

This is wonderful place to stay and as expressed in the title, it is immaculately clean and the service is excellent. The beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom is small so adjust your expectations because how much room so you need anyway? Within a few blocks, you can either be on lovely 7-mile beach or visiting the downtown area. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethRossi
bridgej1, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review

Aww, you're making us blush. We are very thankful that we have wonderful guests that return time after time. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to your next stay!

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
0.4 km away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
234 reviews
1.2 km away
The Beachcomber Resort
1.3 km away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#2 of 5 in Avalon
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#1 of 5 in Avalon
412 reviews
13.5 km away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,029 reviews
20.0 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge

Address: 93rd and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Stone Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colonial Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Lititz, Pennsylvania
5 months ago
West Nyack, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no elevator, so if you're staying on the second tier of rooms, you need to navigate the steps.”
 of 5 bubbles NorrisT, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We enjoyed having the balcony on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ArleneB2, 14 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The motel is 2 floors and there is no elevator so if you can't do stairs you need to tell them that when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 535kimberlyj, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Small motel, rooms are very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles JWDphilly, 17 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Some rooms have kitchenettes, others are regular (and pretty large) rooms with a refrigerator and microwave.”
 of 5 bubbles BobbieB853, 30 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5