We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hewitt Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 595: English reviews
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 July 2015

First, the good news: I gave this hotel three stars because of the outside charm, location, comfy mattress and friendliness of the staff. All of those things speak well for the hotel. I did not use the pool so I can't comment on that. Oh, and parking was good, too. Plus, it's in Spring Lake -- what's not to love??!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabulsgrl
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The staff has a supervisor, it's me, and I dropped the ball on this one. I do apologize as what you experienced with the room is not what we expect from ourselves. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we are a hotel that lives up...

Reviewed 1 July 2015

The hotel itself was very enchanting, historically well taken care of on the outside. Spring Lake is a beautiful town and wanted to enjoy the serene beach atmosphere. I made the reservations through Kathy and pre-paid for 2 nights. Upon entering the room, all looked very nice. The first night I awoke to a foul mildew smell only to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rena K
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We truly want everyone to have a great time. As we discussed when you were checking out, I was a bit confused when you were suddenly telling me how terrible everything was since the multiple times I saw you during your stay and asked how everything was you replied...

Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The room was really nice and we had to be moved due to the air conditioner in our original unit was not up to par. The room #11 was so nice. the only problem was the room needed to be vacumn and when I told the gal at the front desk to have someone vacumn..she was very kind and said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dee0h
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that we got to see you again, it's been too long. I apologize for the conversation that should never have occurred with the housekeeper since the only reply to your request should have been "it will be taken care of immediately". As soon as I read this review I...

Glen Rock, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Our grandchildren love this place and the manager treated them like her own. We stayed in room 1 which is our favorite. The pool is great! The hotel is in walking distance of the beach and lake. The building and grounds are beautiful, .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I had so much fun with the kids and appreciate you sending me the pictures we took together. I can't wait to see you all again, maybe for a certain young mans birthday in August?? Thank you

Pine Ridge, Florida
Reviewed 20 June 2015

My wife and I attended a in Town Wedding at another facility and decided to stay over night at the Hewitt Wellington. Great Place Old but very nice. The location on the lake was simply perfect, an easy walk to the beach and close to the quaint "downtown" area of Spring Lake. All of the staff were extremely helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shadow2012
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let me know about your stay. I'm so happy that you were able to find some time to relax and enjoy your visit with us. Our porch is always a great place to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine. We look forward to having you with us again. Thank...

Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We booked a suite at the Hewitt Wellington for surprise girls' getaway for my mom's 60th birthday. The location on the lake was simply perfect, an easy walk to the beach and close to the quaint "downtown" area of Spring Lake. All of the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We loved the cozy decor of our room and enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJPM7
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I'm so glad that you had a great girls weekend and it was really fun having you all here. I hope that your mom had a fantastic birthday and that there will be many more celebrations with us. Thank you

Reviewed 16 June 2015

My wife and I had a great weekend at the Hewitt Wellington, we had great weather and the Hotel feels more like a home then a hotel. Our room was decent to small sized with a huge bathroom! Make sure you bring your bikes there during the spring and summer times, its a great area to ride and seems like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about you stay. I'm glad that you had such a great time here. Hopefully you can fit another two or three visits in with us this year to just get away from it all. We definitely look forward to having you visit with us again. Thank you

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

We loved this place. We had many events to attend that unfortunately did not allow us to fully relax and enjoy. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. We would return just to do nothing and sit on the great front porch and relax!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sdeciccio
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again. You did have some running around to do but I hope that next time you will be able to accomplish your goal of just relaxing with us. Looking forward to visiting with you again!!

Montclair, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Just spent two days at The Wellington to get away to the beach for a couple of days. Hotel was very nice and rooms were clean. The continental breakfast that was noted as included was definitely a bit lacking. The selections were very minimal and not very appetizing. Was only a few block walk to the beach which was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm sorry that you found the light continental breakfast lacking. We are trying to make changes to things in that area and will always welcome suggestions. I am glad that overall you had a nice stay with us and hope that we will see you again very soon. Thank you

Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Unfortunately my overall impression of the Hewitt Wellington began upon reserving my room. Since reserving on-line is not an option, I called via phone to reserve. Immediately after reserving, I noticed that their website was offering 20% off if you pay in full upon registering. I called back within 15 minutes of my initial call and was told that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you weren't able to get booked online as that is how most of our guests book their room. The promotion you inquired about the day after you booked your reservation does actually state that you have to call the hotel directly to take advantage of that rate, not that you have to book it online. I apologize...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
400 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
128 reviews
0.7 km away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
147 reviews
17.9 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
205 reviews
8.9 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: $118 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Livingston Manor, New York
7 months ago
Santiago, Chile
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms with views out to Spring Lake are nice...although the "Lake" is really more of an...old reservoir, perhaps?”
 of 5 bubbles Entiat, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed overlooking the lake...front view.”
 of 5 bubbles ennis782, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance! Summer very crowded town”
 of 5 bubbles samgold200, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevators at this inn. They have rooms and suites on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles suedepumas69, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A front facing room would be nice as you may hear to sound of the surf from the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Fred255, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5