We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hewitt Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 594: English reviews
Northeastern PA
Reviewed 25 July 2015

In 2014 we stayed at the Hewitt Wellington and our review title was something like "Great Experience, Plan to Return." We see no reason to title the review any differently for our 2015 visit. Great suite, clean and comfortable, friendly staff, decent wifi, beautiful location (right along the lake), and only 3 blocks from beach. Everybody from desk to cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B_and_D_PA
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It was great seeing you again this year and I look forward to many more visits from you. Spring Lake is a wonderful place to be and I'm glad you have discovered it and it's many offerings. See you soon!

Washington Township, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 July 2015

W arrived Friday evening, the last weekend in June 2015, at the Hewitt Wellington. Our suite was ready, the hotel was decorated with beautiful flowers, the landscaping impeccable and the staff amazing. Cathy, the hotel manager, is knowledgable, efficient and very gracious. We hosted two small parties in our suite before and after the wedding and the deliveries for the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cathy l
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

It was so much fun having everyone here for the wedding. I'm glad that you all had such a great time and I am looking forward to seeing you again, say maybe same time next year? Congratulations again!

Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Second stay there, first was one night in May. This time we stayed four nights. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Its an historic Victorian hotel but amenities are up to date and rooms are very clean. Any questions or problems were handled promptly. Good location near beach with ample parking. Looking forward to possible stay in the fall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard W
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. It was great having you back with us and I am so glad that we are continuing to take great care of you. Looking forward to trip #3 with us. Thank you

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Central AC was broken but replaced by a portable unit. I asked the 2 beach passes that were included in the $330 room cost, could be upgraded to 4. I received 3. We were not told there was Wi-Fi. For the cost of the room I thought a hot breakfast would be appropriate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joann S
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I apologize that the central AC was not working and that we did not inform you of the WiFi. As you were in a standard room with a maximum of 2 people, that would be the maximum number of badges that would be included in your room. Beach badges are provided for registered guests...

Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This is our second time staying at the Hewitt Wellington and we can't wait for our third time! The staff never ceases to please and the location can't be beat. The whole weekend was a page out of Norman Rockwell's Americana. Thank you Hewitt Wellington!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjarida
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm so glad that we got to spend time visiting with you again and can't wait for your next vacation with us. I hope that will be sooner rather than later!! Thank you

Mine Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 July 2015

The hotel location is good and the staff is very nice and helpful however our stay was not as good as we had anticipated. We had reserved a first floor room with a private porch for a 3 night stay in June 2015. Upon arrival, we were told that the air conditioning in our room was not working. Another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I apologize again that I had to move you and do understand the disappointment. For the date you were arriving, at that time, I was still under the impression that the AC would be able to be repaired that day so we did not let you know ahead of time. Unfortunately we...

Waldwick, United States
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The location of this hotel is ideal. . However, not having central air conditioning (a loud portable unit was substituted) during the summer is unacceptable. We could have been told prior to our arrival, or better yet, given some sort of discount for our inconvenience. Unfortunately, this may prevent us from returning.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen A
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your stay. I do apologize for the AC situation and for not letting you know ahead of time. In hindsight, a quick call to you would have been the professional and courteous thing to do and I did not. I do hope that this will not prevent you from returning as overall you...

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights (June 27 to 29). The staff was wonderful until our last day. During our stay, it poured for the first 2 days. When we checked out on Monday the rain finally stopped. We were excited to go to the beach until we were told we had to give back our beach badges....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorenmat
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm sorry that we were not able to accommodate you with the beach badges. When you signed for the badges at check in, it did clearly state that we need to have them back at the time of check out. If we are able to offer you the badges for a bit longer we love to be able to do...

Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 July 2015

First, the good news: I gave this hotel three stars because of the outside charm, location, comfy mattress and friendliness of the staff. All of those things speak well for the hotel. I did not use the pool so I can't comment on that. Oh, and parking was good, too. Plus, it's in Spring Lake -- what's not to love??!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabulsgrl
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The staff has a supervisor, it's me, and I dropped the ball on this one. I do apologize as what you experienced with the room is not what we expect from ourselves. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we are a hotel that lives up...

Reviewed 1 July 2015

The hotel itself was very enchanting, historically well taken care of on the outside. Spring Lake is a beautiful town and wanted to enjoy the serene beach atmosphere. I made the reservations through Kathy and pre-paid for 2 nights. Upon entering the room, all looked very nice. The first night I awoke to a foul mildew smell only to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rena K
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We truly want everyone to have a great time. As we discussed when you were checking out, I was a bit confused when you were suddenly telling me how terrible everything was since the multiple times I saw you during your stay and asked how everything was you replied...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
393 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
128 reviews
17.9 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
147 reviews
8.9 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
185 reviews
8.4 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: $117 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Livingston Manor, New York
6 months ago
Santiago, Chile
9 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I enjoyed overlooking the lake...front view.”
 of 5 bubbles ennis782, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance! Summer very crowded town”
 of 5 bubbles samgold200, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevators at this inn. They have rooms and suites on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles suedepumas69, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A front facing room would be nice as you may hear to sound of the surf from the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Fred255, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for staff recommendations”
 of 5 bubbles erinelizabeth777, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5