We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hewitt Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 597: English reviews
New Jersey
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We had so much fun. The room was perfect and the staff is so friendly and accommodating. The General Manager of the hotel, Kathy, is such a nice woman. She was extremely helpful with our special needs. Since we visited over Thanksgiving, Kathy was not there, but she must have informed the staff because everyone was well aware of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodibeth
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing you stay. I'm happy that everything was taken care of for you and that your stay was enjoyable. I'm sorry I missed you this visit but look forward to having you again!

Chester County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Spring Lake is a charming, quiet and very well kept up small town close to Asbury Park and Ocean Grove. The Hewitt Wellington offered the same charm with a great veranda to watch the sun rise, a nicely arranged breakfast bar, and comfortable bedrooms. The distant train whistle only added to the charm. It is a short walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Booklady2
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are very happy that you were pleased with everything the hotel and surrounding area have to offer. Can't wait for you to visit with us again!! Thank you

Califon, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We stayed here on the night of Thanksgiving. When we arrived back at the hotel around 9:30 we noticed that our television was not working. It could not get a signal according to the message on the TV. We did not see anyone at the front desk but heard noises coming from the restaurant. We walked over and described our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nlgale
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

Victorian style at its best. Right on lake and short walk to boardwalk and beach. First class restaurant in hotel. Highly recommended. Great place for that special occasion or group stays. Definitely will return and make this a favorite hotel at the New Jersey Shore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and will be returning to visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!!

Briarcliff Manor, New York
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Our suite was wonderful except for the TV in the bedroom which did not work. A nice young staff member came up to try and fix it but could not fix it. Other than that our stay was very relaxing and the breakfast in the morning was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmzirman
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm sorry we were not able to get the tv working for you but I do appreciate you letting me know the next day how hard Abby worked on the issue. It is great for me to hear first hand from guests that the staff is going above and beyond to...

Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Room #16,no flat screen tv and carpet was filthy,shades didn't work and curtains were torn.We were in town for wedding location was excellent and restaurant whispers located on the property was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattyblue59
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

We do use the off season to make upgrades and repairs to rooms that are in need. I'm sorry that we were unable to get to those prior to you arrival. I certainly hope that you will stay with us again and can see what we have done. Thank you

Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 October 2015

The room was lovely. However, the service was almost non-existent. We left our room about 8:45 AM and returned about 4 PM. The room had not been serviced. The bed was unmade. It was just as we had left it. We requested that the room be serviced. When we got back to the room, the bed clothes had just been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cjd3i
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm sorry that you were not happy with the service provided. We do take all reviews to see where we can improve ourselves moving forward. I do hope that you will come again to see the changes and give us the opportunity to give you a better...

Long Valley, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We were enchanted with this Victorian hotel. From the delightfully decorated wrap around porch to the homey interior. Our suite (#27) was a spacious 2-rooms up a narrow winding staircase - make note if you're not able to climb up 3 flights of stairs. We had a view of the pond across the street. The bedroom was clean and comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen Z
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be so nice. We certainly hope to see you again for another relaxing visit. Thank you

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 15 October 2015

This not a fancy hotel or one of those dainty BnBs with lace and flowers dripping out of the woodwork. This is a old fashioned looking quiet place. Our room was a good size and everything seemed very clean. The staff were friendly. I would go back in a heart beat. The rate of the room was reasonable in comparison...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to meet your expectations. I hope that you will be able to visit with us again soon. Thank you

Richmond, Vermont
Reviewed 14 October 2015

I can't say enough about the staff, especially Kathy! We had a large group of people. Including my almost 92 yr. old Dad and 86 yr. old Mom who was quite relieved we were able to bring in our lunches from Joseph's Deli and bacon/breakfast from On Third. This was the best weekend for our family having not been all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllen B
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. It was so much fun having all of you here for the wedding. Your family was amazing and the entire weekend was just as great for us as we hoped we made it for you. I'm looking forward to having you visit with us again. Thank you

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
401 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
129 reviews
0.7 km away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
147 reviews
17.9 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
205 reviews
8.9 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: $119 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Livingston Manor, New York
7 months ago
Santiago, Chile
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with private porch would be great especially in lovely weather.”
 of 5 bubbles cmcnichol501, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with views out to Spring Lake are nice...although the "Lake" is really more of an...old reservoir, perhaps?”
 of 5 bubbles Entiat, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed overlooking the lake...front view.”
 of 5 bubbles ennis782, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance! Summer very crowded town”
 of 5 bubbles samgold200, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevators at this inn. They have rooms and suites on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles suedepumas69, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5