We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ocean View Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Ocean View Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for a night but Vicky treated us like we were staying for a month. Friendly outgoing and informative of the area since it was the first time..Will definitely stay again. Even after check out she was very welcoming. Thank you for a great night

Helpful?
Thank shaneflanz
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We usually stay across the street at the Plaza...but they were booked ...so we got a room across the street at Ocean View. The room was on 3 rd floor....and it was nice for two people with a decent bathroom. Not suppose to be in room anyway! You still get breakfast at Plaza...they give you beach towels....always have candy out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jintsfan
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I had a great 2 night stay at the Ocean View Inn in mid June. My 2 adult kids and their partners and I stayed in the penthouse suite. It was very cozy, clean and well appointed with lots of fresh bath towels and beach towels. The location was perfect one block from the beach and a short walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Airam
Blue bell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Large multiple room bed and breakfast Rooms are small but bathrooms are roomy enough. Well appointed with comfortable beds. Good air conditioning Welcoming early checkin. Discount beach tags. Veranda for breakfast. 1/2 block from beach. Ample free parking weekdays

Helpful?
Thank Phillymarc1
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. I like it here . I'm not blown away but for the price the location is perfect . I don't know. I want to like it more but the decor is so cheesy and half way. The worst part about our stay was the room. Please know that we were told the room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catherine b
Vicki P, Manager at The Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. While room 302 is our smallest room, it is 10” X 10’ which gives guests ample space to walk around the bed. In your case you booked on line and noted on your reservation “ bringing 5 yr. old son – have stayed in room before – know... More 

Saddle River NJ
Level Contributor
329 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Very clean, wedding weekend for our family. the stairs a little tough for a three year old, but once you get the hang of it, it works! great to have a kitchen to make a little food and refrig was great as well, breakfast is across the street in the sister hotel, ample fresh towels, and beach towels as well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

So impressed with the Inn Keeper in changing our accommodations. My husband could not walk stairs to the third floor suite which we were sharing with friends. She changed the suite to one room on the ground floor and a seperate room for our friends on the second floor. We arrived before check in time and since the rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19ariana19
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We had the family suite for Labor Day weekend in this beautiful old Victorian B&B. From the time we arrived we felt welcome. Early check in, free beach towels, discounted beach passes, and free bags of chips and fruit. Continental breakfast was also included. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and even let us borrow a beach... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rondubbs1218
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I've stayed here three times in the past two summers now, and have already booked a November trip - rooms are clean, cozy (I stayed in the smallest room, but even then it wasn't uncomfortable!), cool (powerful ACs!) and quiet. Breakfasts are served just across the street and have many options (more than your average continental breakfast spread), but stay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank adonia1485
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We have stayed many times in Ocean Grove but this was our first stay at the Ocean View. The two most important things about a B&B is the location and comfort of the bed. Five stars on both. We had a king bed in room 305 with a full sized bathroom including a shower over tub. The managers were pleasant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry62NewJersey

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.2 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
165 reviews
1.4 km away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Asbury Park
1,976 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
196 reviews
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
0.0 km away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#2 of 19 in Ocean Grove
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ocean View, a century old inn, boasts interiors that will enchant you with an exotic Caribbean décor. Big city style abounds in the casual luxury of this Ocean Grove Hotel that features 15 stylishly decorated rooms and suites, all including private baths, air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen cable TVs,refrigerators, WiFi and Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ocean View Inn

Address: 22 Ocean Pathway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1661
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Price Range: $101 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ocean View Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The penthouse suite is perfect for families!”
 of 5 bubbles Airam, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all good rooms, but prefer a quieter one on the side.”
 of 5 bubbles fitterSaddleRiverNJ, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Penthouse suite was plenty big and slept at least 5 people comfortably.”
 of 5 bubbles Lisapisa32, 25 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Make sure to make your reservations early based on if you want to be closer or farther away from the breakfast service. Although the Plaza and the View are right next to each other - the breakfast balcony is in the Plaza. In addition, ask for rooms that provide you with specific ocean views if that is something you really want!”
 of 5 bubbles 602sharik, 22 Aug 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay