We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Impala Island Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Impala Island Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 172: English reviews
Spring Mount
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The rooms are very basic but very clean. The staff is very friendly and make sure that you enjoy your stay. Their parking is spread around the Inn which makes it hard at times to park near your room. You can usauly move your car later to get closer to your room. Over all a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peirce N
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us this autumn. We hope to see you back again the next time you are in Ocean City!

Millersville, Maryland
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here Sat. - Mon. in early October. It was our first time to Ocean City, NJ, and we were very satisfied with our stay. Everyone we dealt with in the lobby was pleasant and helpful. And the location is good (1 block from the boardwalk. The room was clean, well-kept, and spacious (our room even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travlbug2
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your recent visit and review. By the way, if you are ever interested in a longer stay, we do have units available with microwaves, coffee makers and kitchenettes. We hope to see you again!

USA
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Great location, about a block from the beach. Basic motel with a mini fridge. Free wifi although dropped quite often. Staff was nice. Elevator to southside rooms needs a vent or air. Furnishing and decor need updating. Biggest complaint ultra thin walls. Outside wall was so thin it sounded like a window was open. Rides shut down about 10:15pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swisstourist
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here many times. The decor is older but it is very clean. They don't take Discover and there is no microwave but it is close to the beach and the cleaning crew does a good job. They kept the pool clean also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TGRUN
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We actually did a complete update on about 1/3 of our rooms early this spring. Perhaps when you return, you may want to try one of those sections. Best wishes for an enjoyable autumn.

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I was going to give this hotel a solid four stars until the last day of our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the locations great, the price is right, and our room (including the bathroom) was very clean. We will definitely stay here next year. However, on the day of our checkout, we loaded our luggage into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iupkimmy
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write a review. You are absolutely right that that should never have happened. Many guests pack up their car, leave their keys in the unit and depart, and we believe that housekeeping did think you were gone. Please contact a manager if you choose to re-book and we will make this up to...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

For the money, this is a great place to stay in OC. The rooms are nothing fancy at all but they are an average size and they are clean. Very small fridges, no microwave. Mostly families stay here so no noisy groups. It's less than a block from the boardwalk and across the street from Castaway Cove. If you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do try to provide a good room at a good value, and cleanliness is our highest priority. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Impala on labor day weekend. Storm messed up stay but found the staff at the Impala to be great. We arrived before check in and room was not ready. They gave us beach tags and parking permit and directed us to changing room. Very well organized and efficient. They called us a bit later and told us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badvikingman13
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about the pool. Many guests would like the pool to stay open later than 7pm, but just as you mention, the surrounding rooms really enjoy getting that time to relax and be peaceful. And we are all so grateful that the storm did not come our way after all! Thank you again.

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Decided last minute to take the four of us down to OC for the weekend. With my usual B&B booked, I searched hotels and found the Impala. Reviews were positive and decided to try them. We arrived a bit early, and even with the room not ready, front desk gave us our beach tags, let us park, and even offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and all your comments. The WIFI is a continuing issue in this area. Last year we invested in fiber optics for our internet, but the unfortunate situation is that Comcast is not great in this area and we are at their mercy. We all continue to provide the best WIFI available because we know it...

Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Love the Impala Inn. It's been our family choice of hotels since our daughter was a baby, and our baby is now 22! It's always clean, and a well taken care of facility. It's real close to the OC Boardwalk and easy to rent bikes in the morning for our ride on the boardwalk. Then it's off to the beach!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryb B
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

And Ocean City loves you!

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 August 2016

My family and I have been staying here for years and we've never been let down. The room is always clean and the size of the rooms are large in my opinion. The Wifi also works great as well as the TV. The location is wonderful, just a short walk up to the boardwalk and beach and in walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We do have properties that have kitchenettes, adjacent to the Impala. Please feel free to discuss these options with a reservationist the next time you book. We appreciate your repeat business.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
332 reviews
0.6 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
292 reviews
0.3 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
226 reviews
0.1 km away
The Flanders Hotel
The Flanders Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
490 reviews
0.4 km away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Impala Island Inn is a vacationer's island indeed. Located in the heart of America's greatest family resort within the beach block, this intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of our accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool. Each room has homelike amenities that include a refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, color cable TV and two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa, making every guest's stay at the Impala Island Inn a relaxing and leisurely experience. Activities close to our apartments include sailing and kayaking, boat rides, jet ski rentals, surfing, bicycling, golf, arcades and a variety of amusement parks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3341
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Price Range: $202 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Impala Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Impala Island Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Hightstown, New Jersey
6 months ago
New York City, New York
Sewell, New Jersey
6 months ago
Hightstown, New Jersey
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Impala Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King-bed rooms are located on the 2nd floor, which does require using steps.”
 of 5 bubbles travlbug2, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid southside rooms, over looks amusement park and parking lot and walls are super thin.”
 of 5 bubbles swisstourist, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We like rooms on the north side across from the main hotel. Quieter and you have your own (much smaller) pool. Great for smaller kids.”
 of 5 bubbles 857jenniferb, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would study the hotel layout, as it is on both sides of the street, to see where you want to be.”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarybb2015, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Northside rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles hwllmary, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5