We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

American Inn Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
American Inn Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the American Inn in Wildwood NJ the last weekend of August with family. The motel was great, check in was a breeze & the staff very helpful. Our room was a nice size for the 4 of us & it had a kitchen which was a plus. The only thing was the bathroom...it was small but still a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are very happy when we can meet our guest expectations. Looking forward to assisting you and your family in your vacation next year.

Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed here for many years. Always very friendly and accommodating. Steps from the end of the boardwalk and over the dune to the beach. North Wildwood beaches are closer to the water than other parts of Wildwood. Also near bike trail and wall for walking. Quieter end of town and not too crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued loyalty it means a lot to us. we try extremely hard to make sure everything is just so and all our guests have the best vacation possible. See you next year.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I stayed with my family for a long weekend and we had a great experience. The location and staff are great. It also has a great view of the fire works on Friday night. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikelaw22
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are satisfied when we can make your get away a success. looking forward to seeing you and your family again in 2017.

Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I love staying at American Inn year after year. Not only is the entire staff very friendly and accommodating, but the location of the hotel is located near the end of the boards and across the dunes to the beach. Also within a couple blocks of the sea walk down to Anglesea. Can't wait to go again next year! Wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieandDan
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind word and loyal patronage. We love to see our returning guest year after year and of course our newbies too. See you next year.

Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Great hotel, owners are super nice, friendly. Room was super clean (very important). We had 4 in our room and it was perfect. Close to the beach and boardwalk, close to russo's market. Kids had a blast playing in the pool. Would def go back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannie74
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

It gives us great pleasure when our guests have a great vacation and we can play a part in it. Looking forward to seeing you in 2017.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Pros: close to the boardwalk, friendly staff, clean room, adequate parking, pool, outdoor grilles available, big refrigerator in room and laundry facilities on site. Cons: the beds were uncomfortable and AC units were loud at night. I wish the rooms were updated and the AC units were energy efficient. I would definitely stay again though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mer1313
motel513, General Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are working on the cons and hope you see a difference your next stay.

Glendale, New York
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Excellent location just 3 blocks to the boardwalk, right on the beach and it has a great pool. I had a 2 room efficiency beach front unit which was spacious and clean. The staff was courteous and friendly. My family and I will return here next year and I would highly recommend it to my friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saves31
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to make the American inn a clean and friendly place to vacation and we look forward to seeing you again next season.

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The motel was very nicely prepared for our stay. The staff is friendly and ready for anything that may happen. The rooms are well stocked with all the items needed for a good nights sleep and refreshing shower after a day at the beach! Highly recommended as my family and friends have been staying at The American Inn at Wildwood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blaine S
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

We are happy that we have met your expectations and appreciate your family's loyalty to our Inn. Looking forward to next season.

Reviewed 5 August 2016

place was nice and clean but not family friendly. stayed there 4 nights. 3 out of the 4 nights other guess were parting very loud with the F boom right outside our room till 11:30 PM. told the staff about it and they did nothing. actually lied to me when quite hour was. so if you want to stay up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

!st let me apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced and for the noise. We are a family oriented motel and we have 3 families currently with us that take 5 or 6 rooms per family. The ordinance in North Wildwood for excessive noise is 10PM and i think the location of your room in relevance to one of the...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This place is an excellent location, but too old & outdated to be viable for my family. Rooms are small & very dilapidated. Even with daily housekeeping it's terrible. Pool is good, but gets crowded & loud in evening. Lots of smokers, and common area becomes a late night hangout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jmank
motel513, Front Office Manager at American Inn Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are constantly updating our rooms and making improvements. This is a family motel so the pool will get crowded and noisy as children will be. We have a non smoking policy that we enforce for the interior of the motel but cannot regulate the outside. We hope...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.5 km away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#4 of 42 in North Wildwood
149 reviews
0.2 km away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 42 in North Wildwood
202 reviews
0.9 km away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 42 in North Wildwood
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#8 of 42 in North Wildwood
168 reviews
0.2 km away
Condor Motel
Condor Motel
#5 of 42 in North Wildwood
204 reviews
0.9 km away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 42 in North Wildwood
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly and courteous staff, Family oriented. Large heated swimming pool with kiddie pool attached. Daily maid service, Fully equipped kitchens with microwaves in all efficiencies. color TVs, phone, refrigerator and coffee maker in all units. Fully heated and air conditioned. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn Motel

Address: 510 E 13th Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5628
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Price Range: $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
American Hotel North Wildwood
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Inn Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Glassboro
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from American Inn Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room didn't have a view but they gave us a discount.”
 of 5 bubbles mikelaw22, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd and 3rd floors offer a great view of the ocean right from your room”
 of 5 bubbles saves31, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“pay the extra couple of dollars to get a third floor room. Great views”
 of 5 bubbles Eubotas, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have good view.”
 of 5 bubbles kmyonks, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“best ocean view is 2nd and 3rd floor. Best social floor is the 1st.”
 of 5 bubbles lisalK913WI, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5