We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,276: English reviews
Balto
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Friendly staff, clean room, convenient location. Breakfast is comparable to Hampton Inn and I could take it back to my room. Comfortable room and view. Easy on and off the highway. Internet speed was fine, no problems.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baltobchgrl
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

It brings a smile to our face to read your experience at our hotel was pleasurable! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the comfort, convenient and terrific service we provide. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport.

Newark, United States
Reviewed 31 October 2016

hotel is generally dated but well kept. My hair dryer, phone and TV didn't work, so my room was definitely below expectations. I find it funny that I completed a survey and told DoubleTree about the poor room experience, yet they drove me to this screen to leave a review. Poor marketing DT! Never send a dissatisfied customer to give...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison O
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

We truly value your feedback as it helps us pinpoint areas that our guests would like to see improved. We do regret any disappointments you had with some of the amenities in your guestroom and we will have our staff address it right away. Thank you for staying at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Incrediby outdated; next door to state prison; tissue paper shoved into peephole in my door; coworker's room had cigarette burns in curtains. Not what I expect from a DoubleTree. Shuttle to airport helpful.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarao502
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

Although many of our guests appreciate the convenience of our hotel, we do regret if this was not your experience. Your feedback about the appearance of our hotel will be addressed by our team as we continue to make up-dates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can change your impressions of our hotel....

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

My wife's first time to attend this prestigious group of former Asian development Bank employees from Manila Philippines. The hotel is of old design but we have a good room which is right in front of the swimming pool we loved it. The restaurant is pricey breakfast at $15 it should have come with free breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armin F
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and provide you with terrific amenities like our indoor heated pool. We like to share with you, when you book directly through us, we do have packages that include breakfast. We hope that you will reach out to us for your next visit so that we can assist you with...

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The location is horrible unless you enjoy staying next door to a prison while being directly next to three runways. The hotel desperately needs updating and demolition would be the preferred fix to this location.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank f15gus
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

It was disappointing to learn you didn’t find our location to suit your needs. We are always looking for ways to make our guests stay enjoyable. It is with excitement that plans for a series of improvements are currently being discussed! Thank you for being part of the process and sharing you thoughts.

Lancaster
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I travel often. I prefer Hilton or Marriott. This was a gross Hilton. I am a Hilton Honors Member. I paid extra for a higher floor thinking that there would be fewer kids/families. Wrong. I got a great room on the 12th floor -- the top floor so it's quiet -- the lady at the front desk told me. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basketballgirlinbos
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

We want your stay to be comfortable in every way and we apologize if we missed the mark with you. As we continue to make improvements to our hotel, we will use your feedback to pinpoint areas that need our attention. It is our hope that you will stay with us again so that we can provide you with everything...

Cromwell, CT
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Location is great. Hotel check in was fast friendly and easy. Wish smoking was allowed by the front door. Plenty of parking. Big pool in lobby. No hot tub though. Business center is great. Wifi is superb. Bar service is excellent. Nice wine list. Food is ok. Executive lounge on 12th floor is awesome. Water soda coffee (ground per order)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTCowgirl70
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we thank you for sharing your review of your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed our well-appointed Executive Lounge and attentive service we provide. Your feedback about your guestroom appearance will be addressed by our team as we are always looking for ways to improve the comfort we provide....

Nannestad
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel is a great for an overnight. Pricey in the bar and reastaurant, but there is nothing around so absolutely no comeptition. The rooms are ok, but old and worn. Reception staff is amazing, concierge service is more or less non existing. They are there but not that interested in helping. But for an overnight by the airport it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OEA-74
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

While we are happy to have provided you with the comfort you needed for your overnight stay, we do regret if every interaction you had with our staff was welcoming. Our goal is to ensure our guests are well taken care of and we will review your feedback with our concierge team to make improvements. Thank you for choosing to...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel shuttle was on time and made getting too and from EWR airport very easy . There were only a few people checking in at the time I arrived but the check in staff seemed overwhelmed and busy . When the gentleman checking me in couldn't find my reservation under my name I gave him my reservation # which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

While we are happy that you appreciated our complimentary shuttle service and comfort we provide, we truly regret any disappointments you had during your stay. We want our guests to feel welcomed during their time here and we will review your feedback with our team to make improvements in the service we provide. We apologize for any disturbances to your...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed here prior to our flight out the next day. A nice check in was followed by non-existent service. The remote for the television failed to work properly and we are still waiting for them to send someone up to help with that. We were charged for a movie we did not watch. I feel that the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ftrdds
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review

It is disappointing to learn the warm attentive service we strive to provide was not experienced during your stay and we apologize for any inconveniences you had. We will address this with our staff so that we can make improvements in the service we provide. We hope you had a wonderful flight and look forward to having the opportunity to...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Airport and Port Newark
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Price Range: $175 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms facing the outside are quitter than the ones facing the inside especially if there is some kind of event.”
 of 5 bubbles anouarchahlaouy, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel. This hotel is total garbage.”
  • Dirty floor
  • Water stain on ceiling
  • holes in curtains
 of 5 bubbles GARYP937, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Always best to have a room on a higher floor just because of lobby and pool noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 681dougs, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had an inside balcony room overlooking the atrium lobby and pool”
 of 5 bubbles p3navy, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no tips, I have not had any issues to say what floor is good and what floor is not”
 of 5 bubbles ICESISM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5