We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Luther Ogden Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Luther Ogden Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Luther Ogden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The good: 1)Gourmet breakfast was delicious 2)Great proximity to the beach 3) Room was fairly quaint 4) Lovely wraparound porch. The bad: 1) Innkeepers were very grumpy: they complained about people calling to inquire about amenities; complained about not getting thank-you card for a wedding gift they had sent; complained about another guest not eating breakfast one morning; and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela F
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn even though it was 9 months after you stayed. You were here June 26-29, the last weekend in June and paid under $200 per night for the 3 of you. We are quite moderately priced. Eighteen years ago my feelings would have been hurt to be called "grumpy" but not...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Love going to Cape May in the winter, if you have never done it - you sure are missing out!. This year made decision to go and found the Luther Ogden Inn. What an early Christmas present. The innkeepers immediately made us feel like old friends staying for a visit. A beautiful and accommodating first floor. Our room was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeP48
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share with others the good time you had at the Luther Ogden Inn. Happy Holidays to you!

Central New Jersey
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Beautiful inn near the beach and center of town. Room was rather small, on the 3rd floor, and the sink was outside the bathroom, but it was comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was delicious. It's only served at 9AM, so you're eating with all the other guests at the same table, which was quite enjoyable. The owners are very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patito1000
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing!

Brookside, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 October 2014

stayed here for first time in Cape May. Jan and Mark are excellent hosts. Jan is an award winning cook for good reason. The breakfasts kept us happy for 4 to 5 hours. they have a clean, well-decorated home that was very comfortable. They are a green inn, (she sends her used soap to Florida, which sanitizes it, then sends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanne m
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Suzanne, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We enjoyed having you and your husband stay at the inn....lots of laughs and good times!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 August 2014

There are 4 rooms on the 3rd floor--each with their own bathroom...I did feel like I was staying at my grandmothers house (wallpaper and cozy beds) the house was beautiful, built in the 1900's, stained glass and intricate wood work. Jan and Mark were wonderful, we had breakfast on the porch and I can't stop thinking about the frittata!!! It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate it.

Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Went here for a 3 night stay in August. The inn keepers, Jan & Mark, are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast on the wrap around porch was amazing. The location is perfect as the inn is just steps from the beautiful beaches of Cape May. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoops23m
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn! We won 1st Place at the West Cape May Tomato Festival for the Tomato-Zucchini Frittata! We hope to see you again.

Randolph, NJ, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Looking for a great B & B? Look no further. The Luther Ogden Inn has it all. This is a small but very personal Inn (only 4 rooms). We have stayed in all 4. They are very comfortable, quiet, and cozy. The breakfast is excellent. Most important, this inn has off the street parking and within walking distance to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick P
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. After 10 stays, you finally did it....haha! It is always a please to see you each year!

Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4th of July weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. Our favorites were Jan's homemade breakfast and proximity to the beach. We enjoyed coffee on the front porch in the morning and cocktails on the porch at night. The inn keepers provide beach chairs for your convenience and a hospitably room with a mini fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori C
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We enjoyed meeting you as well. Hope to see you again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Luther Ogden Inn for a long weekend getaway. The Inn is conveniently located 2 blocks from the beach, and a short 5-10 minute walk to "The Mall," the main shopping district in Cape May. Jan and Mark were both friendly and welcoming. They are both actively involved in the Cape May community...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jdr1985
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. I do take great pride in our homemade, fresh breakfasts!

Georgetown, Delaware
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We rarely stay at B&Bs but will re-think our lodging preferences following a wonderful experience at the Luther Ogden Inn. The place was very nice but the warm hospitality of owners Jan and Mark are what made the experience memorable. Breakfast on the large front porch was a real treat. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan T
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Dan, for your excellent review. We had a great time talking with you and Jane, too. We look forward to seeing you again. Keep that Kingston Trio concert in mind!

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.3 km away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
344 reviews
1.1 km away
Albert Stevens Inn
Albert Stevens Inn
#7 of 39 in Cape May
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Luther Ogden Inn

Address: 815 Kearney Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2451
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: $265 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Luther Ogden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luther Ogden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Luther Ogden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the top floor have slanted ceilings, none of the rooms are accessible for guests with disabilities.”
978danam, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 4 which is in the back of the Inn - very quiet and beautifully decorated.”
JeanieB0915, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Corner king had great fresh air and you could hear the ocean.”
DMW10S, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms are small but still ample space. Lots of steps”
DianeP48, 19 Dec 2014 | Read review
“there are 4 rooms on third floor; not much choice, but our room (number 2) was excellent.”
642suzannem, 15 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5