We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Alcott

TripAdvisorUSD 261*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 261*
USD 261*
USD 261*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Alcott
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alcott
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I called and requested a 1st floor room because my husband can't go up stairs (bad Back). They said they would add it to the reservation. When we arrived I was told they don't have anything on the first floor only a suite that was taken. The staircase was very long. The room that we were given was small and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wanderlust3_11
OCM_Management_Team, Hotel Alcott Management at Hotel Alcott, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're terribly sorry that the stairs were a hardship for your husband. You are correct in stating that we only have one suite available on the first floor. All other rooms are on the second and third floor and the hotel, a historic property, does not have an elevator. We apologize if you felt misled....

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

stayed here while in town for a wedding. fine for a place to sleep. room was tiny, not to mention a walk up ( luckily we were on the 2nd floor). also shocked that the only parking they offer is 1/2 a mike away-----the lady at the front said it as if we would welcome a 1/2 mile walk after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank weasiewoo
OCM_Management_Team, Hotel Alcott Management at Hotel Alcott, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. As a historic property (the second oldest in Cape May), you are correct in stating we do not have an elevator. In addition, our rooms come in many sizes depending on the type you select. Should you return to Cape May and choose to sample another property, we hope that we compare favorably. It is...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This vintage hotel is located just a block from the boardwalk in Cape May and amidst that community's justly famous Victorian neighborhoods. The hotel is not fancy or especially luxurious, and the decor is modest. But the spaces are pleasant and the porches capacious; the staff was friendly and cooperative, the beds comfortable, and rooms perfectly clean. The breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank CateNC
Toronto
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great sleep. Really quiet in spite of three wedding receptions during our stay; didn't hear a thing as the room was well away from the action. Everything about the room was great: well furnished, great bed, great bathroom; great TV though too tired at night to make much use of it. Love the relative location: easy walking distance from everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scott_Canoe
Phila
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My May 3rd wedding reception was AMAZING! From the day we walked into Alcott we knew it was for us! Such a pretty venue with hardwood floors and a cute outside patio..it was perfect for our 125 guest wedding. Nick, Alan, and Kate were all so super helpful throughout the whole planing process. They were all quick to answer questions...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren D
Pa
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I spent this last weekend at hotel Alcott given to us by our children, I was very disappointed, I felt for the money there were many other nicer places to stay. First off we had two rooms for two nights which for the weekend each room was 250 a night. My daughters room need to be changed at 9:00 at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nannynann
orlando
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A mix up in my reservations as to what room I had reserved started off everything on the wrong foot. Staff was pleasant, room was nice but they need to change their carpeting. Very old and stained. Breakfast good and close to beach.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2007italy
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The whole experience was a disaster. The price is highway robbery. Beds are lumpy and old matteresses. Breakfast is better not to have. Has no parking for it's patrons. Don't stay on the second floor. Has no elevator. No one to help with the bags. A place not to stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ViralAhmedabad_India
OCM_Management_Team, Hotel Alcott Management at Hotel Alcott, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We think perhaps you were unaware that the Hotel Alcott is the second oldest operating hotel in Cape May and, as such, unfortunately does not offer elevators. We do, however, offer many modern conveniences and our mattresses are actually new feather top mattresses. We're sorry if they were not to your liking. In addition, breakfast...

White Plains, New York, United States
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We returned to Hotel Alcott after 14 years and found it as lovely as our first stay. It is a beautifully maintained older building located just one block off the gorgeous beaches of Cape May. They serve a tasty continental breakfast & coffee, pitchers of iced water and trays of fresh cookies are served in the lobby, all day and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angel T
OCM_Management_Team, Hotel Alcott Management at Hotel Alcott, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased you were able to join us again and that you were happy with your stay. We look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My wife book this as a surpise birthday get away. The hotel is, at most, 75 yards from the beach and the location is great. The staff, especially, Kate, is very friendly and informative. The room top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daisy1217

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,161 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
1.0 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
499 reviews
0.4 km away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
211 reviews
0.3 km away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#20 of 37 in Cape May
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully restored Cape May Victorian hotel. Steps from the ocean and town center. Complimentary continental breakfast daily. Egyptian cotton linens. Tile/granite private baths. Complimentary lending library. Complimentary afternoon refreshments daily in-season. Special mid-week rates. Off-site parking. Fine dining in-season. Available for weddings and special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alcott

Address: 107 Grant St, Cape May, NJ 08204-5322
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: $192 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcott 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcott Hotel Cape May
Alcott Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alcott staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alcott staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best rooms are the ones with the access to the veranda! You can go sit on the front porch in the rocking chair at anytime as well!!!”
, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for larger room”
RobertG201, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the street, the interior rooms face a courtyard full of noisy AC units.”
openmouthedfool, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“our room had a living room with access to a shared balcony.”
Warrenogg, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some top floor rooms have shared balcony”
leonorac494, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 261* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 261
PricelineUSD 261
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates