We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (184)
Pool & Beach (28)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“black beans”(49 reviews)
“the kitchen”(28 reviews)
“murphy bed”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Fitness centre
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Black Bear Lodge
Special Offer: Sweet Deal
Hotel packages
Offers from Black Bear Lodge
Special Offer: Sweet Deal
Hotel packages
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
119
82
36
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
119
82
36
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beansthe kitchenmurphy bedhot tubtown squareliving roomthe indoor outdoor poolathletic clubfront desk stafffreedom passwatch tvshort walkgreat place for familyfull bathdining tablemountain bikeshiking trails
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went here for r anniversary we had a lot of fun the location was beautiful so much to do at the lodge and around and it was walking distance the room was so clean and there was even family games and...More

Thank goodspeedtara
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

Happy Anniversary! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the Valley as well as all the comforts of the unit at the Lodge. We look forward to your return as a loyalty guest!

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for my daughter's wedding. Room was on 4th floor. Was nice having kitchen to cook breakfast seeing lodge doesn't have restaurant. There is complimentary coffee in lobby starting at 6:00 am. Unfortunately, coffee pot in room didn't work. Turntable...More

Thank Karibbean62
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed the local Mad River coffee, it is complimentary as the lodges individually owned condo/suites have full kitchens to prepare breakfast. It is disappointing to hear the units appliances were not working properly; we strive to correct all situations quickly as the comfort...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The room where we stayed was fine. When we first got there, we were given the wrong room. The room was dirty and not ready for occupancy. I went back to the front desk and finally got the right room. After a long drive, I...More

Thank babee1998
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

It is most appreciated your recognition of the Front Desk personnel's positive and pleasant disposition in correcting the disappointment upon check in. Glad to hear your family enjoyed all the Waterville Valley activities with the Freedom Pass during your visit. Thank you for taking the...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Was on another day trip decided to go to waterville nice small town chose the black bear..the receptionist jen. Was very helpfull gave us the fun passed and explained what they will bring us to do in the valley which is alot if outdoor activities...More

1  Thank antonette
Management response:Responded 13 August 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review and especially the mention of a staff member. We are so happy your enjoyed the Black Bear Lodge and Waterville Valley area. We will look forward to your return.

Reviewed 23 July 2017

We weren't sure what to expect, because we had read mixed reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. We traveled as a family of six, and found the actual beds were comfortable, the sleeper sofa (like most every sleeper sofa!) was really uncomfortable, so two of...More

2  Thank momo4Ma
Management response:Responded 13 August 2017

Thank you for the review. So happy you engaged in the activities of the Freedom Pass, it is a savior to offer guests the choice to head over to the Athletic Center especially with the unfortunate situation with the pool heater in mid -July (it...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Golf Course
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 144 - USD 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 144 - USD 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (184)
Pool & Beach (28)
Dining (1)
Amenities (30)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorna S
12 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Nayomi E | Reviewed this property |
I don’t know if it’s working now -the outdoor pool and hot tub looked closed on Presidents’ Day weekend. Not sure it’s it all winter. The indoor pool was closed for repairs. Again, they did give us passes to the club in... More
0
Votes
diolis22
23 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from sherrylyn5 | Reviewed this property |
There are three floors, and yes there are elevators. Room 314 is beautiful, king bed, twin bed with trundle and comfortable sleeper sofa. Oh and 2 big TV'S in the room.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"ask for a more updated room, there are big differences."
Read review
"More xtra blankets n pillows, a small portable fan would be nice, maybe discount coupon for dinner ? Coyote..."
Read review
"Bring cereal and milk, or other breakfast foods. There is no place to grab a bite to eat on property."
Read review
"Ask for a room on the back for a view, near an elevator for convenience and if amenities are fixed ex..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing