We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I booked a 1 night stay here on a trip from Nova Scotia to Southern Ontario as the city sounded like an interesting place to see. The location was easy to get to from the Interstate, and the room that I had was fine. I did not use any of the other amenities at the hotel nor the restaurant, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan023
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for providing feedback about your stay. Please keep us in mind when planning your next road trip to Ontario! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Geneva, Illinois
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is an adequate place to stay, reasonably clean, staff service is okay, decent restaurant/pub, parking is good and very quiet. I stayed at this location for 17 nights and for the most part my stay was uneventful and motel rates were reasonable although they increased from $77 per night for the first 10 nights to $84 per night for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel M
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, as well as your suggestions. In the upcoming months we are planning on making several improvements to our hotel, including the fitness area, to better serve our guests. We hope you stop in the next time you are in the area. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Staunton, Virginia
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. We got to the room later in the evening. The room was average. The bathroom was decent. The room was on the smaller side compared to most of the newer hotels. It did have a microwave and fridge. There is a restaurant on site that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. They do not offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate and rely on guest feedback to improve the property, and customer service. Thanks again! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel is NOT clean.... The Gym- the equipment was completely dirty, sweat streams on treadmill, a sprite can was left on a framed picture in the TINY gym. There was one towel at the time of my workout. and to top it off the TV did not work and the treadmill stopped working after only on it for 10 min....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kcmc12
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued feedback, and I apologize for your disappointment. Department heads were made aware of the reported issues the morning you spoke with the desk agent, and the issues were quickly rectified so that future guests would not have a poor experience at our hotel. Because you were completely dissatisfied with your stay, I have reversed all...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for one Saturday night in March. We love Portsmouth and decided to try out this hotel. It had all the normal amenities as a normal Holiday Inn but it was a bit dated inside. We were given a room right next to the elevator and it was very loud. There are better choices in Portsmouth.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles K
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Charles- Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Staff and I are very excited about an upcoming renovation scheduled for the early Fall of 2014. Please stop in the next time you are in the area. Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Suffield, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a few days to attend an event at UNH. The hotel is very convenient to right off the highway. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The people at the front desk were very nice and friendly. They have a very good free wifi. Overall a good stay and would stay here again. For...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Red-Barchetta2011
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I will be sure to share your review with the excellent staff, here at the Holiday Inn! We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Portsmouth area. Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Always neat and comfy bed , prompt and courteous people in the concierge - that's why this is one of my favorite hotels here and abroad, just like we had in Dresden, Germany, rooms were clean with good wifi connection and a good location as we are looking forward for a hearty and artsy breakfast in Kittery,Maine, just 7 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jun J
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay- and look forward to return visits in the future. :)

Nearby Boston
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A very nice Holiday Inn. Lobby area was clean and quite modern looking, front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room on 5th floor was well appointed and clean. Housekeeping did a good job of refreshing the room the next day. Pool area was well maintained, pool itself was warm albeit a bit small and unfortunately closed at 10pm....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denise-and-Al
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and suggestion about the pool hours. I will share them with the staff, and hopefully we will be able to accomodate adult swim on future visits. :)

Alton, Maine, United States
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights while our son played in a hockey tournament. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. This is a very kid friendly hotel. They even let our kids use a room to play knee hockey. The room was small but it was definitely worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MJR30
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments- we appreciate your feedback, and are looking forward to another hockey season! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Miramichi, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I just spent three nights at this hotel and as usual it was great, check in was fast, room was great ( bathroom small, but whatever!!). Staff was friendly and polite and always quick with a hi and how are you as you go through the lobby. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth makes our BF shopping even better.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miramichi69
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback! We're glad you had a great time with us, and hope you return soon! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3208
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $127 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“low floor to avoid slow elevator”
 of 5 bubbles TIm902106703, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors mean you can take the stairs and not wait forever for the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Live4VacationTrips, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay down the hall, and avoid the room by the elevator. ...”
 of 5 bubbles 565Rick1958, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Handicapped rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Rick5189, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try the restaurant and pub”
 of 5 bubbles williammU3283QG, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay