We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cottonwood Guest Ranch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cottonwood Guest Ranch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Spring Creek, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The Cottonwood's greatest asset is their people! Always cheerful, friendly and wanting to help you in anyway they can. This was our 3rd stay in their RV camp and have always found them to be very welcoming and willing to assist you. Reservations with full hookups that take the worry out of finding a campsite especially during the height of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1Theduke2
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

As I sit here my last morning here at the ranch, I am blown away by any low rating this place has been given. I was somewhat influenced by the one stars here and there, but my gut told me just to remain positive. I yearned for a place that would provide solitude, positive people, and just away from it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dmariey
Reno
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is my second trip to the Ranch and I will definitely go back. Stayed here while deer and elk hunting in area 72 and it sure beats camping. Rooms have private baths and the lodge is decorated in traditional cowboy. Staff is friendly and the owners Vicki and AG are great. All meals are provided but be sure to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Al I
Ryton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2015

This is a belated review as I visited in August 2014 for the Horse Drive. I am due to return for a Ranch Stay this August (2015) and can't wait!!!. Firstly, I cannot in the slightest way relate to the 2 negative reviews posted here on Tripadvisor and, based on my experience and many others who have visited, I feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
Twin Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2015

A group of us arrived for an overnight stay and chanced upon branding day and a birthday party! Cowboys (and cowgirls) had converged to help with branding at the ranch. True to a working ranch, as we passed by the corrals we were welcomed for the weekend! Upon arrival at the lodge we were greeted by Chef Ettesvold, delicious cookies... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I recently called this place to get information on a stay. The girl I spoke with was very unprofessional and immature. She did not have any information on the land or whereabouts of the place or even the activities. She quoted me an outrageous price and needless to say, I will be spending my money elsewhere.

Helpful?
2 Thank WrldTravl131
Madison_RW, Manager at Cottonwood Guest Ranch, responded to this review

We are tremendously disappointed to hear about your recent interaction with our ranch. We apologize for any confusion whoever you spoke with may have caused you. As a 5th generation family operation we pride ourselves on being stewards of the land as well as authentic in all of our activities. While you may not be staying with us we would... More 

Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have been coming here for year's and love this ranch holiday...I love riding the horse drives and pack trips. If you like western riding and working cattle and horses, this is the place for you....tons of great food, great comfortable beds and wonderful staff....I have also been here for a ranch stay with my family and we all found... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lori c
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I both have physical challenges requiring flexibility and committment from the wranglers in selecting and getting us to stay on our horse. Our grown son who had not ridden before took to it like a "you know" and our teen daughter experienced her 16th birthday party during our trip. Due to my infirmity I figured I'd spend... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchell T
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Cottonwood is unprofessional, unorganized and unsafe. There is a lack of communication, lots of waiting... waiting...waiting..., and excessive drinking (even by the wranglers on rides). With only 8 guests you would think they would know your names - nope, not even after five days. Food is mediocre. This should be a working ranch only since guests are just an afterthought.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sabine S
CottonwoodGuestRanch, Manager at Cottonwood Guest Ranch, responded to this review

We are sorry, Peggy and Bean, that our ranch was not a good fit for you. We don't claim to be perfect & know that we cannot be everything for everyone all of the time, but we believe that our track record of successfully welcoming & caring for thousands of guests from all over the world over the past 60... More 

Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My family and I have visited three times and we are heading back again this summer. If you are a horse rider or just enjoy the beautiful wilderness, you will love Cottonwood. My wife spends her days rounding up the cattle and I go birding. The lodge is comfortable, the food delicious, and the people very welcoming.

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
73.3 km away
Wells Chinatown Motel
73.2 km away
Sharon Motel
Sharon Motel
#2 of 8 in Wells
36 reviews
74.2 km away
Motel 6 Wells
Motel 6 Wells
#1 of 8 in Wells
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cottonwood Guest Ranch is a working horse and cattle ranch located in the remote northeastern corner of Nevada.DescriptionFrom exciting horse drives to cattle drives, ranch vacations to stunning mountain pack trips, winter recreation to bird and wildlife viewing, corporate retreats and weddings to family vacations, we have it all! Join one of our scheduled events or design the experience of your dreams.Five generations of the Smith family have owned and operated the Ranch. For over sixty years Cottonwood Ranch has offered a warm, western welcome to the many guests who have shared this beautiful place that the Smiths call home. Located 30 miles from paved highway and 70 miles from the nearest town, Cottonwood Ranch is an unexpected hospitable sanctuary amid a sea of rolling sage covered hills and alpine mountains that seem to go on forever.The Ranch rests in the historic O'Neil Basin, once home to notorious cattle rustlers. At an elevation of just over 6,000 feet, the average summer temperatures are in the low 80's. This corner of Nevada boasts the purest air in the lower 48 states. To quote one ranch visitor, "Our days were filled with air so clean you could feel it and country so beautiful, just being there was enough." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cottonwood Guest Ranch

Address: HC 62, Box 1300, O'Neil Route, Wells, NV 89835
Region: United States > Nevada > Wells
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cottonwood Guest Ranch staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cottonwood Guest Ranch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call ahead to reserve a space for your trailer....it can get pretty busy!”
 of 5 bubbles 1Theduke2, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the main floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 38AlI, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
2 of 2