We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

High Desert Inn

Expedia.comUSD 67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 67*
USD 67*
USD 67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
High Desert Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of High Desert Inn
 Click to rate
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We were moving across the country, these guys were there when we needed them. What a joy to find this place. Pet friendly and so accommodating! They are affiliated with the local Red Lion Inn so we got a bunch of coupons for severely discounted (and free!) food, gambling and beer! Even the night crew was awesome and happy to...

Thank mrsdillon2911
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Mrs. Dillon, thank you for such a nice review! We are happy to hear that the hotel's staff and the Red Lion Casino staff treated you well! We very much appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return visit!

West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

After several visits they changed.mostly with the new staff most of them are rude. I told myself never come back but decided to anyways ... I had my wife and 7 year old daughter come visit from utah while I was out here working. My walks into the bathroom to see what my daughter was doing. She had a old...

Thank Kevin M
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Kevin, my sincere apologies to you. Department heads have been notified and staff will be trained and re-trained upon proper steps for the clean-up of guest rooms. Additionally, front desk staff managers will continue to work with associates in customer service areas. Again, Kevin, my apologies to you.

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Found it on line...looked nice. Couldn't see the sign from the freeway, it was too low, so I drove out of town several miles and had to turn around. Called the desk, the gal was very nice and helpful. She told me what exit to take and I found it. Checked in, got my key...key wouldn't work. Back to the...

Thank Jane H
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry Jane for the problems you experienced during your stay, however it does appear that our staff went out of their way to quickly take care of problems. The items you report have been turned over to department heads and we will be addressing them. Again, our apologies to you. We do hope you will change your mind...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to go explore the Ruby Mountains for New Years, and stayed in Elko for the night. We had no difficulty booking a room here for New Year's Eve, the night before, which I thought was awesome! The cheapest room had two twin beds, so we went with that, but when we got to the hotel,...

Thank Amanda M
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Amanda, we are so glad you stayed with us on New Year's Eve! I enjoyed reading your review of our hotel. You mention all of our amenities, and outstanding customer service which contributed to your stay with us. We are sorry that our pool needed maintenance but we work hard to keep it open throughout the winter months. We very...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Update from my previous review. Pros: Check in around noon fridge/micro fitness center Albertsons right across street bed ok big spacious room Cons: elevator broken stinky hallways and room stains on carpet in hallways and room extremely slow Internet (ended up using my phone data) Lights above 1 sink too dim uncomfortable chairs only 1 out of many plug in...

Thank Sara K
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Sara, thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are sorry for the problems you listed above. We are sorry that you couldn't operate the room HVAC unit which does provide heat to the room. Department heads have been notified of the deficiencies you listed and we will be addressing them. Again our apologies to you.

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Out in this part of Nevada for business, I stayed in this hotel for four nights. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, and I appreciated the refrigerator and microwave. I felt very safe here, and the location, near the interstate, was convenient for me. I particularly appreciated the staff, who went well out of their way to accommodate my...

Thank Barbara G
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Barbara, thank you for letting us know that you had a great stay with us - that you appreciated our room, facilities and amenities. Thank you for letting me know that our staff took care of you. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks again, Barbara.

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The room was spacious and clean, the front desk staff was very helpful when we went looking for a restaurant in the area to eat at, and the atmosphere was wonderful. The best part of the hotel, by far, was the pool and exercise room. The hotel seems to allow locals to buy a membership and come in to use...

Thank J Albert E
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

J. Albert, thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to have welcomed you to our family for the night. It is great to hear that our staff treated you well and it is nice to know that our housekeeping staff provided a clean room for you! We very much look forward to your return visit! Thanks again.

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Was a quick visit. Nice hotel. Close to shopping and casinos. Front desk clerk was friendly and made sure our room was close to other family who made a last minute reservation. Although one elevator was not working and the pool was closed, which was a disappointment.

Thank Christine M
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Christine, we are glad that you had a good stay with us and that our staff took care of you. We are sorry that the elevator wasn't functioning, but we have contacted Otis Elevator out of Salt Lake City to schedule a repair. Thanks again for choosing the High Desert Inn!

Reviewed 10 September 2016

Our vehicle broke down on our way home from Reno to Salt Lake City. Got towed into Elko from Battle Mtn. Stayed 1 night at another hotel. BIG MISTAKE!! We had to stay another night in Elko and stayed at the High Desert Inn. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with standing water in the...

Thank Michelle S
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Michelle, we are so sorry that you had car trouble, but we are glad that we could be of service to you as you waited for your vehicle to be repaired. Our maintenance team took care of the tub water problem - apologies for that - but we are glad that we could quickly move you to another room. We...

Auburn, CA
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Room quality about $80+ but we got the room for just about $48 on booking.com. Nice desk staff and furniture. Spacious room. Downsides: misty, fogged window glass and badly torn window screen. Light bulbs very dim; hard to see. Also pretty loud; close to the freeway.

Thank Virginia W
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Virginia, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that our staff treated you well and that you liked our large room and amenities. We apologize for the screen and will have it fixed. We will check the wattage on the bulbs too. Thanks for letting us know! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.5 km away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.8 km away
Best Western Elko Inn
0.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quality Inn and Suites
2.9 km away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
1.1 km away
Super 8 Elko
Super 8 Elko
#20 of 29 in Elko
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All The Comforts of Home. All The Convenience You Want. Whether business or pleasure, High Desert Inn offers the kind of amenities that make you feel right at home. • FREE Wireless High-Speed Internet • Flat Screen TV's • Bright, clean, comfortable decor • Fully-Equipped Fitness Center • Indoor Pool & Spa • Variety of Business Services • Free Courtesy Shuttle • Next door to Elko's Best Casinos & Restaurants at Red Lion & Gold Country! • Starbucks next door at Red Lion Hotel & Casino So if you're traveling through Northern Nevada, to or from Twin Falls, Salt Lake City, or Reno, this is the perfect place to stop a night... Or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Desert Inn

Address: 3015 E Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801
Region: United States > Nevada > Elko
Price Range: $72 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your High Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Elko
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from High Desert Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Grants Pass, Oregon
over a year ago
Grants Pass, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from High Desert Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground level rooms have an outside accessible door that is super awesome for pets!”
mrsdillon2911, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
  • There was a pill on the floor! Don't they vacuum?
janeh906, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room seemed comfortable.”
JAlbertEdwards, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near SW entrance very convenient.”
horsenrosie, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“haven't had a bad room here yet.”
jaimelynnb2016, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 67* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 67
Hotwire.comUSD 67
Orbitz.comUSD 67
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates