We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Buffalo Hotel

Booking.comUSD 258*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
White Buffalo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Buffalo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Pendleton, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We came to W.Yellowstone without reservations, but we found a room at White Buffalo. Although the room rate was less than many other places in W. Yellowstone, it was still overpriced. The room was adequate, but the air conditioning was not. The breakfast buffet was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business. You were correct in that you were lucky to find walk-in rooms available at this time of year. I also appreciate your reference to the fact that our price was below market. Our prices are as much as $100 per night less than many in town. I'm delighted that you enjoyed...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This was a very ordinary motel room but priced at resort pricing. The room itself was large but hotel seems to cater to tour buses so if you want front desk service you may wait behind two bus loads of people in the lobby. Small outdoor pool but adjacent hot tub not working Yes to breakfast included but the advertised...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KaseyMoMo
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I thank this guest for taking the time to post their review of the property. I have addressed my apologies for the pool breakdown. It has been repaired. We do however have a leak from the hot tub and we are still awaiting repair parts and personnel to rectify that situation. The movie night is always available, but the staff...

Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on July 28th while visiting Yellowstone. Everything seemed ok (pretty spendy for quality, but it's a tourist town), until attempting to sleep. We couldn't sleep because the guests directly above us decided to practice their acrobatic routine ALL NIGHT LONG!! We called the front office around 1 a.m. to have them deal with it...too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeslielovesPdx
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the time to speak your mind. We sincerely apologize for any unfriendly or unprofessional behavior of our staff. Although there is no excuse for rude behavior, I think it only fair to recognize that the very nature of a town that is virtually shut down for 5 months of the year, almost all businesses must hire and train...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here on a road trip. Of course we got to Yellowstone late in the day and all of the hotels were booked solid except for here and one other hotel. When we called, the nice girl that answered the phone reserved our room for us. We thought the price was ridiculous, but being a newbie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleep_Away_11
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. West Yellowstone is a high demand area and packed during the traditional tourist season. It is important to reserve in advance whenever possible. I appreciate the references to upgrading the property. We are doing all we can, as rapidly as we can. Yes we are remodeling rooms used in the past...

Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Front desk said the pool and hot tub were being worked on. Looking at them it was obvious they had been not working for a long long time. The hot tub was partially filled and had green stuff growing in it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sundancekid57
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

The pool and hot tub work from the same boiler , which had in fact broken down. Sometimes it takes longer to get repairs done in West Yellowstone due to our remote location and the need to get service personnel to travel from Bozeman or Idaho Falls. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. The pool has been repaired and is back...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My family of five was on the Tours 4 Fun trip. On 7/12/15, day 3 of our tour, we stayed at the White Buffalo. My family was astonished to fine the old box TV with poor reception. My 15 and 16 year olds and myself found the rooms and pool needing to be cleaned. The overall cleanliness and hygiene standards...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gladys C
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Just so any readers will know the facts, the pool cleaned daily and mother nature blows some dirt and leaves into the bool daily as well. Yes some of the rooms have older TVs. They are being replaced as they die cease to function. Unfortunately the satellite TV service is not always as great as we'd...

Ridgeland, Mississippi
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in West Yellowstone and we were very grateful that the White Buffalo had a room available. The hotel is dated but clean. I do wish that the curtains were blackout. The breakfast was great and the fresh cinnamon rolls were very tasty. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angie S
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am always interested to hear opinions, whether I agree with them or not. In this case I agree that the cinnamon rolls are very tasty. As for "dated", I'd prefer "classic" but recognize that the configuration of the hotel and huge rooms were from a design in the past. Of...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We had one of the remodeled rooms in front. Almost everything is new. 2 queen room was very large and airy. Room enough for two roll aways. West Yell. IS expensive. $150 and up common. The breakfast buffet is commendable and makes the White Buffalo a bargain in this town. Neither of the 2 kinds of scrambled eggs were runny....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hihiker
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

You said so many nice things some people think you might be my relative. I guess if you go back enough generations we are all kinfolk. Still, I appreciate your review. Comments that help other guests understand our property are always welcome. We hope that if your travels take you to West Yellowstone again that you give us the honor...

Colome, SD
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The room was huge, probably the biggest room I've ever seen...and I do think it was clean enough. The beds were super uncomfortable, tv was the old style with a tiny screen and weighs about 100 pounds...lol. They do offer a full breakfast buffet but honestly, I would go to a restaurant as everything was bland and runny. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Annette S
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I was sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet was not up to your standards. Usually we get great reviews for the breakfast. I was also glad for you to note the cleanliness of the property, the large rooms and the fact that we were $70.00 a night cheaper than anywhere else you could find in...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 1 May 2015

I will probably chose some other hotel over this if I am not cash pressed. The stay was barely OK. The hotel was clean enough for an OK stay. There was a paid breakfast buffet which was average too. I visited in summer 2010.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Abhirup D
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. This guest must have a very good memory. I can't even remember what I had for breakfast this morning let alone an overnight stay from a vacation five years ago. In any case, at the time of this guests stayed at the property it was under different ownership and we have made well over $100,000 in...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 km away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#26 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
0.3 km away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
542 reviews
0.3 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
237 reviews
0.9 km away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#24 of 39 in West Yellowstone
253 reviews
0.9 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $275 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Buffalo Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Buffalo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this dump.”
tracytZ8122YF, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Good for last minute booking. Very close to the West entrance of the Park.”
922fahdk, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room had two queens and a sofa pull-out so it slept 6 people.”
thomaseF6233ZQ, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in your car”
E1474PBlynnm, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Loved room 171 - kitchen, dining set, 2 TV's, sofa-sleeper, separate bedroom and nice bathroom..”
willibunch, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 258* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 258
PricelineUSD 258
Expedia.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates