We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dude Rancher Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dude Rancher Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dude Rancher Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Pinson
Reviewed 24 June 2016

I decide on my road trip to Glacier National to stop and stay in old motel from the past - this motel was vintage 60`s style -old western style decor in downtown - It was very nice, clean rooms with recent re-models and amenities touch on the upscale side as in soaps etc.-- nice bed and quiet - also in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExecChef
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Dude Rancher Lodge. What a great review, we truly appreciate. Very happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfast in our Stirrup Cafe. I will make sure to tell the staff of your pleasant time with us. Glacier National Park, what a beautiful wonderful place to be your...

Birmingham, AL
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Nice place to stay. Spacious quiet room. Park in the court yard for more security. Discount breakfast is a nice touch. We did not stay for breakfast. Not to far to wonderful brew pubs (couple of blocks) for great food and drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buggett55
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a very pleasant review. We always do our best to make the stay for our guests a positive time. We are in a prime location for those who like to visit great brew pubs. We would love to have you stay with us again. Again, thank you!

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately for us we fell victim to misleading reviews and pictures. Carpets are stained and dirty, decor what decor, bathrooms here just look from the hippie era, no elevator, concrete walls(in our room 107) inefficient ventilation, homeless roaming the street nearby, no near restaurants, no queen beds, I guess I'm use to a hotel giving you a feeling of relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren L
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing because we want to know of any concerns and be able to improve the guests experience at our property. Hope the rest of your trip went well.

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Less than one star. POOR and TERRIBLE all the way around. They booked us a room originally with two queen beds and a kitchenette. Then they said they gave to a person who was staying an extended stay because they wanted to stay longer. How RUDE!! I am furious! Big deal they gave us free meals for me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah L
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. Unfortunately the extended stay guests were extended for another few weeks. We did try to call to let you know ahead of time, unfortunately the phone number provided did not work. Sorry you didn't like Billings, however, Billings, MT has been voted the number 1 city to visit in all of the U.S. cities. For some...

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here one night as a location between my destinations. I arrived a little later in the evening and the staff was SO nice. The woman at the front desk was very personable and talked with me for a couple of minutes. The cook of their restaurant actually helped me figure out where I was going because I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiersten O
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for the review. I am so happy that you had a good stay with us. Yes, we do have wonderful staff and they love to help with our guests. We look forward to you returning for a visit with us.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The motel was unexpectedly clean for an older establishment. The location was great for any business downtown Billings. It was quiet and the front staff were very friendly and helpful. Very glad they accept pets, without any hassles and for a nominal charge. Will definitely stay here again when in Billings on business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, and we will be looking forward to seeing you again!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This was my second stay. I had one of the updated rooms that look exactly like the ones on the website. It was a bit small but clean, comfortable, had strong wi-fi, and was loaded with western charm. I really appreciate being so close to the heart of downtown, yet it gets quiet at night for sleeping. This year they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeYswimmer
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! Here at the Dude Rancher Lodge we truly believe in western hospitality. Nice you liked our updated rooms and they were reflected exactly as our website. Yes, staying here at the Dude Rancher Lodge does take you back to great memories of travels with families. Our chef says thank you for enjoying...

Dublin, California
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

The photos bear no resemblance to what the rooms look like. Out of date, shabby decor on a par with the Motel 6. Orange Formic bathroom counter. The bed took up the whole room and the refrigerator hummed all night. Sad little place in a time warp. We cancelled our last night and moved to a modern, cheerful alternative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen U
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Good grief the orange formic! A bathroom that is on top of the list for remodel. Funny though, we have had guests that find it so retro, which makes that room go back and forth on that remodel list. Sorry you did not bring to my attention you were unsatisfied with your room. I would of gladly moved you to...

Woodstock IL
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

For several years I've stayed at the historic Dude Rancher Lodge in Billings MT. This comfortable property has many updated rooms and an attached coffee shop with hearty breakfasts! The downtown location is convenient walking distance to shopping, antiquing and my favorite steak house Jakes!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrishBehr
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review and continuing to be a loyal guest. We pride ourselves in delivering great western hospitality. Thank you for noticing our updated rooms. Our chef appreciates the review also, as he takes pride in creating home cooked food for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to your return visit to the Dude...

Helena, Montana
Reviewed 30 January 2016

My family has stayed here often for the past 48 years, because it has always been the best motel in Billings (and offers a unique, comfortable experience). Most recently, we stayed here in late January. The basics were indeed as good as always: the unique, traditional Western decor ranging from the courtyard, to the lobby to the rooms. We especially...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rehoboth5
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest, you have given us the highest compliment possible by giving us your repeat business and loyalty. We appreciate your business and your feedback. I have personally taken these two issues up with the appropriate departments and am confident we have resolved this. We are also doing some follow up training and elevated quality control...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.4 km away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#21 of 51 in Billings
200 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
116 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
376 reviews
3.9 km away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#4 of 51 in Billings
184 reviews
6.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Price Range: $102 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the ground floor rooms with outside access are a godsend”
 of 5 bubbles douglasj785, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor, if stairs are a challenge.”
 of 5 bubbles r0bertfb, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room near the front desk, the ones near the back are like a maze to find the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles PHD85, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 is haunted so if you're into that sort of thing...”
 of 5 bubbles 971jaclynp, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 102, 104.Smokers stand outside rooma 102 day-night laughing and chatting. Very rude. What does management allow this?”
 of 5 bubbles gebodogs, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5