We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Start your review of Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
 Click to rate
Arnold, Missouri
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel many times but this was by far the worst visit. Room was oddly shaped, bathroom was so small you had to step way into the bathroom to close the door. Housekeeping did not clean our room, they just emptied the trash and put out clean towels. Our beds were not remade and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynetteSB
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very friendly staff clean rooms and within minutes of all Springfield has to offer Would stay again with no hesitations. The price was in my budget and with restaurant adjoining made it a very relaxing stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad P
LaTriciaBristol, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am happy to see that you had a relaxing time during your stay with us. I hope the next time you visit the area you will choose to stay with us again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

there was 4 police cars there bringing out a guess during are check in .hall was dirty .room was not that great .odd curtins crack under door you can hear everything in the hall .rooms join .had some one messing with are lock.staff wasnt that helpful had excuses for every thing .didnt feel safe there up all night ,morning comes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
LaTriciaBristol, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, As I explained when we spoke this morning, we are an older property but we do try our best to ensure that our hotel is a safe place for guests and staff. We work very hard in making sure that the guests who choose to stay with us are above board, however occasionally trouble happens. As I explained...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

The rooms are small and need to be updated. The internet is very intermittent, the hallways are very bad, do not go without shoes, you will be surprised when you see your socks. The hotel will NOT allow Net-spend Master-cards or Rush VISA cards to be used, because they are quote prepaid, So is American express you buy at Wal-Mart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
LaTriciaBristol, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking time to advise us of your recent stay at Lamplighter Inn & Suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to correct these issues. If you come back to the Springfield Missouri area I hope you will stop in and give us another chance as we...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here overnight since all the hotels in Branson were sold out. The place is in definite need of updating. It has the tiniest elevator I've ever seen! Could barely fit 4 people in it. Our phone was broken so I couldn't call the front desk to tell them the tv remote was m.i.a. Finally they came up after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Missouri
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Always make reservations in October. Tournaments and fall colors fill every room in town. Our spur of the moment stay in Springfield meant we got the last room in the city. The "room freshener" choked me and I woke up with a headache. The tiny room was crowded with an old jacuzzi. We struggled to get the luggage cart in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlwrite
Treynor, Iowa
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms for a funeral through Expedia. Elected to pay a low rate (70% off) for an unidentified 3 star hotel, thinking it wouldnt be fancy - but would be decent. This hotel doesn't qualify for 1 star. It is old, outdated, dirty and disgusting and next door to a strip club. Hairs on the sheets, dirty bathroom, AC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
LaTriciaBristol, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review

Julie, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time out to let me know how you feel regarding your recent stay. It is extremely important to us, as we wish to improve with each and every guests visit. I appreciate the comments that you have made and take them very seriously. I am sorry that this visit...

Estes Park, Colorado
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We live in Colorado when we got the call that we needed to come to Mercy hospital for our Mom. After driving all night to reach the hospital we asked one of the nursing staff where a good place to stay that was close. Lamplighter came highly recommended. When we were checking in, mentioned we have been at the hospital....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKing72
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Springfield, Missouri area.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 30 July 2016

If you are traveling this hotel is fine for one night. The hot breakfast was good and they replenished as needed. AS other travelers mentioned it is definitely dated. The only was this really affected us was the room smelled musky and the elevator is extremely small. We stayed at this location (on the south side) as it was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Cleveland, Mississippi
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This was an older establishment that was being remodeled. Our room was nice & spacious. Temperature was a little warm at night. Offered a complimentary full breakfast that was pretty good. The lady that was in charge of the breakfast was really friendly & helpful. Ok for a one night stay. Wouldn't recommend for extended stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vsmith200

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
7.3 km away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#36 of 49 in Springfield
200 reviews
4.5 km away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#34 of 49 in Springfield
177 reviews
4.2 km away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#39 of 49 in Springfield
97 reviews
6.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#13 of 49 in Springfield
750 reviews
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 49 in Springfield
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Address: 1772 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lamplighter Inn & Suites South staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lamplighter Inn & Suites South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can' imagine there being a good room here.”
joycer792, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This is a multi-floor hotel--if you prefer a first floor room, just ask for it; the staff will help”
dansS5754KL, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
  • bed bugs on other bed edge of blanket
  • bed bugs on one bed pillow
854cindyf, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Doesn't have a great view, but would chose a 1st or 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard.”
Ganders1984, 21 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Back of building seems quiet.”
prof747, 24 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5