We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Governor's Lodge

30 Queen Elizabeth Avenue, Kingston, Norfolk Island 2899 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (114)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Kingston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Governor's Lodge has recently acquired new ownership and undergone a refurbishment, presenting a refreshed, clean, and quality 3 star product. The property offers 55 individual units set amongst 12 acres of wonderfully landscaped sub-tropical gardens incorporating majestic Norfolk Pines. The rooms feature a separate bedroom and living area, kitchenette with small fridge & microwave, bathroom, and a front deck to offer privacy and comfort in tranquil surrounds. Governor's Lodge is a sustainable accommodation option, with solar power and an on-site water filtration system minimising the carbon footprint of each guest. Relax by the outdoor pool and heated spa, dine at one of three options in the grounds including the beautifully restored Bailey's homestead. Centrally located, within easy reach of the island’s best dining and shopping and only a stone’s throw from Kingston and Emily Bay, the freshly refurbished Governor's Lodge has elevated it's offering to provide everything you need for your Norfolk Island holiday.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Car hire
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
280Reviews6Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 126
  • 23
  • 11
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jamnat2 wrote a review Feb 2024
Brisbane, Australia16 contributions
Staff were friendly and helpful. The cabins are older style but were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. We had a 7 night stay and it was very enjoyable. Our package had a 7 day car hire included together with breakfast every morning. Also some tours were included.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Seven days is probably the perfect time frame to stay on Norfolk Island. A beautiful place to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary-Lou Corcoran, General Manager at Governor's Lodge
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoy your time at Governor's Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bronnie29 wrote a review Feb 2024
Brisbane, Australia18 contributions6 helpful votes
We loved our holiday on Norfolk Island. Our unit was very clean and serviced regularly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Happy hour in the cocktail bar was a huge success. Would certainly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break. We booked thru Spacifica travel and they sure delivered. The tours and rental car were all organised and the whole holiday went without a hitch.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary-Lou Corcoran, General Manager at Governor's Lodge
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Hi Bronnie Thank you for the great review and glad you enjoyed your time on the island. We hope to have you with us again on Norfolk Island!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marta K wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Our delux cabin was spacious and comfortable with a spa. The grounds were easily accessible for the not so young and able and those with walking frames. The swimming pool and spa was user friendly. Baileys Restaurant and the Boat House served delicious 5 star food beautifully presented. Young back packer waiters/waitresses were friendly and efficient and hailed from all quarters of the world.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Telecommunication on the island is not great but you can buy a local SIM which works. There are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary-Lou Corcoran, General Manager at Governor's Lodge
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Hi Marta Thank you for your kind words and 5star review. Hopefully we can look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Claire D wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
The venue is good but the cabin I stayed in was awful. Smelly, grimy, fly screens coming apart, cockroaches, hard bed, smelly and stained bedlinen…the list goes on. Apparently some cabins, the lower numbers were quite nice, according to fellow travellers, but others were similar to mine. A bad experience which soured my holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary-Lou Corcoran, General Manager at Governor's Lodge
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Thank you for your feedback Claire, I am sorry you have had to experiences these issues within your cabin. Can I ask - were these issues bought to our attention when you were on site ? Also is it possible to have the number of the cabin so we are able to rectify the issues you have raised. We are currently going through a refurb of the property and your feedback is so important to us. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
andrew g wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
Unfortunately we found our selves needing an extra nights accommodation on Norfolk. So off to Governor’s lodge for the night. Firstly the positives. The cabin has a nice view. The pool was clean. The cabin was clean. The breakfast was ok. Then the negatives. I am a senior medical specialist and am always nice to the people I have the honor to care for in my “service industry” . At the reception at this place, my wife and I felt like an unwelcome inconvenience upon arrival. The staff are impertinent. This morning I had the temerity to ask if I could use Amex. A “sorry no” would have been fine. Not an “as if, won’t be using that on Norfolk”. This after we had used Amex several times during the week on the island. Other staff indifferent. Extra costs for WiFi; had to buy a week if we wanted it. This seems mean. Provide it and put it in the price. Room tired and musty like an aged care home. TV didn’t work properly. If I was a the manager I would replace every “faded to blue” picture in existence. Best avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Other at Governor's Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thanking you for your feedback, your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the service your received at reception. I have followed up with the Front Office Manager who is addressing the issues mentioned with the Guest Service Agents. I am sorry your experience fell short of expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
misspopeye wrote a review Dec 2023
Sydney, Australia229 contributions171 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay. The staff are very helpful and obliging. Everything is laid on but do book the restaurant Baileys ahead of time. The chalets themselves are excellent. We had a deluxe which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. I was very impressed with all the inclusions, but personally I would lose the huge spa in the bathroom. Other than that the rooms are excellent and the outlook from the balcony pleasant. There are tea and coffee facilities and a microwave. Breakfast offers lots of choices and dinner menu likewise. The location is convenient to the centre (walk in) but very quiet and leafy. There is also a small pool. The only downside is no wi fi in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get your own sim card if you want wifi.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Other at Governor's Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thanks for sharing your 5 star rating with us and the community. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve our offerings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maree S wrote a review Nov 2023
58 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a cabin, well appointed. Each cabin was seperate, so no interfering noise. The hotel had good facilities. A great place to rest and recharge if that’s you, otherwise explore the island all in easy reach. The Hotel offered a great restaurant with a great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are plenty of tours to choose from. But with. Rental car you can do your own thing, in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Other at Governor's Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a rating - its much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LoeyLogan60 wrote a review Oct 2023
Brisbane, Australia71 contributions10 helpful votes
I have not stayed here, but I have frequented the restaurant called "The Boat Shed". The food here was exceptional and catered to gluten and lactose intolerant customers. The chef came out and discussed the meal with my daughter. Something that I found was caring.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Other at Governor's Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thank you for your kind words about the Boat Shed, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mari A wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia46 contributions5 helpful votes
Extremely supportive and friendly staff. I couldn’t fault the service provided. They always go out of their way to meet guest needs. Cabin was clean and met my expectation. Just a short walk into town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: No free wifi.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Other at Governor's Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our friendly staff were highlighted. we'd love to welcome you back soon, Thanks again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzanna H wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Cabins are spacious and clean and comfortable. Everything you need is provided. Restaurant is first class and service was excellent. Conveniently located across the road from Cyclorama and Hilli's restaurant, although organising a little car is recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Some hotels/resorts provide free wifi. It can be disappointing to be asked to pay for a service...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Other at Governor's Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we work really hard to give our guests the finest experience possible, so comments like yours are truly rewarding to hear. We would love to welcome you back soon, so don't be a stranger. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kingston area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$209 - AU$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNorfolk IslandKingston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOVERNOR'S LODGE (AU$203): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Kingston) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Governor's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Governor's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Fletcher's Mutiny Cyclorama (0.1 km), Pitcairn Settlers Village (0.3 km), and Norfolk Island Liqueurs (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Governor's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Governor's Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Governor's Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Governor's Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Governor's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hilli Restaurant & Cafe, The Olive Cafe, and Cafe Tempo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Governor's Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Governor's Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Governor's Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Governor's Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kingston and Arthur's Vale Historic Area (1.8 km), Pitcairn Settlers Village (0.3 km), and The Salthouse Kingston (2.0 km).
Is Governor's Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.