We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Terrace Avenue Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberty
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Terrace Avenue Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Terrace Avenue Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2015

The Cottage Nook room provided a quiet and comfortable setting for our weekend getaway to the Kansas City area. The room is located right off the kitchen and we wondered if that meant we would be awakened early by the sounds and smells of breakfast being prepared. However, all the cooking and preparation for the meal takes place at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Special20
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy your stay was relaxing and comfortable! Your review is most appreciated and thank you for mentioning the lay out of the Cottage Nook. Maintaining this "off the kitchen" room completely peaceful is what we hoped and SO glad your experience was exactly this!! Please come back and stay with us again.

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 17 June 2015

My son in North Kansas City suggested a B&B while we visited the grandkids and we found The Terrace Avenue Inn. Boy were we happy! The Cottage Nook was ideal, not to mention the breakfast, porch, deck and the Tea Shop! We've stayed at many B&B's and this has been one, if not THE BEST! Thank you, Brenda and Al.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sailorrep
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

We are so thankful your stay was so enjoyable and the Cottage Nook worked out! Please come back and stay again anytime you visit your family!!

Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

In area for wedding and looked for a bed and breakfast. We hit the jackpot on this property. This was our second B & B experience. Room was very comfortable. Amenities were more than expected. Was able to experience fine "teas"...didn't realize what we had been missing. Al was fantastic. Brenda made excellent breakfasts...their scones are fabulous! Will stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri C
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much!! We are so happy to know your stay was what you expected and you were as relaxed as possible!! Please come back and stay again.

Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

We decided to take a last minute vacation to Kansas City and stay at a bed and breakfast. The Terrace Avenue Inn was highly recommended on TripAdvisor so I took a chance at texting the innkeeper, Brenda late on a Friday night for Saturday/Sunday/Monday accommodations. I just knew I was out of luck but within an hour she responded through...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melanie R
guestcottage, Public Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so so so much for sharing your experience! Our family is so happy to know your stay was relaxing and a wonderful. We hope you will come back again!!!! :)

Springfield, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We were visiting family in Kansas City and wanted something different than just another hotel room. We stayed at the inn for three nights. It was so relaxing, quiet and comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Al and Brenda are so nice and helpful and make you feel right at home with lots of pampering. We will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith_and_Rhonda_L
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate this very much and do hope you will come back for another relaxing getaway!!

Reviewed 13 November 2014

My husband and I were wanting to get away for some quick R&R and found this quaint little bed and breakfast in Liberty. Great service, super friendly people and such a relaxing atmosphere from the moment you walk in. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and hope to visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather & Mark W
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad your getaway was relaxing and enjoyable. We loved having you and hope you will come back again for another needed getaway! Thank you for the review!

WaKeeney, KS
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Very relaxing B&B! Quiet, convenient, and the breakfasts were great! My husband and I chose this place for a weekend getaway, and it didn't disappoint! The tea shop that is located inside this B&B was an added benefit. Would highly recommend this for anyone who wants a quiet place to relax, yet be close enough to Kansas City to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodurr
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! We are so glad you were able to relax and getaway. We think it is great being close to KC but having a respite to come back to and glad you felt the same way. Please come back and stay with us again!!

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We planned a trip to Liberty - my husband's birthplace and where his family is buried - on a whim. We were very fortunate that Terrace Avenue Inn had one opening on the night we planned to visit. My husband spoke to Brenda on the phone and she was very accommodating on such short notice. When we arrived, Brenda was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GCD45720
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving us a review! Brenda was excited to meet you and enjoyed visiting about all the history. So glad you were able to enjoy the inn and amenities. We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Ozark, Missouri
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Earlier this year, I stayed at the Terrace Avenue Inn for more than 40 nights over a 6 month period while starting a new job in town. I stayed during the week, and because most of the B&B clientele came over the weekend I often had the house to myself. The Inn was wonderful, and Al, Brenda, and their daughters...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timothy P
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We really miss having you here!! What a blessing to our family - all of us - getting to know you and your family. Thank you for sharing your review and experience. And we hope to see your family again! :)

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The home is very inviting and in a great location. I stayed in a room with a private bath and entrance which made my stay very comfortable. I enjoyed going for a run through the campus of William Jewell College after work. Al and Brenda were very accommodating and fixed a delicious breakfast!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam K
guestcottage, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace Avenue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are also glad the weather was great for enjoying the college and surrounding area during your trip. Please remember us in the future and come back and stay!

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberty
3.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 113 in Kansas City
647 reviews
3.0 km away
Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Liberty
1.6 km away
Days Inn Liberty/NE Kansas City
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
#59 of 113 in Kansas City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to an oasis of comfortable yet simple luxury. Step away from your over-crowded, busy life for a respite at The Terrace Avenue Inn. Our Guest Cottage is serene and romantic. Comfortable, beautiful, and simple. Along with small hotel amenities our guests can enjoy Anna Marie's Teas - a large variety of specialty premium loose leaf teas. Tea is our specialty. Enjoy the cottage during your stay including spacious porches, the kitchen available for light cooking, dining room with flat screen TV, comfy chairs and individual tables. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Terrace Avenue Inn

Address: 124 S Terrace Ave, Liberty, MO 64068-2164
Region: United States > Missouri > Liberty
Price Range: $106 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Terrace Avenue Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only a couple rooms and they all seemed very nice”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbY5211QC, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Cottage Nook is the first floor room so my limited mobility was not an issue. We rarely could tell other guests where in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Sailorrep, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All good rooms, but it is an old home and the stairs are narrow, so a person might need help getting suitcases to the upstairs rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles timothyp749, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Room off kitchen was most reasonably priced and was quiet because breakfast was prepared in the owners' home across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles DrFish46, 2 May 2014 | Read review
“The Liberty Room is smaller but comfy with a lovely bathroom across the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles revgmb4689, 18 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5