We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Massinga Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Massinga Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Massinga Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I booked our `dream 5* vacation' through Mozambique GSA agency in Northcliff Our first mistake of many ; we were promised the moon and stars but promises are cheap ! Massinga is not as cheap as the empty promises , rack rate of R5,000 / night for lousy food , poor service , dirty rooms and no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank valianhunters
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ian & Valerie We regret your dissatisfaction most sincerely. However, as you are aware your feedback was followed up personally by our Group Operations Manager in January. We have in fact implemented some of your positive suggestions. We very much want to resolve any problems that you may still have and if anything has subsequently caused you to resurface...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I chose Massinga beach for our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere quiet, private and peaceful. We got all this whilst still receiving 5* service and accommodation. The staff and food where both amazing. They really spoilt us and made our honeymoon extremely special. The rooms were stunning and so comfortable. We enjoyed the seclusion, walking down the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveljuice16
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased your best honeymoon memories include Massinga Beach and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice houses and nice staff. But some things were poor. The pool at the beach was not clear. I like dogs but not in a swimming pool. The food was OK, not very special. The vieuw from the houses is great. We had a great 4 days, relaxing on the beach end at the house, overlooking the sea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarleneBlantyre
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely regret any negative experiences and appreciate the opportunity to respond. Whilst the swimming pool gets constant attention to ensure that it looks inviting, it is really susceptible to changes in the weather and rain at this time of the year. Bonji, the Jack Russell, is a much loved member of the Massinga Beach team who even has his...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a wonderful honeymoon at Massinga. The chalets were lovely with fantastic views and we loved the private plunge pool. What really made our week was the staff. We were so impressed - they couldn't do enough for us. The food was also fantastic. We highly recommend Massinga and will definitely be paying them another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkb2128
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for highlighting the Massinga Beach staff who aim to please! We look forward to welcoming you back and here's hoping that is soon!

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We had the most fantastic honeymoon imaginable at Massinga. The beautiful, unspoilt stretch of beach all to ourselves. The romantic, private, perfect units where you wake up with the Indian Ocean spread out before you every morning. The warm, friendly, helpful and efficient staff. The wonderful food. Thank you for such a memorable stay!! We'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chane M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I am a Wedding Coordinator and had the privilege to visit Massinga Beach Lodge for a weekend. Although I wish we could have stayed longer, the weekend felt like a whole week, that is how relaxing it was. The staff, all being locals, were so friendly and helpful, great service! The food was also amazing. It often happens that you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen N
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

What a great review! We have a reputation as a honeymoon paradise but beach weddings are also a speciality. Our Facebook page features some gorgeous wedding pics - it would be stunning to have your clients marry here.

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wow! We spent a week at this stunning lodge as part of our honeymoon, everything was perfect - the room, the staff, the food. We were lucky that it was never too buys - always just a few other couples and one day we were the only guests in. We had romantic dinners, beach picnics, enjoyed strolls on the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelFundi2010
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your 100% review. We realise what an important decision the honeymoon location is and we are so pleased you will have great memories of this special time.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I don't usually write reviews as most of the times what you see in pictures is not always what you get BUT this place is really amazing.Have been to Mozambique before but not to paradise like this.The staff(every single one)go out of their way for you.We were lucky enough to be the only ones there for a while and were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manuelafreitas2013
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful stretch of paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful rooms. Spectacular uninterrupted view of the ocean and beaches if you have deluxe seafront doom. Private splash pool with great patio. Bedroom and bathroom are fantastic...imagine lying in the bath with a sea view. Rooms are all private. Difficult to access the beach, but if you are fit for a climb, a good workout. A golf cart is provided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LEMJohannesburg
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. It seems that you did walk along the golf cart route down to the beach from the leisure centre since this is a gentle sloping meander; the stairs are definitely for those who want to get the heart rate up a little. Officials have advised that power lines will be extended towards Massinga Beach by December...

Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What can I say about this place that will do it justice? We were there for the second part of our honeymoon. We spent four amazing nights here. From our arrival at the lodge, being greeted with cold towels and cocktails by the owner, to the personal touches in the room, to the menu that was totally to die for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zach L
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Massinga Beach for your honeymoon. We value being part of this special time.

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
22.4 km away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
33 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Jules
Casa Jules
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
69 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Varanda
Varanda
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
25 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
183 reviews
0.0 km away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Price Range: $247 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Massinga Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Massinga Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms are the best!! Although the rooms at the back have a elevated view which is also very special.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingwithBuddha, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view room is the best”
 of 5 bubbles IB_8322, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Ocean Front Rooms have great views, private plunge pools, comfortable deck and increble 180 degree views ... highly recommend”
 of 5 bubbles travelmad368, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Chalet 16 was conveniently close to the restaurant, bar, library & reception”
 of 5 bubbles 129SteveH, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem good to have ,but would recommend not to be too far from the reception (long way to walk!)”
 of 5 bubbles 202xavierd, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay