We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I travel frequently for business and was getting tired of characterless hotel chains. So, I decided to book the Seven Gables due to charm and proximity to where I had to be. Worst sleep and hotel stay I've had in years. THE GOOD: • It's located in a really quaint, upscale area with lots of nice restaurants, shops and park... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LindsayB10
GablesManager, Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. We take every guests feedback very serious and look into all concerns. Unfortunately due to the limited space in Clayton parking is very limited but the nice thing regarding our parking here at Seven Gables is the guests can come and go... More 

iloveshoes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

7 Gables is located in a great suburb of St. Louis, very quant theme & decor. Not really designed for children. The service was above average (staff very nice). HOWEVER, hotel has 3 floors but does NOT have an elevator (we were located on the 3rd fl, getting luggage up & down wasnt fun nor travelling the stairs several times... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalyn T
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. The Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and the goal of the hotel was to keep the charm and history of the building while offering our guests modern amenities. The hotel does have valet/bellman staff on site that is here to assist our guests with parking cars... More 

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was made aware of this lovely inn by way of a groupon, and unable to find a reason to use it, I made sure to make a mental note of this historic inn. So last weekend, when my husband and I booked tickets to The Lumineers concert at the Duck Room, I made sure to book a night at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sam2233
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the hotel. It's always nice to hear from our guests that thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and their visit with us. We are excited that Seven Gables Inn will be your choice of hotel when you are in the area. Its always so nice to... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked a room for ourselves, and a block of rooms for our guests, for our wedding last weekend, and we could not be more pleased with our choice. Stacey, Gale, Carl and Kyle were so helpful and accommodating through the booking process, and the wedding weekend. The rooms are historic--but also updated and impeccably clean. The rates were very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank StlTeraGram
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that everything went so smoothly for you. This is a great hotel with it sizes and layout for group events. Weddings, Reunions, Rtreats, Corporate blocks are all such great groups to host at the hotel. There is just such an intimate feel and setting for events such as yours and you... More 

atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have traveled every week for 14 years. I tend to have to stay in "company negotiated chain" hotels but this week I was able to stay here due to a meeting. All I have to say is UNBELIEVABLE!!! It was just like I was in my own house. The staff (especially Carl, Melvin, sharon, and Andre) were amazing and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca and thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, the staff went above and beyond and that you will be back. We all take such pride in our jobs and ensuring the guests are made to feel welcome! Its only with our clients reviews that we can continue to grow and succeed in providing... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have been commuting to St. Louis from Chicago for the last 13 months and have choosen to stay at The Seven Gables for the 2-3 nights a week that I am there. I could stay at any hotel in the area but because of their superior service and overall quality I continue to stay there. Granted I stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank greg b
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Greg, thank you for your reveiw. We are thrilled you continue to stay with us and enjoy staying with us. It is our goal to make every guest feel as if they are at their home away from home. We all take such pride in our jobs and making our guests feel welcome and as if they are the only... More 

Clayton, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Many of our business travelers have stayed and continue to request The Seven Gables Inn. Their dedication to services excellence is above and beyond. You can't help but to feel at home while you are away from home. Staff is cheery and helpful. They deliver World Class Service.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review. We are thrilled your guests enjoye staying with us and that you continue to remain a loyal customer to Seven Gables Inn. Its our goal here to make all guests feel welcome and exceed their expectations. Thank you again for your continued support! Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Seven Gables Inn in Clayton is indeed charming and quaint. I loved the decor and the old world feel. The location is great. However, my stay was disappointing. My family was staying there for one night and had made reservations many weeks in advance for a room and also dinner at Molly Darcy's for a rather special family occasion.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tee-Moe
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review and provide us with your feedback. We are truly disappointed that your visit did not live up to your expectations. We strive to ensure our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home and go above and beyond to provide suprerior customer service. You are 100% correct... More 

Lenexa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Seven Gables combines a unique mix of charm of a bed and breakfast with the privacy of a hotel. Those unbelievable fresh chocolate chip cookies permeate the entryway. The wife and I took shifts taking as many as we could in hopes the staff wouldn't notice. On our first day, a light snow was falling in the courtyard and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank studiochyree
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and the cookies, they are very tasty and the nice thing is there is no limit. While our guests are here we want them to feel at home and enjoy the extras that we provide to you!! Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to provide... More 

Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Seven Gables Inn has the most incredible staff, I have stayed there during medical visits to St. Louis and as a previous international business traveler, few hotels make a lasting impression. The staff welcomes you by name and accommodates every need. Make sure to ask for Melvin, he's the valet, concierge and bellman and will treat you like family... More 

Helpful?
Thank abigailboston
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review! It is always so amazing to hear from our guests about their experience with the team and the hotel. We are thrilled you always enjoy yourself and that you continue to come back and see us. Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to provide our guest with superior customer service. Thank... More 

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
874 reviews
The Cheshire
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
360 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $170 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, Minnesota
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room #111”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy321, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor”
 of 5 bubbles FromAway67, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room far away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles kdp43, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a Historic building and does not have elevators. Request a 1st floor room if stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles 736ToddP, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 2nd floor away from restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles EstesTraveler, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay