We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
kewanee, il
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had tickets to go to two Cardinal games and spent the night between at the Seven Gables Inn. It was very easy to hop on the Metro and get to Busch Stadium and back. Very friendly staff and did many little things to make my stay enjoyable. This place has a little more pizzaz than your typical chain hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank drrider
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our team made you feel welcome! We all take such great pride in our jobs and ensuring the guests have a pleasant stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Charming and intimate bridal shower venue. I booked the hotel for my son's Rehearsal Dinner and I liked it so much I decided to host my future daughter-in-law's Bridal Shower there as well. It was perfect!!! We had both Gables I and GablesII banquet rooms for the shower. Everyone commented on how lovely the rooms were. The food was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna S
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a kind review. We are so very pleased that we could be apart of such an important event in your life and that you are happy with everything from the service to the food to the venue. We take such great pride in our jobs and work so well together as a team to ensure...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This Historic Inn is just that HISTORIC I am one that DO NOT LIKE ELEVATOR'S and didn't mind the steps the staff was very friendly and helpful each one greeted you with a bright smile and cheerful hello. The rooms were very clean & neat and fresh, the continental breakfast was lovely everything they stated about the Inn on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amberbrooks_12
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. There are always pros and cons to older buildings but we do pride ourselves on the exceptional customer service we provide. We want our guests to feel as if they are at their home away from home and we strive to ensure all guests...

Ft Laud
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This place needs to be renovated. The carpet in the room is stained and dirty. The staff is very pleasant. I inquired prior to making my reservation if the linens and towels were scent free, i am sensitive to scented linens and towels, i was told yes. They are not and i find out the hard way. Hotels, get it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HowFtLaud
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and address all concerns immediately. We will definitely check with our vendor who provides us with our laundry supplies as we do not order any scented items due to the wide variety of guests we have and possible allergies our guests might have. We are also aware of the carpet...

Sikeston, Missouri
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel features, among other things, clean rooms with a unique decor, outstanding service, and very good continental breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone. I did notice that one other reviews said parking was free, and I would like to correct that statement. The parking lot across the street is an additional $17 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barwal1
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. The staff at Seven Gables Inn takes such pride in their jobs and ensuring you have a wonderful stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This Inn is on the National Register of Historical Places and is a great place to stay. My daughter and I loved the breakfast and it was wonderful to get away in the totally enclosed courtyard. We were welcomed into the Inn and Carl registered us, helped us with luggage and parked our car too. I would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernScorpio
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here takes such pride in their jobs and going above and beyond to help our guests to ensure you feel as if you are at your home away from home. We are thrilled to here you...

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were visiting Susan's parents in Clayton, who happen to live within a block of the Seven Gables, to we decided to give it a try. When we arrived, we were immediately given terrific free parking across the street, very convenient. Our bags were whisked off while we checked in. Chocolate chip cookies, too. The lady who checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BritCowboy
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. The courtyard is a great spot to sit and relax and enjoy our complimentary wine and cheese reception or to take your complimentary breakfast. The courtyard has such a warm and inviting feel that you don't even realize you are in the heart of...

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I did not want to stay downtown St. Louis because we were going to a concert at the nearby Pagaent. I felt like I was staying at a Bavarian village. A great setting, cool rooms, and away from the hustle of downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dovernj
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Seven Gables Inn is very unique in the St. Louis market. We have kept the old world charm of the hotel and added the modern amenities that our guest deserve to have. The nice thing about Seven Gables Inn is you are centrally located...

Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is one of our favorite places to stay. The Seven Gables is beautiful, has a wonderful, quiet courtyard and the room was perfect for the romance my wife and I were looking for. All the staff was so nice and location of the hotel is perfect. This area of Clayton has great restaurants and night life. I strongly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott m
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that it was the perfect romantic getaway. Seven Gables Inn is such an intimate place with a staff that is here to please our guests. We all take such pride in providing the best customer service and to make you feel as if you are at your home away from home....

Vallejo, California
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I've stayed at the Seven Gables Inn several times because I enjoy the charm, architecture, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and great location within easy walking distance to many restaurants and sites. There are a few drawbacks - the breakfast fare needs healthier options with fresh, better-quality food, the daily parking fee is high, and there is no elevator....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julianne M
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. Clayton does have very limited parking but the advantage with our hotel is you pay a daily rate and can come and go as much as you would like and you always have the option of utilizing our valet at no additional cost. With your guest room rate the hotel offers...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
875 reviews
The Cheshire
#34 of 119 in Saint Louis
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#37 of 119 in Saint Louis
360 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 119 in Saint Louis
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $169 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, Minnesota
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room #111”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy321, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor”
 of 5 bubbles FromAway67, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room far away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles kdp43, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a Historic building and does not have elevators. Request a 1st floor room if stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles 736ToddP, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 2nd floor away from restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles EstesTraveler, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay