Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island

2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222 Australia
Traveller (381)
Deluxe SPA Eco-Villa
Room & Suite (84)
Private beach with wildlife
Pool & Beach (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Willoughby
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to our paradise - With 250 acres of spectacular coastal estate, a stunning secluded beach and ocean views from all boutique accommodations, Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island is unrivalled in rugged beauty and tranquility. From relaxation to exploration - A stay with us not only whisks you away to an Australian wildlife paradise but our signature experiences encapsulate the full wonder of Kangaroo Island with included tours, excursions and local food and beverages. As the only full-service boutique hotel on Kangaroo Island, Sea Dragon is perfect for anyone looking for a luxurious private retreat in a spectacular coastal setting. While seclusion is one of our most endearing attributes, we are only 20 minutes from Penneshaw ferry and 50 minutes from Kingscote Airport. At Sea Dragon, we welcome families with children aged 12 and above, couples, solo travellers and respect all regardless of ethnicity, sexuality or gender identity.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast buffet
Beach
Hiking
Conference facilities
Massage
Parking
Internet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Snorkelling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222 Australia
Getting there
Kingscote Airport
Adelaide Airport
105.8 km
See all flights
349Reviews4Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 313
  • 25
  • 9
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ozcookie1 wrote a review Oct 2020
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia899 contributions170 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so glad that our planned accommodation on KI was already booked out and that we stumbled across Sea Dragon Lodge. Thankfully we were allowed to stay with our children (who were all under the required age). We chose the Retreat as it was further from other lodging. Even though this is probably the most we have ever paid for accommodation it was worth every cent and exceeded our expectations on every level. The furnishings and fittings were top level, we loved the coffee machine that ground your coffee and the fact the TV allowed us to stream our own content! View and wildlife were amazing and we had the most incredible meals which included a seafood platter on our first night. We had requested a picnic hamper on our last day and there was so much food we used it for both a lunch with wine at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse and sunset in the shelter on the beach. Kids saw kangaroos, goanna and sheep. We loved the ruins of the old farm (only found when feeding the chickens at the suggestion of staff) and the historical information pinned to the walls within about the early occupant. Bathrooms were superb. The gas fireplace was lovely. Staff were discreet and helpful. Our only problem during the stay was making sure our children didn't make a mess of the lovely rooms and fittings! Superb stay and we would love to come back without the kids!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations, as the whole team works really hard to make sure every guest has an amazing stay with us. The seafood platter you enjoyed is proving very popular. There's nothing better than fresh seafood, and Kangaroo Island has some of the best on offer. Our other home-cooked meals also show off the island's organic produce wherever possible and provide a range of delicious options. Thankyou also for you kind words about the staff, they were much appreciated. We would certainly love to see you back. warm regards Steve, Gail & the Team NOTE: We are an adults retreat, but accept children 11 years and older. Following the chaos caused by COVID 19 we made an exception in this case.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jcbdigger wrote a review Oct 2020
Wellington Point, Australia38 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in 'Kestrel' for three nights. Excellent and comfortable accommodation. Biggest draw card though is the location and the views. The weather was a bit mixed while we were there but you can just sit and soak up that spectacular view back to the mainland. Being able to take the short walk down to the private beach is another bonus. We opted for the supplied meals on two nights, while not cheap these were excellent quality with generous portions. The fresh baked bread is a great extra touch. The local staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Be aware that the location is very much off the beaten track and access is via several Km of unsealed roads, but it is well worth it. Only two minor critiques, there was a significant lack of drawer storage space in the bedroom and something to put your feet up on while soaking up those views from the sofa would have been good.
Overall though, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Views from Kestrel were excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Hi John, Thanks for the great review. Very comprehensive and greatly appreciated. Really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the meals. There's nothing better than being on holiday and not having to worry about shopping or cooking, then coming home to a delicious meal. Also we really appreciate the feedback re storage and footrests. We have ordered ottomans to provide that extra bit of comfort and will be adding some extra shelves in the wardrobe. Thanks for staying and we would love to see you again. warm regards Steve, Gail & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony P wrote a review Mar 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom276 contributions134 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge had been booked long before the devastating fires but at no time did we think of cancelling.
The setting is fabulous with views to a small cove and along the coast. In the late afternoon the kangaroo come out to play as well.
The lodge itself was very comfortable with everything we needed. Breakfast supplies are provided.
We opted for half board and a prepared home cooked meal was delivered including starter and dessert. On a road trip it is fantastic to get such good home cooked food.

Cape Willoughby is about 25 minutes from the ferry and its easy to explore the eastern side of the island. The journey to the western half of the island would take about 2.5 hours and so a trip to Flinders Chase would make a long day. This was not an issue for us because of fire related park closures.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 24 May 2020
Thanks Tony, We really appreciate you taking the time to put in a review. We are very please to hear you had a wonderful time. It makes all the hard work worthwhile. Warm Regards Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Apr 2021
Parkside, Australia23 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Easter weekend getaway. Photos don’t really do this place justice, immaculately presented, contemporary decor, all the mod cons you could ask for in a remote location for ultimate privacy. We even got upgraded to “The Lodge” ..a stunning villa with a huge outdoor deck and spectacular view of the ocean. Added bonus if you like stargazing..inky black skies packed with stars and the Milky Way arching overhead. I brought my telescope and got some great shots. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 10 Apr 2021
Hi David - Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We hope to welcome you back one day. All the best, from the Sea Dragon Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DRSLB6 wrote a review Jan 2020
Williamsburg, Virginia53 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the retreat with our family of 6. The location was fabulous as we were surrounded by kangaroos with a beach a short distance away. The hill going to the beach was rather steep but you were rewarded with a beautiful safe isolated beach. So happy that I was able to book this place as most were sold out. The bushfires had started 3 days before we arrived and still going but you wouldn't have even known as the skies were clear and we were safe.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Hi, Thanks for your great review. The Retreat is the latest addition to our accommodation and ideal for families or multiple couples travelling together. Im really pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. Yes we were very lucky not to be impacted by the fires at all, which were over 100 kilometers away. Thanks again for taking the time to put in a review. Its greatly appreciated. warm regards Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Atlantaluvstotvl wrote a review Mar 2020
atlanta12 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sea Dragon Lodge has incredible views and pretty, clean and very functional bungalows. We stayed in Kestrel unit which was perfect for us - a couple. The lodge is very isolated, so not for anyone wanting to go out at night for dinner or a drink. We chose to go all inclusive, so all of our meals were either provided while out on tour or delivered to our unit. The food was good; it isn’t gourmet, but always tasty and very plentiful. The units have wonderful porches where you can sit and enjoy your dinner. Our tours were very comprehensive, so we saw all of the island that was available in early March 2020 after the devastating fires.

The staff was very attentive to any issues, but left us alone to enjoy our experience. We wanted to see kangaroos, and we saw plenty. They are all over the property and we were taken to a wildlife park to get up close with kangaroos and koala.

The island wineries were lots of fun as well.

We recommend the property for any visitors to KI.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 23 June 2020
Hi Guys Thanks for the great review. It was very much appreciated. Warm regards Steve and Gail
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mol wrote a review Feb 2023
20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely eco lodge in an amazing location. We stayed in casaurina which is part way downhill towards the beach (4wd only) and which was very well appointed, spotless and with a wonderful view. The staff were very helpful and enthusiastic.

Plenty of kangaroo around the lodge and only a shortish (20 min) walk to the Cape Willoughby lighthouse. Whilst meal choices were limited, every meal, without exception, was very good and whilst we were there they had introduced more options on the menu. Breakfast is continental style with plenty of choice.

Personally we thought this was a great little boutique hotel on a lovely island and offered excellent value for money. The unsealed roads are fine on KI if you drive appropriately and we self drove to Flinders via the sea bay conservation park in just over 2 hours excluding stops. Highly recommend a visit to Antechamber bay which is about 15 mins drive from the Sea Dragon. Absolutely stunning and virtually had the beach to ourselves.

Overall a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Drive appropriately for the road conditions and consider a 4wd/awd. Do the historical tour at...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sea Dragon KangarooIsland, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 24 Feb 2023
Hi Molly, your kind comments have made our day! Thank you for sharing your review with us and the community. We hope to welcome you back one day. All the best, from the Sea Dragon team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aremelle wrote a review July 2020
Brisbane, Australia120 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I loved staying here ... isolated luxury! The views across the water are fabulous. The accomm is high quality and you will be assured of a peaceful nights sleep. And we loved the local wildlife (mainly kangaroos) visiting us each morning!

A couple of things to note:
- The location involves about 16km of unsealed road. Make sure your vehicle is suitable because the roads might be rough and potholed depending on when it was last graded.
- The location also means you will be staying in at nighttime because it is too dangerous driving at night due to the large number of kangaroos.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Hi Guys Thanks for the great review and we were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. While standard cars are ok for getting around KI and to the Lodge, we always recommend bringing an SUV or 4WD as they handle the Unsealed roads far better than standard cars. Cars with low clearance or low profile tyres such as sports cars should not be brought to the island. As you suggested we also recommend dining in the privacy of your villa for evening meals as driving after dark on KI is hazardous due to the wildlife. Also the views are better than any restaurant on the island. We offer delicious home cooked meals delivered to your villa or each villa has a fully equipped kitchen if you prefer to self cater.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elaine S wrote a review Feb 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I were advised to leave our hire car on the mainland and were collected from the ferry by Will. Condition of the roads on the island needs surfacing as the majority are dirt and in need of upgrading.Our accommodation in Banksia gave us a chance to enjoy the view down to beach and was ready on arrival.
Day 1 was the all day nature tour and Paul certainly knew where to go to see best features of the island. Again this tour was on all dirt roads and after 6 hours of shaking our bones left us with sore necks and backs. Day 2 half day tour was interesting and a better length giving us late afternoon to ourselves.
We too thought there would be a choice of meals in evening and although the food was ok it was cold when arrived. On our 2nd morning we headed across to breakfast only to find the guy on duty arrived just behind us and we had to set our table ourselves and ask was there any milk etc? Not good enough for me sorry. The last morning he was on again and only marginally better.
We were disappointed with the experience and could imagine the other couples who were from France and Canada and had come half way around the world to experience Australia were too.
Travel in Australia is not cheap and although Seadragon is an amazing location much more work needs to be done to bring it up to standard.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sea Dragon KangarooIsland, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 12 Feb 2023
Hi Elaine, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Kangaroo Island has one main road loop which is sealed and provides access to the main highlights without the need of travelling on unsealed roads. However, to reach us at Sea Dragon there is 16kms of unsealed road however this is graded regularly and is usually in a good condition. If you feel the roads on Kangaroo Island were unsatisfactory, we encourage you to provide feedback directly to the Kangaroo Island Council and the State Government as they are responsible for maintaining these roads. We are continuously receiving great feedback in relation to our full-day "Kangaroo Island Nature" tour and half-day "Taste of Kangaroo Island" tour along with the drivers/guides always being mentioned. We are very proud of our tour offering and have passed on your comments to Paul. We would like to point out that the full-day tour only has a maximum of five driving hours total, with only one of those five hours on unsealed roads (the same road you would have travelled on with your transfer to Sea Dragon). The half-day tour also has a maximum of one hour of driving on unsealed road. Many previous guests have commented how the unsealed road to Sea Dragon adds to the feeling of remoteness and seclusion, and certainly for our international guests, a sense of adventure. We are expanding our dinner menu in the coming weeks along with extending the breakfast time to allow for early risers to dine first thing, however it’s important to note that set breakfast times is common practice across every accommodation, regardless of size. It’s a shame to hear that your dinner was cold as this could have been easily rectified at the time if staff were notified. With the intake of new staff over the summer period we will continue our training programs to strengthen our customer service offering. Best regards, the Sea Dragon team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan B wrote a review Sept 2020
7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were delighted by the modern, spacious and well equipped villa, but we were were even more delighted by the spectacular view from the private deck. Staff communicated well prior to our arrival, provided great pre booked food and service, whilst at the same time remaining unobtrusive and giving us total privacy.

Very highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Lane, Owner at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Responded 4 Oct 2020
HI Alan, It was a pleasure having you stay and thankyou for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Love to see you again. warm Regards Steve, Gail & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Dougiepc
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom790 contributions525 helpful votes
40 mins
Answer from katiemaroo
Melbourne, Australia114 contributions55 helpful votes
About an hour. You should not consider driving at night at any time because of the kangaroos which come out to eat early evening.
Adelaide, Australia54 contributions57 helpful votes
Hi, We are a 50 minute drive from Kingscote Airport. Yes we offer private car transfers to and from the airport.
993rs wrote a tip Mar 2024
Melbourne, Australia72 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you ask for Crayfish don’t let the chef cover it with a tomato based topping.. The crayfish flavour was totally overcome."
Read full review
Kirk_Savage wrote a tip Jan 2024
Deutschland24 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Islander Estate Vineyard offered great service, food and wine! "
Read full review
julie d wrote a tip Jan 2024
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom391 contributions302 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a bottle with ice bucket for your room to sit on your veranda at sunset and simply watch the animals "
Read full review
Rusty wrote a tip Jan 2024
Wisbech, United Kingdom40 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The island is remote so trips via hotel essential if no transport"
Read full review
Erica G wrote a tip Sept 2023
Zionsville, Indiana5 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spring is a fabulous time to go as it is not unbearably hot, there are no crowds, and the animals have their young"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Willoughby area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$847 - AU$1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandWilloughby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SEA DRAGON KANGAROO ISLAND: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Willoughby) - Photos of Lodge - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island?
Nearby attractions include Cape Willoughby Lighthouse (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea, free instant coffee, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars