We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Moreton Island

Save
Share
100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025 Australia
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Beach
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shops
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025 Australia
Getting there
Brisbane Intl Airport44 kmSee all flights
Sunshine Coast Airport59 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
181Reviews3Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 49
  • 14
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wayne R wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia17 contributions2 helpful votes
Once again, the crew of Castaways, Morton Island, continue to make a great trip just that little bit better, always a smike, great food, and relaxing.. Shop still supplies all the BASICS needed to camp and fish.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Apuli, General Manager at Castaways Moreton Island
Responded 23 May 2021
Hey Wayne, Thank you very much for you awesome review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay on the beautiful Moreton Island and loved our store/restaurant at Castaways. Cannot wait for you to come back and enjoy the island all over again.
Read more
Erryl T wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is fantastic and the concept is great. Unfortunately Castaways has not been kept up to standard. There is black mould on the tents. There are no facilities to store clothes - not even a table to put a suitcase on. In the bathroom - no mirror, no toilet roll holder, no soap dish in the shower. In our unit (No 2) it was impossible to sit on the small deck as it is in full sunlight all afternoon. The worst item was the noise. For 2 nights of our 3 night stay there was a party of school children right behind us, with shrieking and whooping from 6am till about 9am and again from about 4pm until 9pm the first night, and well after that until we complained the second night. Finally there is a very loud generator which kicks in about midnight and runs for a couple of hours. When you're aiming for a restful holiday this is the last thing you want - when I complained I was told there is nothing they can do about it. If you still go after all this (and apart from these complaints it's a great place) then I suggest you ask for units 1 through 5 as they are the furthest from the noise. On the plus side it's a 5 minute walk from the beach, an easy drive from the ferry and right next to a store and restaurant; the communal kitchen and dining facilities are OK given that you are semi camping, there is plenty of fridge capacity and adequate cooking facilities and utensils (we brought our own glasses, cutlery and crockery and I would advise the same) The staff were great and a special shout out to Bec who tried her best to help us with the noise problems
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Apuli, General Manager at Castaways Moreton Island
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the island and loved our location. Just to confirm, I believe you stayed in glamping tent 9 (not a unit). We offer an 'off the grid' and back to nature experience, so we try and emulate that within our site, hence why you had no facilities to store your clothes. We run the site on solar power only, so during peak periods and overcast days, unfortunately the generator is a necessity to have those nice hot showers or even have lights in the glamp kitchen whilst cooking. We do occasionally have school groups that do stay with us and it is great that they stuck to the site curfew of 9pm. We do try and keep the children's noise down but it can be difficult with large groups of excited kids. Thank you for your feedback on our staff, they are all pretty special! They did inform us that your were given a complimentary bottle of wine and a complimentary cooked breakfast to say sorry for the noise. We're sorry you didn't feel this was enough to apologise for the noise.
Read more
Shlama14 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We recently stayed on Moreton Island over the Easter Weekend. We did book last minute but spent 2 days looking into our trip before booking. A couple of things: 1. Nowhere did it mention We needed to be on the island by a certain time to have a transfer from the ferry to the unit at Castaways. We travelled by plane from Sydney and paid for the transfer from.the ferry to our stay, only to be told the ferry was a "turn and burn" and had to be left in the dark on a beach We had no light, shelter or food/drink while our kids grew more scared by the minute. We had to wait for "someone to call" us and be picked up. 2. We were then checked in by a lovely lady who helped us and apologised for what happened. Then we realised our room wasn't ready as the extra beds we paid for weren't even there (this was at 9pm). These ended up being camp stretchers not fold out beds. We then had to ask for water because we missed the dinner at the restaurant below due to the transfer not being there and couldn't buy our own water beforehand. 3. None of the sliding doors seemed to work or lock properly, and every utensil/cup needed to be washed before use. Sand was under every mat/on every surface. I know it's it's island, but cleaning a unit between guests is kind of mandatory. 4. Waking up on day 2 we realised we actually couldn't do anything because what we read o the website wasn't actually available to us. We wouldn't hire anything, we couldn't travel the island and when we asked to speak to "Bones" regarding a tour for the next day, we were told they were going to send him up to us so we could talk to him, and that he is the guy that always carries "the cheeky little flask". We ended up walking around Bulwer for the day trying to find something to do for 12 hours before bed. We repeatedly asked the restaurant their closing times, only to have have restaurant close early that night. Thankfully we had food before they shut. 5. The rain on the third day didn't help the situation, with nothing the room to entertain anyone let alone kids. No reception for phones, no WiFi and reading in the guest information that we weren't even allowed to charge our phones/gadgets. We were provided an incomplete 1000 peice puzzle and a pictionary set with no pencils/paper. The TV worked after my husband changed the batteries, but was glitchy at best. No DVD player, no anything for kids. That night the restaurant told us they were closing at 5. We went down to order dinner at 4:00 to be told they closed the kitchen. When we said we're staying upstairs and have no food, we were looked at like idiots and offered cold chicken breast pieces to cook upstairs on a dirty fry pan, with a side a dry bread because the store had nothing else to pair with the chicken. 6. Finally woke the morning we were leaving. What a shock it was that people decided to use our balcony area as their rest stop for the morning. Met the bus for the tra sfer back to the Micat, waiting in the rain to board the boat 7. The unit itself was outdated/unclean and very basic. We were not told we had to organise transfer through them directly, having booked.it.online and received a confirmation email. We were not told we could not experience anything without a 4wd while staying at Castaways. We were not told we had to bring our own food having read the restaurant hours online before booking. 8. Being told we could not call them, we had to.email them.over Easter instead was just annoying. 9. We had a lovely view of the sites skip bins, with beautiful sounds of forklifts and trucks in the mornings. At night we were lulled to sleep with the gentle vibration and loud noise of the on side generators. Overall, I want a refund on the accomodation and island transfers. The "holiday" experience has left us never wanting to visit Moreton Island again. We visited Fraser, nearly got washed out in the tide, missed the barge and still had fun. The experience at Castaways has ruined Moreton Island for our family. There is no information online. No information given that is actually helpful when it comes to booking a unit at Castaways. The best part of our trip was the view of the island getting smaller as we left on the ferry.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Apuli, General Manager at Castaways Moreton Island
Responded 11 Apr 2021
Hi Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday with us on Moreton Island. I understand that you were not charged for the transfers and I again apologise for the confusion. I was informed that the staff cooked you guys a meal and took it up to your room as a "sorry" gift. Thank you for letting us know about the sliding doors, we will address that issue straight away. The unit itself has all new furniture so I was a little confused by the "outdated" comment. We also have recently put new curtains in all units. Because the site is solar powered the generators are a necessity for the site to run when the solar is low. Our website does recommend you take a 4WD and all our opening hours are also on the website. Once you booked you would of received an email stating all of the above. All this information is also on google.
Read more
beachelandra wrote a review Mar 2021
perth17 contributions5 helpful votes
A very serious mould issue with the tents . This must be a health issue . Another health issue is the cleanliness of the camp kitchen. Dirty tea towels just left on the bench, BBQ fat tray hadn’t been cleaned for a long while, the bins for rubbish and recycling were absolutely filthy on the outside. The beds have a steel bar through the middle , there is no mirror in the bathroom, nothing to hang anything on and when we went to clean the sand out of our bed there was a big stain on our sheet . We asked for a blanket after the first night as it had been wet after waiting about 6 hours we went back k to be told there is no blankets you just have to be cold !!! This is not a glamping tent . The setting is magnificent but the whole place requires serious attention
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Apuli, General Manager at Castaways Moreton Island
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review castaways, We are sorry to hear that you have had an unpleasant stay. Unfortunately, due to the harsh environment these have a shortened life span. You will be pleased to hear that the tents have undergone recent and ongoing maintenance. Sorry that our mattresses weren’t to your liking. The BBQ's are for communal use and we cannot always monitor how clean guest leave the area. We do clean the area twice daily and sanitise as well. I do apologise that there was a shortage of blankets. The site was sold out and our other blankets had no come back from the laundry service as of yet. Castaways team
Read more
Helga wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Glamping tents were reasonably comfortable but have some serious mould issues! Communal kitchen - . dirt and cobwebs on floors and in cupboards where crockery kept . fridge shelves dirty and unwashed . on arrival - a pile of dirty tea towels and no detergent or clean dishcloth . plenty of plates and dishes for 11 tents but only 2 wine glasses, 2 tumblers and 4 coffee cups . nothing to clean BBQ plates . kettles and pots and pans well past their 'use by date' . one old damaged toaster Not good enough!! Shop - The kitchen was closed for maintenance but had not been advised of this. Asked for coffee 30 mins before shop closed but told not available. Obviously run on a shoe string budget and understaffed. The island is a great place to visit and on the whole we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Apuli, General Manager at Castaways Moreton Island
Responded 11 Apr 2021
Hi Helga, The communal glamp kitchen is shared with all other guests and is cleaned twice daily as well as sanitised. It is an outdoor space so it is near impossible to stop the cobwebs. Did you approach one of our staff members to let them know you need more glasses etc? they would of happily provided you with more. We are glad that you did enjoy the beautiful Moreton island
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 72 - USD 150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Moreton Island Eco Lodge
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionMoreton IslandBulwer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castaways Moreton Island
Which popular attractions are close to Castaways Moreton Island?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Island (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castaways Moreton Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Castaways Moreton Island?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Castaways Moreton Island?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Castaways Moreton Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.