Aquarius Kawana
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aquarius Kawana

Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 limited service property in Birtinya
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the centre of the Oceanside development of Birtinya (Sunshine Coast), right beside the University Hospital, this hotel is built to cater for both Corporate and Leisure guests. Offering standard rooms, fully self-contained 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom Executive and 3 Bedroom Apartments, pool, free Wi-Fi
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available for direct booking

Location

14 Bright Pl, Birtinya, Queensland 4575 Australia
43Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 10
  • 2
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LandN449 wrote a review Sept 2022
Nelson, New Zealand145 contributions67 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment on 6th floor. This was spacious, had a nice balcony and overlooked the lake, Great comfortable bed and very quiet.

The kitchen had plenty of utensils, glasses and cookware. Wifi was good.
Only a short drive to Club Kawana for a meal.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dedicated parking in the basement.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jess Crump, General Manager at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 6 Sept 2022
Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda W wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand157 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stop between Caloundra and mooloolaba 10 mins by car to either of these shopping areas , quiet location by lake , upgraded to larger apartment. Reception excellent with quick checkin . We had apartment 6th floor but all rooms would have a view . Apartments have everything you will need including laundry. Lift access to all floors and free basement parking
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectHotelsStaff, Guest Service Agent at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Thank you Linda, for giving us great feedback from your stay. We are happy to hear you found the location convenient and quiet, the staff efficient and the apartments practical and clean. We hope to welcome you again in the future, with the same great service. Kind Regards- Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa W wrote a review Aug 2021
Brisbane, Australia295 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived before reception closed (as advertised) but unfortunately had closed early due to Covid. Have the on-site manager a call who directed us to a key safe where we got our key and all of the information we need.
Our room was modern, lovely, quiet and overlooked the lake.
Was very relaxing watching the container ships in the distance out to sea & the stingrays, fish & swans that make the lake their home.
It was clean, tidy and well equipped.
Bed was comfortable. Signs were placed in 2nd bathroom and 2nd bedroom due to Covid. We didn’t need to use them.
Unfortunately we couldn’t get the wifi to work, but this didn’t bother us.
We were able to catch an Uber easily to/from Sunshine Coast stadium to watch the football (or an easy 45 min walk according to google).
Sunshine Coast hospital was across the road.
Cafes within walking distance, Shopping centre close by, as well as restaurants and eateries. Night quarter precinct next door to shopping centre, but we didn’t go.
Short drive to the beach.
Will stay here again if staying on the Sunshine Coast
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring an eye mask if your room faces the lake as the sun comes up the bedroom is still bright...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direct Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were promptly assisted with an after hours checkin. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the sunshine coast. Kind regards Jess
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shanae G wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent $130 per night for a box with 2 1foot wide windows, Foxtel didn’t work, a big gross stain on our bedding, thumping footsteps from above and reception phone didn’t work. Our bin was also full from previous people’s rubbish and not emptied. Only good thing was the Air Con. I am sure the standard studio that we were given was not the room I booked as I always check what room selection I have made but this is what we were given anyways. If they really think that little box was worth $130 a night they’re kidding themselves. We stayed our second night at the beautiful Sebel pelican waters for $160 a night with a big balcony, gorgeous views and free breakfast. Absolutely not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direct Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Good Afternoon As advertised on the online travel agent websites our studio rooms are only 28m2 and the photos do show what the room is like and the windows. If you would have liked a room with a balcony and view we recommend you having booked a One Bedroom Apartment. We apologise in regards to the bedding, rubbish and foxtel, if you had advised this during your stay we would have rectified this issues. The phone in the room is for the intercom and not linked through to reception but as stated on our welcome information we are contactable on our office phone number if you did require assistance. Have a nice day. Kind regards Aquarius Kawana Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrissy W wrote a review July 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment on the 7th floor for one night, with secure undercover parking. Lovely view, very clean and modern with everything you needed in the kitchen and laundry. The bed was very comfy, especially as we asked for an extra mattress topper for comfort after a hospital procedure. Definitely would stay again and recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direct Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 13 July 2021
Hi Chrissy, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Direct Hotels Aquarius
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lizzie E wrote a review Dec 2020
Mackay Region, Australia74 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here recently and for $164 dollars a night, I found it on arrival, not worth 164 dollars a night. Boxy, small, you feel like your in a sardine can or a fifo camp wiht no windows to look out.....budget motel... Clean and tidy. Probably only worth $80 dollars a night. Very noisy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Budget but over priced "they don't charge budget prices"
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direct Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 17 Dec 2020
Hi Lizzie We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. As advertised on the websites the studio rooms are 28m2 and includes photos of the rooms with the sizing of the windows and there location in the room. If you would prefer a larger room we recommend booking a one bedroom apartment which offers much more space and a balcony and views over lake kawana. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stewart B wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having read reviews from people relating to other venues, I am always dubious about the authenticity of the writer and the venue. This stay was everything we expected. Great security of public areas including car parking, the room was modern, well equipped and in a clean, contemporary and stylish presentation. Great beds and bedding. Would certainly stay again. Thank you to the staff who made the stay most enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: For budget stays choose a studio - no water views but great for an overnight stay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direct Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Hi Stewart Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StubbyHolder wrote a review Feb 2023
Cairns, Australia174 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 1 night in February 2023. Secured a really good deal through Wotif with a $20 discount so a 2 bedroom apartment was only $175. Check in was quick and parking was easy and secure and free. Apartment was huge and clean - great view to the lake. Close to food and coffee. A really pleasurable stay and without question would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joey Wang, General Manager at Aquarius Kawana
Responded 16 Feb 2023
We are glad to hear you had an excellent stay with us and appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anita D wrote a review Aug 2023
Banbury, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't book the studio because it has very small windows, only one chair and no ability to cook food as there's no hob or oven. There's a microwave but ready meals are either not sold locally or they don't look nice. Spend more om a one bed with a balcony etc.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent!!!

We moved into the Aquarius while our home was being renovated. Unfortunately, dates kept moving and we had to keep extending at short notice.

The office staff were amazing...so lovely, polite and professional and did everything they could to assist us. The room was beautiful and the cleanliness immaculate. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette were awesome. The pool is also lovely, underground & visitor parking great, with options for off street parking as well. The facility security system is also easy to use and modern, where entrance to the foyer area can be granted via a foyer to room intercom. Beds and pillows excellent.

Having relocated from another holiday complex, we also appreciated the fact the facility is new, and front desk occupied 7 days.

Overall, we could not fault the quality of the accommodation and service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Scott wrote a tip Apr 2024
Gold Coast, Australia4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The local shop has Aldi and Coles so you can stock up with a full size fridge in the apartment rooms."
Read full review
Snoopy and Linus wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia14 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a great Thai restaurant in walking distance. Supermarkets a short drive away."
Read full review
LandN449 wrote a tip Sept 2022
Nelson, New Zealand145 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dedicated parking in the basement."
Read full review
world traveller wrote a tip May 2022
Maleny, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book an apartment as they have the balconies"
Read full review
Bj N wrote a tip Jan 2022
Hervey Bay, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel waste of money you will just get dirtiness and the manager isn't interested in fixing the problem says cockroaches flew in from balcony and will die "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Birtinya area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$145 - AU$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastBirtinya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AQUARIUS KAWANA (AU$145): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Birtinya) - Photos of Lodging - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aquarius Kawana
Which popular attractions are close to Aquarius Kawana?
Nearby attractions include iDIDIT! (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aquarius Kawana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Aquarius Kawana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aquarius Kawana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Club Kawana, Wildflower Kitchen, and NahaThai's Street Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquarius Kawana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Aquarius Kawana located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Birtinya.
Are there any historical sites close to Aquarius Kawana?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buderim - Palmwoods Heritage Tramway (10.5 km) and Ballarat (13.1 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars