We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

HolidayInn.comUSD 135*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
 Click to rate
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location doesn't get any better..........right across the street from an event center, with a bar/restaurant on the main level (the bar will always get business no matter how poorly run it is). Our room was just what we needed. The only negative was the extremely loud traffic outside; it's right on a stoplight, so I don't even understand where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brenda d
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi brenda d, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our property's excellent location just across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, a block from the St. Paul Rivercentre, and within easy walking distance of a variety of other St. Paul destinations, attractions, pubs, and restaurants! We're also elated...

Brainerd, Minnesota
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night, we were super happy to get a really early check in time and Juanita at the front desk was very helpful. We were able to get into our room by noon. She even asked if we preferred a certain level. The view from our room was awesome. The beds were very nice and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trs333
About Hotel's Favourite Review
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, trs333! We really appreciate hearing about your stay, and we're elated to hear that you enjoyed exceptional service from our front desk staff, the convenience of our complimentary shuttle service, and the comforts of your guestroom while you were with us! We're also happy to hear that you had an accommodating experience in...

Emporia, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is in an enclave of restaurant, hospitals, new office buildings and the X-Cel music and hockey stadium, So if you are in downtown St Paul you are probably close. First, there is a great little restaurant, The Liffey, named after the river that flows through Dublin. They say the bar and fixtures were salvaged from an Dublin bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Robert D, Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you loved our hotel's excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, and our in-house pub and restaurant, The Liffey! We love its authentic Irish ambiance too, and we're thrilled to hear that you were able to learn all about its story! As it sounds like you've heard, we...

Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We choose this hotel because of the location. We attended the Hall and Oates concert in the X-Cel, right across the street! As the saying goes, you get what you pay for and it was worth it! The Irish Pub on site was very good & our room price included a full breakfast. Mine was worth $14+, my partner choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di L
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Di L, You wish you would have spent more time here? Well come on back! :) We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay complete with a clean and comfortable room, full-service delicious in-house restaurant, and supreme location across the street from the Hall and Oates concert! We'll look forward to seeing you for the next big...

Grand Marais, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is close to the X-Cel center. Has a great Irish pub/eatery located right there. The room was nothing spectacular. It is close to several great places to eat. Make sure you get to Mancini's Steak House! The steaks are incredible but make sure you have reservations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beyondthepavement40
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi beyondthepavement40, Thank you for your review of our property! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property's unbeatable location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, nearby all manner of other Saint Paul destination and attractions, and within two blocks of a wide variety of festive bars and restaurants! We're also happy to hear that you were...

Chetek
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, modern hotel with friendly staff. Great location close to concert and sports at the Xcel, lots of restaurants within walking distance. We have stayed here several times. Love the attached parking garage that fits our oversized pickup truck. Onsite restaurant and lounge is a favorite. Only drawback is the rooms that face the street do get a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LakeCountryMom
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi LakeCountryMom, Thank you for your kind compliments and continued loyalty to our hotel! It's our pleasure to provide a friendly staff, convenient parking, and delicious onsite pub and restaurant each and every visit. The next time you're here, feel free to let us know you'd prefer a room facing the St. Paul Cathedral or otherwise not facing the street....

Roseville, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean, size is small, but ok for being downtown,convenient parking, Keurig in room is a plus, rooms were dimly lit, elevators are slow, nice view from room. Service was decent. A bit pricey. Will visit again for location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravi G
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Ravi G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location, clean rooms, convenient parking, and other various room amenities during your stay! The next time you're with us, let us know of anything we can do to make your stay better, and our friendly...

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Convienient place to stay if your planning a trip to the excel for an event. Rooms are clean, parking is in back for $15 & worth it. Walking distance to almost anything you need. Elevators are painfully slow Pool is tiny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Greg B, Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, and we hope that you had a great time at the concert! We're also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your clean guestroom and the convenient parking right next to our...

Eagle River, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Staff was great, room was spotless, location was perfect, right across the street from the Excel Center, parking was right there at the hotel, was quiet even though it was a night Bob Jovi performer, got our next night booked already!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cakelady27
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you, Cakelady27! We're thrilled to hear that you had a perfect stay, and we hope that you had a great time at the Bon Jovi concert across the street! We'll look forward to your next visit and wish you happy travels until then!

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A Friend has asked me to write this, and he wanted to say that this hotel was a wonderful experience. Great staff, breakfast, room service, and convenience of being not too far from the Excel Energy Center. Although there may have been a few rowdy individuals, or vagrants outside the hotel, that isn't for the hotel to blame. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frosty176
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Frosty176, Thank you and your friend very much! We're delighted to hear that you had a blast and a wonderful experience! These are the things we aim to provide, and we're happy to hear our "great staff" was able to do so! Thank you very much again for your review, and we hope we'll see you both again soon!

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
1.3 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
703 reviews
0.8 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 km away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range: $179 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room opposite a street”
brendad478, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“As I said you can get a gerat view on one side of the hotel but the alternatively the room on the other side may be quieter.”
RobertD330, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“If you're attending an event at the X-Cel, pay the higher price!”
DiL963, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Great Irish Pub- 'Liffey' do visit”
573ravig, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors, 5+ have better views if room on the north”
815maryi, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
USD 135* /night
View Deal
HotelsClickUSD 152
Expedia.comUSD 139
PricelineUSD 135
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates