We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nichols Inn Red Wing

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Nichols Inn Red Wing
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

we were going to a concert at Treasure Island Casino so we only stayed one night. this hotel is just off the main road through Red Wing, very good location, quiet, clean and friendly. very close to bars and restaurants including the Red Wing Brewery. the Brewery has great pizza & beers. I would stay here again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james c
justin h, Public Relations Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Jamec C, We are so happy that you liked your room and the hotels location. We have some very good restaurants within walking distance. Hope to see you soon. Like us on facebook to get sent special offers.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Red Wing for a show and decided to stay over due to bad weather. When we pulled in and saw only 2 other cars we got nervous. The hotel itself is relatively clean but pretty dated. The arm chair in our room was stained and faded. Scuffed desk and dresser. No closet but rather an ironing board...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NallyA
justin h, Public Relations Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

NallyA, We are sorry you did not like your room. We really wish you had said something to us when you arrived so that we could have put you in a different room. Our goal is to make you happy. We do have new mattresses, so they may feel a bit on the firm side. As you mentioned, we are...

Caledonia, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 October 2016

A little dated but staff is friendly and eager to help with whatever you need. The hotel was completely booked but they kept up very well with breakfast items. Would definitely consider staying there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 57sa
Da UP of Michigan
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This was our first stay here. The place is visible right off the main road thru Red Wing, but no signs indicating where exactly to turn, to get to it. Check in was quick. Our room, 104 had a king size bed, fridge, and 32" flat screen tv. It was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was great, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnsdi
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

John, So glad you liked you room and accommodations. While we are visible from Hwy 61, it is best to access the property from "Old West Main Street" which runs parallel. If you need an address to plug into your GPS use "1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing MN 55066" We will see you soon. Thanks

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed Sat 8/20. $118.56 for double bed room. Friends stayed 4ppl to room we stayed 2ppl; so price would vary per person. Front desk check in was easy and quick. We had booked 3wks prior to concert since Treasure Island was sold out. Room is small but has everything necessary for an overnight stay where much time isn't spent in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikkiA179
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

If you cannot stay at Treasure Island Casino for the concert, we are a great second option. We also have a second location in Hastings MN which is about the same distance to the casino (for future events that you may enjoy). Thank you

Onawa, Ia
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We spent one night there. We enjoyed our stay there. Front desk clerks were all very nice and helpful. It is located close to the Mississippi River. A casino is located about 7 miles from the motel. We would definitely stay here again if ever in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marge22
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Marge22, Thank you for your business. We are located a short drive to Treasure Island Casino which makes us a great alternate destination when there are concerts at their event center. We hope you come back to the area and thank you for staying at the Nichols Inn of Red Wing

Tulsa
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I asked for a handicap room when I made the reservation and I got the last room AND the last handicap room. Turns out the summer is the high season in Red Wing - I've always gone to visit family so didn't know. The room was wonderful! It was on the second floor and the hallway to the two handicap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Mike F, We appreciate your business and the kind review. The room you were in was a handicap accessible suite. I will look into the AC not working in the kitchen. There is an AC unit in the room that is large enough to accommodate the entire space so I hope you were comfortable. Thank you and we hope to...

South Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We go here every year and at one point it was going downhill a little but our most recent visit was great!!! The staff, rooms and breakfast were perfect. All of this helps to make our yearly visit at Red Wing a most pleasant one. Thank you as we will be looking forward to seeing you again next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiawahgirl
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Great review!! We are always working on creating a great guest experience. Hope your reservation is made for next year. Thank you

Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The Nichols Inn called us to confirm our reservation a few days ahead of time. Good thing they did, as they had us down for the wrong night. We called back and explained the situation. They apologized and confirmed it was an error on their end, and due to the situation, got us booked on the correct night with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TandomRaveler
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. So pleased that you liked the upgraded room. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in Red Wing. Go to nicholsinn.com to make reservations online. It is quick and convenient.

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed at the Nichols Inn for 2 nights.Someone attempted to steal our bicycles from our car rack the first night while parked in the hotel parking lot. Luckily we had a thick cable on but one bike had been dragged to the ground and its brake was out of alignment. We were told that they would review their video...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vcm1
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

vcm1, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We rarely have any issues regarding guests and their personal property as we are in a safe neighborhood. The doors are designed to be self closing when released from an open position. We have checked and adjusted doors since your visit. Thank you for your business

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
1.5 km away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
284 reviews
4.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.0 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.7 km away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
289 reviews
24.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nichols Inn of Red Wing is a family owned hotel servicing the Red Wing area. Our property is one of the best values in the town. We provide free WiFi and a daily complimentary continental breakfast. The building is the quietest in Red Wing due to soundproofing and concrete construction. We offer group blocks and have long term rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nichols Inn Red Wing

Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Price Range: $104 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nichols Inn Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nichols Inn Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Inn Red Wing Hotel Red Wing
Nichols Hotel Red Wing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nichols Inn Red Wing staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Neenah, Wisconsin
Windom, Minnesota
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Nichols Inn Red Wing staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were on the third(top) floor, fair view.”
 of 5 bubbles 209jamesc, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 204 - i think they called it a suite because of the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeF280, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a first floor room looking out at the parking lot, and it was very quiet. However, it seemed to be a slow weekend”
 of 5 bubbles mona_sydd_yma, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor ,very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles WSR2013, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Excellent for the price! Comfortable, clean,clean.clean,quite!”
 of 5 bubbles 88Sindy, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay