We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Downtown Duluth Inn

Hotwire.comUSD 93*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 102*
USD 93*
USD 102*
USD 102*
USD 93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Downtown Duluth Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 347: English reviews
Start your review of The Downtown Duluth Inn
 Click to rate
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for the event we were going to. Room was clean!! Parking can be a little tight...we got the last parking spot. Make sure your house cleaners take a look at the mirror on the door...lots of finger prints on it (nothing we couldn't live with)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U9362UUbrians
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate you, and that you were happy with the accommodations we provided. Although I do want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the parking. Our parking can be kind of tight. But we...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not on canal park, but only 0.4 miles away. Closer to great shops like Legacy Glass and some of the best restaurants and clubs in Duluth than you would be if you stayed at any of the expensive tourist favorites on the canal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Steve we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Duluth truly is a beautiful place to visit and we hope you keep us in mind if you ever decide to visit again. Thank you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the location. Perfect for visiting Canal Park and UMD. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room had problems - continuously running faucet, broken dead bolt, burnt out lightbulbs, broken towel rack. Breakfast was just ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jud253
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you were disappointed and we were not able to provide you with a great experience with your stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the hotel. We will look into this and hopefully you will give us another...

Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The picture you see above describing your room is not a true and accurate representation of your actual room. it's really about half the size of what you think you're seeing in the picture. Huge brown stains on the mattress (of who knows what). Broken metal lock-latch on the door where someone clearly kicked it in. Nasty mildew smell every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christeen O
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Christeen we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and offer my apologies for any discomfort or dissatisfaction we caused. Thank you

Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly probably one of the worst stays of my life, was woken up at 4am buy the washer and dryer and was awake until 6am because of it. When we checked out I was charged twice for the stay, wasn't asked how I wanted to pay. The door we had to swipe our key twice befor it would open. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley L
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The photos posted are very misleading. Upon are arrival I was very disappointed. I knew it was a lower budget hotel but c'mon. The guy that checked us in was great, super friendly. We stayed in room 123 and pretty sure it was half a room compared to the rest of the rooms at the hotel. There was no mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank countrygirlxo17
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Nice location, easy in , easy out. Third time staying at this hotel. First two were outstanding, this trip left a lot to be desired. Fan in bathroom went off every 5 minutes, no wash cloths in bathroom, breakfast wasn't as good as the last stays. Ice was great, and shower was very good. Room was clean, but no refrigerator...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhbennett5715
Warroad, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 April 2017

When booking online I rely on the photos and other reviews. The photos of their rooms are very misleading and inaccurate of what they provide. The staff tried to be accommodating and changed our room once. It didn't smell as bad but was much smaller and still not appealing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 747sybilb
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We booked this hotel to treat my parents to a night in Duluth. It wasn't a treat. The rooms hadn't been cleaned and the front desk clerk admitted they didn't have "housekeeping" that day so they weren't cleaned.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
Ironwood, Michigan
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The only thing going for this hotel is that it's within walking distance (6 blocks) of Essentia Health Clinic and Hospital. That being said, it's located in the seedy side of town. The rooms are old with water stains along the ceiling, chair seat cushions falling apart, and don't forget your screwdriver to fix that clothes hanger on the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalcottagecr2017
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear Crystal, We have received your comments and are truly sorry that you experienced a problem during your stay with us. We make every effort to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay. Thank you for taking the time to point these items out to us. Please accept out apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. I hope these issues...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
4.7 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.7 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 km away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $112 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Downtown Duluth Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just avoid it all together”
christeeno, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“If you stay here DO NOT stay in room 123. It is half the size of any of the other rooms.”
countrygirlxo17, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the laundry and see if their wireless internet is working.”
Teejaaa, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“IF you must stay here, ask for a room that doesn't smell!!!”
466kathryng, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Loved being able to park right outside the room. Very convenient.”
anitalubrock4556, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 93* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 102
TravelocityUSD 93
Orbitz.comUSD 93
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates