We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 420: English reviews
Start your review of Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
 Click to rate
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to see a concert and spend some time for a girls weekend get-away. There was an error with our room that was 100% my fault, but the front desk agent was fantastic and managed to find us a room in the older section of the hotel. The room was near the pool on the interior part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GitchSup
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place a good for a nice cheap lunch, apparently everyone here knows it and it's packed. Long lines, slow service and smokey rooms. Not much of a casino fan but this is a nice drive up northern Minnesota.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vi S
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The first thing I noticed at Black Bear was the smell of cigarette smoke just walking through the front doors. I don't stay at casinos usually so maybe this is typical. I'm not a smoker so I did not like this. Our hotel room was clean and spacious. The card keys failed twice so after going to the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
Bemidji,MN
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed in a suite with 2 beds and a couch. We reserved a suite so we had to stay in the old part of the hotel wich meant the room needed new carpet. The wifi in our room was very poor. I called the front desk to ask where I should go for a better signal but the gentleman...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickey915
ELKO, MN
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Stayed here in December. We love this place as far as the casino and restaurant. The pool area is a little dark and dingy but the kids didn't mind. The room was pretty bad. The carpet had stains all over that we started giving each spot a name. I wouldn't touch that carpet with my bear feet or even socks....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank unteymed
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I had so much fun! The casino is awesome...the breakfast buffet is unbelievable....so many different varieties! The only thing was the toilet was a little dirty in our room. But everyone has off days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuiteTravels
Management response:

Hello, and thank you for the feedback. We're glad that you had a nice time, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We have a baby shower in Duluth so my Mom, sisters and I decide to take advantage of the time away to spend the weekend in the area. Mom chose Black Bear because she has been here before and could get a free room. Strike 1: I've always said "nothing is free" and my point was proven. As we check...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jean9216
Management response:

Hello Jean, We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with us. We are currently in the process of purchasing new lobby furniture, which we are very excited about. We also have refrigerators and microwaves available upon request at the Front Desk for your convenience. If you are staying here and playing here, we will make sure that you...

Silver Bay, Mn
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Our room is always so clean. We love the glass tile in the bathrooms and the beds are so comfortable. This last time there were many new slot machines. We did find a few we really enjoyed and will try again next time, but still have a place for the old ones like Zeus II. Prices seem to be going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Management response:

Hello Gary, Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice time, and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Just spent 3 days at christmas with family enjoyed free rooms and food Won money even Then comes january no free rooms on weekends only do weekends one buffet was going to book weekend in jan. rooms are priced to demand since travelling from canada another 45 min. to hinckley for free room is no big deal which we did

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank judytienhaara
Management response:

Hello Judy, We are disappointed to hear that we lost your business. These changes were made with our guests in mind, and comps are simply based off of your current gaming activity. In turn, we have added new activities such as: The Dr. Rock Variety Show in the Cobalt on Thursdays, and new promotions such as: Match for Cash, Cruise...

Cloquet, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I have stayed here many times, always in the Tower. I found the rooms to be very clean and quiet. I was surprised that the TV's seem a bit small considering the size of the room and the fact there is not an ice machine on every floor. They have a great breakfast buffet, although starting January 1st the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherryprovine
Management response:

Hello Sherry, thank you for the compliments regarding your room cleanliness (we work very hard to provide you with the best stay). We appreciate your notes on the television size and the ice machine locations as well, as it is important to that we hear these complaints so we can take them into consideration. Regarding the buffet, please note that...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
31.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
467 reviews
28.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
348 reviews
29.0 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
20.7 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Price Range: $60 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 408
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Northern MN
over a year ago
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book only the newer side of the hotel with outside windows.”
GitchSup, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the tower it's newer”
mickey915, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Reserve a room that has been remodeled.”
unteymed, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pool rooms noisy”
judytienhaara, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Tower rooms are best, ask for a floor that has an ice machine”
sherryprovine, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5