We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Booking.comUSD 166*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 181*
USD 166*
USD 181*
USD 166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Consistently a quality room and staff. Stayed on top floor. Hotel was quiet although it was busy. Breakfast was standard and nothing special but it is exactly as advertised. Will continue to stay here for visits to GR.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Y
Oden, Michigan
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Very noisy very rude staff the night we were there. Heat didn't work. We had to leave for a family emergency and they couldn't offer us a free night on another day. There are hamptons all over Michigan way better.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7686VUmichaelg
Matthew W, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for staying at our newly renovated Hampton Inn. I am sorry to hear about your family emergency. Unfortunately we have limited supply of king rooms with a whirlpool and we were sold out of them for that night. Because it was around 8:00PM when you checked out we did not have anyone here to clean the...

Canton, United States
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Came with 12 families for son's hockey tournament and within 8 hours of us all checking out of the hotel 18 people fell sick with the flu/stomach bug. This wasn't going around at the tournament. The hotel is newly remodeled and may look nice, neat, modernized and organized, but I'd say they don't do anything to sanitize anything to kill...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 152tonir
Matthew W, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

I want to thank you for staying at our newly renovated Hampton Inn! I am sorry to hear that your team came down sick. The flu has definitely been going around everywhere especially when kids are in close contact with each other. Everyday our housekeepers clean and sanitize all the dirty rooms and public areas of the hotel. Our breakfast...

Big Rapids, MI, United States
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Love it every tome we stay at Hampton Inn. Clean, HighValue, Nice accommodations and great breakfast and friendly staff! The recent updates are wonderful! The in room Hot Tub and King bed are just delightful. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again when visiting Grand Rapids for Concerts or other events! Just a 5 minute drive to...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
JarrettMilne, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Gregg S, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your most recent trip to our property on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our recent renovations to your liking. I will be passing along your wonderful comments to our other team members. We're...

East Tawas
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Very nice hotel; clean and professional and efficient staff. Nicely decorated and comfortable. Easily accessible for my son in a wheelchair as well. Once the external updates are done, it will be a beautiful hotel. Even with the construction, it was a relaxing and fun stay. Even though we faced the expressway, we could not hear noise from the road.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
Utica
Reviewed 4 March 2017

When we are traveling for sports it is important to have hotel close to the venue. Clean, remodeled, and centrally located. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and food in the morning is fresh and healthy

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8115ADscottw
JarrettMilne, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear V8115ADscottw, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at our property on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be passing along your wonderful comments to our other team members and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Very nice hotel, location in relevance to shopping, grocery, along with places to eat is wonderful! Only complaint would be that the pool was really cold. Rooms were clean and the hotel staff was very nice

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee K
JarrettMilne, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Kaycee K, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate feedback, both the good and the bad. I'm glad to see that the majority of your stay was excellent. I do apologize about our pool not being quite up to temperature as it normally is....

Dearborn, United States
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Our team stayed in the hotel. It was nice. The room was clean. The waffles in the breakfast were very good. The hotel was clean. It did get crowded in the breakfast area room. Overall, it was a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwarda383
JarrettMilne, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear edwarda383, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very glad to see, overall, you quite enjoyed your experience and stay with us. I will be passing along your kind words to both our housekeeping staff and breakfast staff regarding your comments about the room and...

Chicago, United States
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Pool was unusable due to strong fumes that caused coughing and eyes to sting. Hotel staff did not fix problem after we reported it and we could not use pool for rest of stay. Children very disappointed. Every morning the hotel ran out of hot water and some evenings. Drawers for only 1 person! The breakfast buffet was the only...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E9716SOpeterb
JarrettMilne, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear E9716SOpeterb, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We appreciate guest feedback, both good and bad. I sincerely apologize your experience during your stay with us. I'm sorry we could not follow through with checking on the condition of the pool room. Regarding the hot water, we have been having problems for a few...

Warren, Michigan
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Check in was fast and the hotel staff was very friendly. The room was very nice and clean. Breakfast buffet was excellent and this location has plenty of free parking. When I forgot my email password and had no way to reset it. Jarrett went above and beyond to help me get a letter printed that I had to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DetroitGuy1962
JarrettMilne, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

DetroitGuy1962, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the breakfast offerings we had during your stay. I'll be passing along the kind words to our other staff members. And, it was my pleasure to help you out during your stay to get all your...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
3.2 km away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
5.3 km away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
13.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
136 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 49 in Grand Rapids
168 reviews
11.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Address: 755 54th St SW, Wyoming, MI 49509-9723
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Price Range: $194 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming
Hampton Inn Wyoming
Wyoming Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a room on the top floor.”
360matthewy, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
MichiganDad2, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“odd number rooms are away from freeway”
Helix88, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Low floors are quiet enough.”
tomcL1591JT, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want to sleep on a Sunday morning do not book a room on the first floor, maids are loud in the hallway.”
londongirl20, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 166* /night
View Deal
Hampton.com
TravelocityUSD 166
TripAdvisorUSD 166
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates