We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn By the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Henderson
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Room was clean but could not cool it down ac just didnot want to work right.For what they charged was not worth the money Breakfast was not great seen and had better at cheaper hotels would not stay again unless only place with room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are sorry you had a disappointing experience during your stay. I wonder if you had a chance to let the front desk know about the A/C not working properly in your room. We are sorry you felt the the price of lodging was not worth your stay. We are confident to say that our rates are...

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived on July 30, 2013 for a 2 night stay. We were satisfied with the check in. The room we were sold, 136 I believe, is right next to an access door to the interior, which slammed night and day. There was a lot of rust on the bathroom fixtures and the metal nightstand supports. This room needs a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fritomann
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. We are sorry you had to deal with the unsatisfactory location of your room next to a main entry way to the hotel. I'm not sure if you had the chance to bring this matter to our attention during your stay, but if we had another...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the third time. We had a good stay again. The hotel was near to capacity. Room was clean and quiet. The free continental breakfast is meager compared to other places but is enough for us. The only problem we had with this hotel this time was turning left out of the parking lot. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Summer5
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for always considering our hotel as your choice for lodging for the third time. We cannot convey how much we appreciate your business considering the many options of hotels in this area. We can agree that it does become a challenge trying to make a left turn out of our hotel onto the main road....

Reviewed 8 August 2013

When arriving for a corporate booked week my room was so dirty that I took a wash cloth down to the front desk to show them from wiping down my headboard and bathtub. The long hair kid at the desk said " oh ok. " Yep that's it. And the breakfast is terrible. Different day same kid was setting up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spctsgirl
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Allow me to begin by apologizing for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. I am confident to state that our housekeeping team does a great job maintaining each rooms but I'm sorry we fell short on your room. No excuse for dirt and hair you discovered. Thank you for bringing to our attention...

Ohio
Reviewed 6 August 2013

In defense of this motel, my brother's family and my family stayed in 2 rooms during the Traverse City Film Festival, and it's possible that the rates were extra high due to the demand for lodging. We used my brother's corporate discount, and I still think the rate was too high for this particular property. The room was very average....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Couscous4
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Many guest feel the prices of lodging is high during this time of the year and we are confident to state that we have very competitive pricing in comparison to other hotels in the area. Cherry Festival and Film Festival is the area's highest peak...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is not among the best Quality Inns we have stayed. The room we got had no refrigerator and no closet. The room was clean and the beds OK. The soundproofing between rooms was weak and given the size of the hotel the breakfast room size miniscule . The food itself was reasonable but the pressure to relinquish the seat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martinezcm
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you fro sharing your thoughts and feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry you felt this experience was not what you expected with Quality Inns. We are excited to announce that we are in the midst of major rennovation to provide and bigger and better breakfast area so that our guest will have the utlimate experience...

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was worried about staying here because I read some of the bad reviews. My experience was positive. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was OK. The only thing that wasn't positive is that when using the shower, if any of the surrounding rooms flushed the toilet, you would get a burst of really hot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alexr79
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a chance with us. We truly hope you enjoyed your stay and would like to see you again soon. I'm not certain if you had the opportunity to address the water temperature issue with our staff, but please remember in the future to let us know of any concerns you may have so...

Defiance, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were passing thru the area and needed a place to stay. As we are Choice Hotel members, we always look for one of their properties. This one was highly disapointing and WAY overpriced. Our first room was right next to the pool. The pool and the area outside was full of screaming kids. The front desk was very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobfromohio_13
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Thank you for acknowledging our attempts to rectify the situation regarding your first room being next to a loud pool area. Even though we made an attempt to move you to different room, it can be challenging to control people's behaviors in a public setting,...

Napoleon, Michigan
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Bed spreads had rips in them. The room smelled like an ashtray and the bathroom was so small, you had no room to change clothes if you wanted...you barely had room to sit on the toilet. The breakfast area/ lobby was extremely small. There was no room to sit or stand if it was busy at all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vpratt
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feed back with us regarding your recent stay. On behalf of our hotel and our team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I wished you had the opportunity to bring your concerns to our attention while you were at the hotel. We would have made every effort to...

Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We've stayed at the Quality Inn By the Bay twice for 3 nights each time. The criticism that this motel is not "By the Bay" is essentially a semantic quibble in my opinion,y it is "By the Bay", but not "On the Bay". It is conveniently located to downtown Traverse City, the few public access points to Grand Traverse Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ml W
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We know that the title "By The Bay" can be confusing. We wish we were on the bay with a beautiful view, but nontheless, we are accross the street from the bay but only a block away walking distance from beach...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
109 reviews
0.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
458 reviews
1.3 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
747 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $81 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Center, Michigan
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a in room Jacuzzi room, fo sho!”
 of 5 bubbles stoneph, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles E7798EAgregg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Easy unloading on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles J3126PRkarend, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“when leaving, turn right and go to a traffic light. less headache or possible accident”
 of 5 bubbles shrewdgrud, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“The upper floors is quieter, but the first floor has doo rs to each room with direct access to the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles chasf64, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5