We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn By the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Room was dirty, housekeeper did not refill coffee, cups, ect. You could see outside in between frame and door to room on outside of hotel Mold on shower curtain and in tub. Mold around hot tub and pool. Key did not work ninety nine percent of the time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinzames
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I booked the room on expedia. I need to stop doing that for so many reasons. I didn't have problems checking in or anything, you are just locked in and the hotel itself can't do much for you if you decide you want something else, need to cancel, etc. I called before we left and spoke with the manager because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry you had trouble with booking your reservation on line. It does become confusing when reservations are made on line through a third party site. All of the details a not clearly disclosed. Your feedback is very important to us. We continually...

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

The room was clean and the staff were very nice. Breakfast was good but they needed more staff help. Guests had to wait for sausage and eggs then complained it was cold. I only wish the rooms had refrigerators. But overall a nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billie D
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and rely on our guest’s feedback to make any changes needed to provide an enjoyable experience for each of our...

Rockford, Michigan
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We got to the city around noon. Check in wasn't supposed to be till 4PM. We checked at the desk and they said they could check us in, our room was ready. The rooms were a good size with two side chairs and a table for lounging. All the amenities were provided. Coffee pot iron and hair drier. Three pillows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chasf64
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! We...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We were in Traverse City in the summer when many events were going on, so lodging was not easy to find, & also quite expensive. We had been spending time in other areas of the state, including Torch Lake, & it was a spur of the moment decision to spend some time in Traverse City. We had two rooms, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank illegallyblonde2
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! We...

Crossville, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Vert nice staff. Room was cozy. Beds were great. Top floor, no noise. Close to beach state park. Good breakfast including eggs and sausage. I would stay again. Quiet. Secure parking lot well lit.Inside corridors on 2nd and 3rd floors.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juansalon
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! We...

Merced, California
Reviewed 16 September 2015

An older motel but clean and quiet. It is pet friendly which is a plus for us. Very nice walking/ bike trail very close. Staff very friendly and goes out of their way to help. Close to many places to eat and nice Park off the water. Close to the airport also. Nice hot breakfast until 10:00 am. Which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiahrt
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are very proud to know you enjoyed your entire stay from start to finish. We are happy to know you enjoyed our hotel, it's staff and the amenities we offer along with being pet friendly. We hope to see you again soon. Thank You! Ray M....

Brighton, Michigan
Reviewed 12 September 2015

There is no doubt that all hotels in the Traverse City area charge a premium during the summer months. However, the price for the Quality Inn seemed to be over the top....higher than many nearby competitors, for an old property in need of quite a bit of TLC. The rooms and furnishings are old (probably original to the building...they appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback. We thank you for acknowleding how well our staff performed during your stay. However, we are very sorry you felt the quality of the hotel and it's amenities did not match the value of what you paid for. Please rest assured that we do constant updates and renovations...

Reviewed 9 September 2015

The front desk clerk was friendly. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and overall the place was quiet. The only complaint I might have made is that the towels are a bit thin. Breakfast was pretty good, although my gluten free son had limited options (he would have appreciated a gluten free cereal option which should be easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bellsoberon
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Vakued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff. We are sorry that we didn't have an option for your son's gluten free diet. Thank you for bringing that opportunity to our attention. We will make an effort to see...

Clifford
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I was a little apprehensive when looking at the outside of this property but I was surprised at the comfort of the beds. It was the first time in ages that I woke up without pain in my lower back. Room was very clean and I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mamajocham
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you took a chance on us and was satisfied with our service and amentities. We are happy to know you found the beds comfortable and woke up pain free in your lower back. I have the same problem and I know how...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
456 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
105 reviews
1.3 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
745 reviews
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
0.2 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $76 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Center, Michigan
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a in room Jacuzzi room, fo sho!”
 of 5 bubbles stoneph, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles E7798EAgregg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Easy unloading on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles J3126PRkarend, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“when leaving, turn right and go to a traffic light. less headache or possible accident”
 of 5 bubbles shrewdgrud, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“The upper floors is quieter, but the first floor has doo rs to each room with direct access to the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles chasf64, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5