We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

While I would likely stay at the Traverse City Econo Lodge again, it would only be because of the price. This motel is generally comfortable, but it is dated - needs remodeling and minor repairs. The staff were friendly and helpful while the breakfast provided was very limited. Overall not a negative stay, just not indulged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAAdale
TCEcono, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are currently in the planning process for major room updates which we will begin implementing once the summer season has passed. We hope you will be back to see the changes!

Venice
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We had two rooms for two nights in June. Rooms were clean, non smoking rooms still a bit musty. Beds were not comfortable at all. We left our dirty towels on the floor to be replaced but after the room was made up the dirty ones remained and no clean ones. We paid 63.00 a nite and were lucky to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Venetianblond627
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you in the future. We are sorry that you had issues with housekeeping -- rest assured, this has been addressed. We have replaced all of our beds over the last couple of years and are sorry to hear that the...

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I'm pretty tolerant when it comes to motels. However, the toilet almost didn't flush and the AC would stay on for more than 30 seconds before it quit cooler - but the fan kept running. Didn't realize it until about midnight when I woke up hot. Mentioned it in the morning to desk clerk and didn't get much of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very expensive for the type of room you will receive. I did not expect too much being a lodge and one of the least expensive places in Traverse City but your curtain should be working to shut at night. The faucet should not be dripping and all the light fixtures should be working. The bathroom lighting was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about staying here based on the poor reviews but was pleasantly surprised. The desk clerk and her trainee were friendly. Check in took a little long but I understood because they were training. No problem. My room was clean and comfortable. The Internet was acceptable as I was able to stream a movie. I slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TruckDriverJen
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide our guests with great customer service and a clean, comfortable room at an affordable rate. It is great to know that you found this to be the case. Thank you for your patience while we were...

Stanton, Michigan
Reviewed 5 January 2016

My husband and I have been coming to this motel 2 - 3 times a year for 2-3 day stay for 3 to 4 years. We have had good experiences but this last time almost ruined my time in Traverse City. We bring our small dog and we pay for him $10.00 a day. The first morning we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vickie P
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Welcome back to the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry and surprised to hear that you had a bad experience with our front desk person. The person in question normally receives glowing reviews for friendliness. This has been addressed and she apologizes for allowing some personal issues to effect her performance. While we discourage leaving dogs in the room...

Roseville, Michigan
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I stayed 2 nights with my young daughter. The main reason for booking room here was the pool so my daughter would be entertained. The first night we did go to pool and the spa had a thick bubbly scum on it. not just a little bit, but at least an inch or more thick. The pool water was cloudy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cac684
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Apparently someone decided to add bubblebath to the water, which causes an unbalance in the chemicals. The waffle iron is cleaned multiple times a day.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The woman working the front desk was unfriendly and charged my card before I even walked in the door. Room reeked of smoke. The hotel was dirty and in disrepair. Spend the extra money for a better hotel! TRUST ME!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer S
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with our policy, but it is our policy to run credit cards the morning of arrival (many places now charge at the time reservations are made). Guests may change their method of payment at check in. Most guests find this to be very helpful and it speeds up the check in process. We...

Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We could not decide either to stay in the city or not but it's difficult to find an accommodation with a pet. We had two queen beds in our first floor room. The room is kinda smell, some stains on the carpet. It's an old hotel with old beds but it's ok for an overnight stay. Jets pizza, wallgreen, Chinese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyShorty P
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We were pleased to have you and your puppy as our guests and hope to see you in the future. Our high volume of traffic does sometimes make in difficult to get into rooms to shampoo he carpets although with things slowing down a little, our maintenance man has been sneaking...

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Worn out and dirty fleabag hotel, in desperate need of a makeover....... Beds were old, base of bed was so broken they had to call someone in to fix it, tub was dirty from weak scrubbing, torn wallpaper, strange smells, green pool, filthy carpet. desperately trying to find something good to say except stay away...... Okay girl at front counter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichHaynes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your two night stay. Although maintenance was called in at the guest's request for the bed, the only thing found wrong was caused by bouncing children. The beds themselves in this room were replaced just over a year ago. We will be replacing more beds in the upcoming months as...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
12.1 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
199 reviews
12.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
114 reviews
6.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
752 reviews
12.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
459 reviews
11.6 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $69 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for second floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanda1973, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles MrWizard54, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking for vacation, this is not it. We left and were not sorry.”
 of 5 bubbles EJJourney, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a first floor room if you have mobility issues. No elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles JaniceG254, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pet Friendly, Large Vehicle Area, out of town but next to some food/gas.”
 of 5 bubbles harvshoney, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5