We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island View Cottages

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Island View Cottages
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of Island View Cottages
 Click to rate
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Wonderful proximity to downtown and private beach. All the cottages are different and unique which is fun. The kitchen was fully loaded and ready to home cook meals for the whole family. BBQ's are scattered around the property to use and bonfires on the beach. No way any hotel can beat the grounds and experience. Will continue to stay here...

1Thank Scott R
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Island View Cottages is a great vacation spot on West Grand Traverse Bay! Our cottage was just what we needed. It had a full kitchen, comfortable bed and was just a short walk to the beach. All the linens were provided. The cottages are at the base of Old Mission Peninsula and less than a mile to downtown Traverse City,...

1Thank D8866VLsm
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed this place! Very private spot tucked away on West Bay. It took us about 7-8 mins to walk along the bay to the beginning of downtown. Our cottage was very cozy & clean and the beach for great. Price was very reasonable for the location. Bon fires on the beach with a view of the sunset was...

1Thank bmac2323
S.W. suburbs
Reviewed 17 December 2016

When we drove up initially, the first thing we saw was the line of 15 or so overflowing trash cans on the left hand side leading up the drive to the office. My husband was not impressed. We found that it had a nice private beach, although it could use a good combing for cigarette butts, rocks, and other clutter....

Thank buzymomS_W_suburbs
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I remember you. You were the lady that complained about everything . Four months after you stayed here you are still complaining. You did not like the mattress, although it was less than one year old. I purchased a brand new one and replaced it while you were here. You did not like the bedding...

Moraga, California
Reviewed 15 December 2016

On beach otherwise like home. Very comfortable unassuming atmosphere. 3BR, fireplace, full kitchen to cook BF. Staff very helpful. Can walk to downtown which has great restaurants, brewrey, etc. Or can go for a run or jump in car and visit wineries on Old Mission Peninsula. Planning to come back in summer when available date opens up.

1Thank elektricmn
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We visited Traverse City a few weeks ago. Our friends had told us about Island View Cottages, so we decided to stay there. The location is so excellent, walking distance to downtown and many restaurants. The cottages are rustic but they are very clean and have all the conveniences of a big chain hotel. In fact, the owner of the...

Thank Christina R
Rogers City, Michigan
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Could be, should be a wonderful property, good location, waterfront, and cute retro cabins. BUT very dirty, rundown. Please put some effort into to cleaning and updates can't imagine it passes health codes to be honest.

1Thank abasel2001
Lexington, Michigan
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Good Location and nice beach(Thats It !) Hard to find, Rundown, Dated, Unkept, Dirty, Over grown tree's and landscaping, Great view of the back of the empty motel next door and row of trash cans, Overpriced !! I could not believe we were in downtown Traverse city.

1Thank michae148054
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

We do not have any control over the motel that borders Island View Cottages. We don't have trash cans we have totes that are provided by American Waste. if you had any issues with anything, anything at all, you should have let us know when you were here. We would have made sure any issues you had were properly addressed...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Celebrated my friend's 50th birthday party. We rented the Beach House which was right on the bay. The owner Bill was very informative, friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations on what to see and where to eat. Our place was very clean and had everything we needed for a 4 night stay. There was even a nice little fire pit...

Thank Lisa D
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again on your next birthday. Bill

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We had out annual family trip to Traverse City. We have been staying here for years now. The cabins are small and cute. We get the use of the sandy beach and walking distance to downtown. We will be back next year!

Thank ahoulihan

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Room/Suite (1)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Room/Suite (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
View from Room (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.1 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
508 reviews
1.3 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.9 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island View Cottages is a family owned and operated resort on West Grand Traverse Bay. We are located less than 1 mile from downtown Traverse City, a short 10-15 minute walk. IVC has 132 feet of private sandy beach frontage with boat, jet ski, SUP boards available to rent just down the beach. We have 12 rentals available which include 9 cottages and 3 large houses that sleep up to 10 people. Summer rentals run from May through the end of October. This rustic hideaway is one of the few left in Traverse City! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island View Cottages

Address: 853 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2775
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island View Cottages staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Island View Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another place to stay.”
buzymomS_W_suburbs, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I heard that this hotel are booked solid especially in the summer. So plan early! We will!”
christinarR9764NN, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any cottage for a small group and any of three houses for a larger group”
M4210KJannem, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The Beach House is awesome!”
TedDRondeau, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The property is located on a very busy street, but most units appear to be positioned far enough that noise shouldn't be a problem. Our unit was very quiet. I would recommend being as close to the water as possible.”
DavePortland, 6 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5