We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Great customer service by the hotel staff. Prompt when needed.Very accomidating with brand new rooms with new beds and all new furnishings. Under construction at this time but still very clean and cozy for a hotel doing major renovations. Convientely located near affordable shopping and dining. Will definitely be staying again when we return to Michigan.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dflynn0985
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We are also glad that our staff provided you with quality service. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Got to the hotel a bit late. When I got there, the reclining chair seemed broken. The manager tried to get me another chair but after we went to several rooms and found other broken chairs in worse situation, I decided to keep that one which was a little bit broken. I was very tired and the last thing I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Virgilio V
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed having a kitchen in the room and the Grab-N-Go Breakfast. Please accept our apologies for the state of the recliner, please know that all of our rooms have recently been renovated and each room now has a brand new recliner. Thank...

Reviewed 22 October 2014

I enjoyed my stay michael was so nice. he was extremely helpful and so funny. He attended to my every need while i was there. I was sad no more days was available for sweeties day weekend. I was so comfortable in that room and wanted to stay more days.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angel N
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you had such a comfortable stay with us. I am proud of my staff for providing me with such helpful and accommodating service. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the...

Chandigarh, India
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I stayed in Extended Stay hotel in 2008 when I had to travel to US for my business trip. I stayed there for about a month. Best part was that I had to pay only$10 a day as I stayed more than a month thus I was able to save quite a lot over a time. Room was nice, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pari1905
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and quiet. As well, I'm happy that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to...

Mackinac Island, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Good check-in, very friendly and courteous. However, there was only one cup in the room at check-in. And, although there is a refrigerator, there was no ice in the freezer. And, the hotel does not have an ice maker. I need a drink! Staff was very prompt and pleasant regarding the cup and apologetic regarding the lack of ice. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom L
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you encountered regarding ice and kitchen supplies. We are sorry for these issues, but are happy to read that we provided you with a pleasant stay. Thank you...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I read some pretty scary reviews here before we arrived so I was fearing for the worst. I was relieved once we saw the hotel that it wasn't as bad as the reviews make it out to be. We booked very last minute using Hotwire. Arrived at the hotel around 9:30pm on a Saturday night and was checked in by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellerGal
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi and your clean room; however, we are disappointed to hear that you were not notified of our customizable kitchen packs and that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. We store our kitchenware in a clean, sterile...

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stay here only if you want an outdated movie guide, a room that's been heavily smoked in, a broken coffee maker, no toiletries, no hair dryer, no do not disturb signs, no cleaning service, cigarette burns on counters, front desk staff that can't tell you how to fix your tv, staff that can't tell you why they are wearing a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracie U
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Tracie - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. This is a non-smoking hotel and housekeeping is offered once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. We are very sorry if our property did not meet your expectations. In response, our staff is working to deep clean your room and also improve their services moving forward....

Delaware, Ohio
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stayed at this hotel for two night 6 and 7th of June 2014. the receptionist i believe her name was Teanta if I recall it right, very friendly face and smiling all the time. very helpful, breakfast should improve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeS50267
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with the service provided by our great staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. Still, I apologize that you were not satisfied with our grab-and-go breakfast. Your comments will be useful...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I love this hotel. Toni was really nice and friendly. She helped me a lot even before I left London, United Kingdom I was called her twice n she assured me all will be ok. She delivered n my room 232 was superb. Love u for that. Close to eatery n Walmart. Well done guys n is 5/5 for me....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley r
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Kingsley - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the great customer service provided by Toni. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with her. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for...

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I needed a month long stay, suddenly and unexpectedly. I was fortunate enough to meet Teanta, at the front desk. She normally works at the Roseville facility, but was filling in for the weekend. She helped me get a very fair rate for the month, and my concerns regarding where I would be for the next month were assuaged. Excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Jonathan - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 6 in Sterling Heights
298 reviews
2.2 km away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
9.8 km away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#2 of 6 in Sterling Heights
90 reviews
1.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Warren
Comfort Inn Warren
#5 of 18 in Warren
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Address: 33400 Van Dyke Rd., Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Region: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Price Range: $90 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Prescott, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles tomE1050ZI, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“nook a room higher up”
 of 5 bubbles maryd858, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“2 rooms out of 2..... they all were excellent and seem the same”
 of 5 bubbles BARTNANCY, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“A stayed in a number of room, and they all are very good”
 of 5 bubbles marklY2365QK, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Bring your own ice!”
 of 5 bubbles tomlP3450CL, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5