We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Daytime staff was friendly, evening guy was unfriendly and condesending. Internet so slow and evening guy laughed and said that's how they make extra money because I had to pay for upgrade, went to restaurant to use internet. Shower dirty and shower head broken, held in place by a plastic bag tied around the bar. I was on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kurtcarpenter
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The staff was extremely responsive, professional, courteous and above all positive. So accomodating in fact it, that what was initially planned as a one month stay on my part...lasted considerably longer. A little over a year in fact. This could not have been possible without the efforts of the Extended Stay staff. The employees were very customer service oriented and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PistolPete107
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

It is so rewarding to read that you had an excellent stay at our hotel. I'm thrilled you receive prompt and amazing customer service from our staff. It is especially good to know you were satisfied throughout the month you stayed at our property. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again,...

Moline, Illinois
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Staff was friendly but accommodations were disgusting. Room was not clean blue toothpaste all over sink & countertop not from me - and bathroom tub had black mold & Pubic hair all over in it. I was exhausted so I stayed 1 night out of my 10 - slept in my clothes & checked out first thing with a promise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JPatrickX2
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that you had cleanliness issues during your recent stay. In response to your feedback, I am addressing these issues with the entire staff. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out...

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I stay here about 8 times a year on business, always a good experience. Room is always clean, quiet, never any problems. Staff has always been professional and helpful. its inexpensive as far as business travelers go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomE1050ZI
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for continuing to choose to stay with us. I'm thrilled to see you were pleased at the conditions of your room, the professionalism of our staff, and the affordability of our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 26 July 2016

My fiancé and I had a moving mishap and were forced to stay in a hotel with our pet. Extended stay was affordable, friendly, and convenient. When we were unable to check out on time, the hotel graciously extended the check out. Because of some delays, when we stayed past our check out time, instead of charging us for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NotoriousCanadians
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such positive comments in your review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our affordable price and pet-friendly rooms. It is also good to see that our staff was able to accommodate you so well. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back...

Park Forest, Illinois
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed in the hotel two nights, this was not a pleasure trip, we went to my aunt's funeral. I should have know something was wrong with the staff at this place when they didn't understand that I had booked and paid online. The guy checking me in wanted me to pay again and he was saying he didn't see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esquire19
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The incident that occurred and the lack of customer service you received from one of our staff members is unacceptable. A meeting will be held with our staff to address these issues because none of what occurred should have happened in the first place....

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

I had a room elsewhere all planned out, but then it fell through leaving me with no where to stay. I checked out the Extended Stay in Sterling Heights because it is close to where I am working. I was helped out by one of the employees named Fiaz. He was very nice and friendly, and got me a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _nschmidt555
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

It is pleasing to know we were able to accommodate you on such short notice. I'm glad you check in went well and your overall stay was a great one for the affordable price you paid. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel was clean, no ice machine, no pool. Staff seemed friendly. Bathroom very small could hardly stand and shut door. Room had old smell to it, had to go buy candles to get rid of smell. Bed is comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
Reviewed 30 June 2016

My 2 day stay was made excellent, by the accommodations afforded to me by the desk clerk Faiz. Faiz truly turned what could have been a disastrous situation in to a overwhelming success by granting me a request which made it possible to fully enjoy my time at thus location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colin R
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your positive remarks. I am thrilled to read that Faiz was able to handle your situation and accommodate you so well. He will be informed on the excellent job he is doing for guests. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back...

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend after having surgery at Henry Ford. The check-in was easy. Ask for dishes at reception if you think you'll need them. Our room was recently remodeled and painted. It smelled like fresh paint which was a bit overpowering, but we were able to crack the windows and we bought an airfreshner and that helped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legal_padgurl06
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that your room's cleanliness met our expectations and that you enjoyed our location during your visit. I apologize that our recent upgrades left your room smelling of paint. I will be sure to address this issue with our maintenance team...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 6 in Sterling Heights
279 reviews
10.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#2 of 6 in Sterling Heights
88 reviews
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warren MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Warren
Comfort Inn Warren
#4 of 19 in Warren
94 reviews
9.8 km away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Address: 33400 Van Dyke Ave, Sterling Heights, MI 48312-5927
Region: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Price Range: $93 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Prescott, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles tomE1050ZI, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“nook a room higher up”
 of 5 bubbles maryd858, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“2 rooms out of 2..... they all were excellent and seem the same”
 of 5 bubbles BARTNANCY, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“A stayed in a number of room, and they all are very good”
 of 5 bubbles marklY2365QK, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Bring your own ice!”
 of 5 bubbles tomlP3450CL, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay