We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 657: English reviews
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Generally speaking was a decent place. Location is great next to the locks. I had issue with other guests and their kids making excess noise in hall late in the night. Front desk responded and took care of the issue.

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 519stevei
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Michigan
Reviewed 21 March 2016

A nice downtown location close to the locks. Can walk to fudge shop and other attractions nearby. Nice place with large vintage resaurant. Pleasant and helpful staff. A downstairs bar. I would recommend it to travelers and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We love the vintage historical aspects of our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Ironwood, Michigan
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O1587PGnicolel
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank unsatisfied_resident
Tori G, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Petoskey
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We were extremely surprised & disappointed that we were charged before we even arrived to the Ojibwa. This resulted in over $300 in overdraft charges to our bank. Never have we before at ANY hotel been charged before we even arrived. The hotel staff only offered us $20 off per night for our stay. We were EXTREMELY unsatisfied with this....

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MBabs123
Tori G, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

I am sorry for the misunderstanding on your pre-charge rate. You were part of a group that received a large discount due to them being prepaid. I am sorry that this was not explained to you by the group leader. Everyone in your group was pre-charged and I did reverse your charges prior to your arrival and contacted your bank...

Indian River, Michigan
Reviewed 1 March 2016

The room was nicely decorated and somewhat spacious. I was disappointed that there was no mini fridge or microwave. When something dropped between a bed and wall, it was obvious that it had not been vacuumed there. The bathroom flooring was cracked and out of date and the exhaust fan in the bathroom was full of dust. We also did...

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J2712YIjuliec
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do offer rooms with mini fridges and microwaves. These come automatically with our suites. For our standard rooms these are provided by request. We are doing many updates to our rooms and including in the updates is new flooring. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Sault...

Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

If you stay at this property, make sure to bring a power strip and a long extension cord. There was nowhere near the nightstand to plug in my phone. On the desk there was a lamp with two outlet sockets, one of which had another lamp plugged into it and the other, the alarm clock (which should have been on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davyd83
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I know that in this day and age of everything electric and needing charges it can sometimes be difficult. When our hotel was built in 1927 these were things no one ever heard of so that is the reason for the lack of many outlets in the rooms. This is one of...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Particularly in winter, the location is excellent because you can get to several bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. The rooms are well maintained and have character. So overall it is clean and comfortable. The breakfast on the other hand was bad and one morning the chef did not show up. Fortunately Frank's place across the road...

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickj471
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We have a whole new restaurant staff and I can guarantee you the best breakfast in town the next time you visit us!!!

Mount Morris, Michigan
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 501staceyd
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Hillman, Michigan
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Had broken mirror as soon as I entered room with a piece still in closet. Overall need some updating and started wheezing in pool area may be mold very rusty down there.

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iansU6919WC
Tori G, Front Desk Manager at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Now that we are entering our slower time of the year our goal is to renovate as many rooms as time will allow and also we will be redoing our pool room. It is very exciting for us and I do hope you will visit us again.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
4.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
426 reviews
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
56 reviews
4.0 km away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
447 reviews
4.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
96 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Freighters Restaurant
Freighters Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $135 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to ask for a Lock-view room as high up as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles MichiganTraveler02, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request the sixth floor for the best view.”
  • view of the Soo Locks at dusk
 of 5 bubbles H1012SUlaurah, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles flaming021, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Full of history and well worth the price!”
 of 5 bubbles cityhoppers7102, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Suites are unbelievably nice!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles caroljohnathan68, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5