We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hometown Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hometown Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hometown Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Bridgeport, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2015

I chose this hotel because I use this chain as often as I can when I travel for business, so I had enough rewards points for two nights. I found this room not to be up to the standard I've come to expect from a Comfort Inn. 1. During our showers, the hot water cut out. 2. I sat on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Don't know why I keep getting booked here every few trips by work. This is the worst place to stat at in SSM. Sheets were dirty. Hotel smells like smoke. The rooms are dated and dirty. The girl at the front desk was nice that's about the only good thing I can say about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank awesomereviews
detroit
Reviewed 30 May 2015

I may actually look for a new job after having to stay here. I is cheap but you pay the price. My room reeked of smoke as it was on the courtyard where people sit right outside your window smoking and talking. Place is very dirty I was actually surprised I did not get bedbugs. I'm thinking I was one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daves-Raves-Reviews
Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We rolled into town on a weeknight and checked several hotels for pricing by phone. The Comfort Inn quoted the best price so we chose them. When we arrived we actually got an even better price because the room was undergoing renovations. The most improtant thing is that it was clean and comfortable. The desk staff were cheery and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe49424
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I guess if you stay at enough hotels, you see everything. Our room (number 241) faced east. The window has sheers that close but serves no significant purpose. The curtains do not close. In fact there is no track for them to even be closed. So if you need a dark room to sleep, do not stay here, especially in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank perkmember7
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Housekeeping staff were extremely rude. I heard them gossiping about each other in the hallways. The head of housekeeping was also rude. Room was okay, but nothing special. The biggest factor was the rudeness towards myself and my family. I expected a lot more, for what l paid. Will not be staying at this hotel again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenna M
Reviewed 17 February 2015 via mobile

0/5. Hotel is dirty had to stay here for work. Would have paid to stay somewhere else. Hotel didn't have hoy water in the morning. Kids are loud defintly don't stay in one of the rooms by the "pool" they will keep you up. Tried to nap and that didn't happen. Don't stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank awesomereviews
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Positives: rooms were pretty clean. Staff was friendly. Negatives: make sure you don't get a room near the pool if it's loud, you won't get any sleep. TV didn't work in our room. I called to have someone come and look at it. He said he'd come and didn't. Place is very dated. We were in town for a basketball...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninarae99
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our rooms near the pool are convienent for guest wishing to keep an eye on their family while they swim and do it from the comfort of their own room. During the day, some noise can be heard from the pool area in these rooms. Our hours of operation for...

Big Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

I honestly went into this hotel stay expecting the worse, considering the run-arounds and rudeness our group had when reserving individual rooms. It wasn't a horrible stay, but it certainly wasn't anything to brag about. The staff I encountered were pleasant and professional. I personally didn't have any unpleasant encounters during the stay. First off, the layout of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liane C
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered when making your reservation. Due to the fact that the group leader you were booking with failed to sign and return the group contract, all reservations under that group technically would have been canceled. However the reservations were honored and we did our best to accomodate the other individuals...

Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The toilet in my room didn't flush completely from the moment I got there, I would pour extra water down it to get it to flush completely. Maintenance looked at it once and turned the water level all the way up, but it didn't do any good (which he knew), so when I told housekeeping a second time I wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juli B
Comfort4404, Owner at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Since all the specific issues you mentioned were already addressed by the manager in his communication with you I won't go through them again. Please be aware that the housekeeping staff took pictures of your room before cleaning it and those are on file as evidence for the legitimacy of...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
411 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
42 reviews
1.0 km away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
93 reviews
4.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
632 reviews
1.0 km away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#7 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hometown Inn and Suites

Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $101 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hometown Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hometown Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hometown Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor was fine”
 of 5 bubbles orrs1999, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles larryd475, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do NOt stay at this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles nikkisuds, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask regarding construction if you require a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles rn526, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if even open before reserving.”
 of 5 bubbles Mscampperson, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay