We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lake Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Lake Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lake Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 other couples for a wine weekend. We could not have been more pleased. The owner and staff were so kind, courteous and helpful. The Inn and rooms were immaculate. The location is perfect, central to the main street. The best part was the separate building filled with games, books, couches and a fireplace. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LuckyLeoO6
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Touring the local wineries is very popular with our guests. Most vineyards are within a 20-30 minute drive from Lake Country Inn. There are also several tours that will pick you up and drop you off right at our property. Our website has further information on this, and we also have guides for...

South Barrington, Illinois
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We went Sunday to Monday and stayed in the orange room. Just perfect! Super clean and neat. Very comfortable. Well furnished and maintained. Nice owners. Just loved it! It was a great summer get away. Great restaurant Brewsters right across the street!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaynie22016
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your review. There are multiple great places to eat within a short walking distance from our property. Our favorite for breakfast is Jackie's Cafe on Buffalo St. Bentwood Tavern is also really good and has outside seating next to the marina. We have...

Reviewed 30 July 2016

We came up last Sunday for a 2 night stay. We live in Chicago area so it was a quick ride and it was a beautiful inn. We were in the aqua room and my sister and her husband were in the saffron room upstairs. Both were very clean and nicely decorated. It's located about 1/2 block off the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. Our property is only an hour drive from downtown Chicago. You can also take Amtrak out of Union Station as the train platform in New Buffalo is only a block away. If you take the am train you can always drop off your bags with...

Fremont, Ohio
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We spent 2 nights here for a quick summer get-away. We stayed in the yellow room. It was very nice - clean, well furnished and large. We really enjoyed the porch off of our room. It also had a nice porch off the back of the building. We were greeted by a friendly young lady when we arrived. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buckeyefam1
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your review and thanks so much for staying with us. You don't have far to walk to find a great place to eat when you stay with us. One of my favorites is Jackie's Cafe on Buffalo Street. Jackie Shen is a well know chef from the Chicago area who moved to New Buffalo recently. Her...

Indiana
Reviewed 23 July 2016

My husband and I took a 3 day get-away and found this gem on Trip Advisor. We could not have found a better place. The entire house was very clean, well decorated, and the staff/owner very friendly and helpful. The inn is a great location and around the corner from shopping and restaurants. TV in the room and wifi included....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggal8Indiana
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review. It was great to see that you felt at " home " at our property as that is our goal. The small size of our property makes a visit feel much more homey. The trees at the front of the building have really grown and provide nice privacy especially at the upper...

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 July 2016

My wife and I spent our Mini-moon here and it was wonderful. We were able to lock up our bikes on the property. We stayed in the Tower Suite and everything was modern and in great condition. The proximity of the inn made it easy to walk wherever we wanted to go in New Buffalo. What pleased me the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filzen2016
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We are so very pleased that your stay with us was very enjoyable. Thanks so much for the review. Our location is really hard to beat. I was great meeting you both. We wish you the very best for your future together, and you are a fantastic couple. Hope to see you again soon.

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Our room was very nice. It was great in the morning to sit on the porch and enjoy breakfast and coffee to start the day. On a hot day, the air conditioned common area was a great place to enjoy time with our family, who had another room. We could walk everywhere in New Buffalo....the beach, restaurants and shopping. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betty3761
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you staying with us. Thank you so much for your review. The Orange and Saffron rooms do have small TVs. Larger sets have been purchased but are not yet hung in those rooms. Otherwise, our other rooms have much larger screens. The Tower room has the largest TV at 42". All of our sets are "smart"...

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms and common areas. Room was nicely decorated but time to replace the mattress. Very pleasant staff. Centrally located but shopping district is poor. A little pricy for the venue. The "continental breakfast" was disappointing. I would rate it 3 out of 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WJCurry1
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your visit and thanks for your review. Our rates are actually among the lowest compared to the other highly rated properties in the area with midweek rates starting at only $140. We use memory foam mattresses in our beds and the vast majority of our guest really love them.This type of mattress typically gets better reviews and...

New Palestine
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with this B&B! The room we had was off the back with a large porch and a separate entrance. Though the red color was a bit much, the room was nice with a large, new bathroom. The B&B "appears" older than it's 10 years...it was built new! The staff are very nice! The location is perfect...just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janemT8653QX
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your review, and thanks so much for staying with us. The porches are a great place for breakfast in the summer. The community room in the courtyard area also has tables and chairs where you can eat. Our Inn does not have a full kitchen and so our food service is limited. However, we do pass...

Belleville, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This Inn is so wonderful. Our room was spotless, beautifully decorated, quiet, the bed very comfortable, and had everything we needed for our weeknight stay in New Buffalo. We are energetic seniors and found it easy to walk to the beach for the sunset. Downtown is only one block away for restaurants and stores. I would not hesitate to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbitmf
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us. We really appreciate your business. You mentioned my all time favorite activity in New Buffalo: going to the beach for a sunset. Honestly, I will match our sunsets against any in the world. When the conditions align, a perfect New Buffalo sunset over Lake Michigan is beyond beautiful. Plus, the show goes on...

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Aqua Marine Room (10)
Viewed
Blue Room (29)
Viewed
Green Room (17)
Viewed
Orchid Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
2.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
2.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
583 reviews
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
118 reviews
18.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. Adults only. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W Merchant St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1836
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Price Range: $167 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Country Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Itasca, Illinois
10 months ago
Homosassa, Florida
over a year ago
Homosassa, Florida
over a year ago
Mazon, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“each suite a bit different but you cannot lose no matter the choice. First floor or second floor with no elevator a matter of taste.”
 of 5 bubbles rjrcreekside, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room in back 1st floor is near back porch so need to close curtains if people are sitting out there and you can hear them from the room.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaKS_12, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had the "Red Room" which was away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles heitmann, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had the orange room with the street balcony and it was still quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jaynie22016, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Saw inside several rooms they all looked beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5