We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bigfoot Hostel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bigfoot Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bigfoot Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 574: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

15 or 20 years ago I would have loved this place! But over Easter / US spring break it was just too busy / loud/ party oriented. Clean and good facilities. Dorms too close to bar/ music all night and starting at half 7 in the morning... bring ear plugs!! Bar and restaurant, though food expensive / no local dishes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank altichick
Bigfoot H, Director General at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for taking time to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon. Thanks for the compliments you made about our services but on the other hand we feel sorry for not reaching your expectations. We hope you enjoy your vacations through Central America and we hope to have the opportunity to receive you once again, it will be compliments only....

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Wifi would not work and staff's solution was just to say that it did work. But it didn't. So that didn't help. We splurged for air conditioning but it did not work. Again, when we asked about it a couple staff members came in pressed buttons and said it was working. It was not and did not. No coffee available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannahontheroad
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, we appreciate the fact you choose Bigfoot Hostel Leon as your hostel during your visit in Leon. On the other had it was a true disappointment for us not reaching you expectations and offer the quality of service you were looking for. All technical problems were sorted out, coffee machine fixed and we have a back up machine...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The Big Foot Hostel is the typical party hostel and a perfect place for connecting to other travelers. Don’t miss out to go with them on the volcano boarding tour, if your interested how fast your ride is. Otherwise some other operators are a little bit cheaper. The dorm rooms are looking really nice. Our private room was ok, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_FFM83
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rob, we appreciate the time you saved to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon. We want to thank you for the compliments you made it is really important for us on our strive to offer better services and premises. Regarding Bigfoot Volcano Boarding, we had a different price from other companies but we offer a different experience as well. Even tough...

Lake Nicaragua, Nicaragua
Reviewed 23 March 2017

I love this place. It has a perfect location, good environment, nice people and delicious food. The bar is such amazing you can hanging out with friends and have a good time, music and the staff are great. About accomodation is very comfortable and super clean. There are many things to do like volcano boarding (such a nice experience full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prixxy312
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we have no way to express our gratitude to you for saving time to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon, we appreciate it. We love our customers, we see them as friends. And we love even more when we learn we were able to go beyond their expetations. Thank you so much for coming dear friend, come back as many...

Reviewed 21 March 2017

I didn't stay at the hostel itself but I joined the Volcano Boarding tour and had a blast. Archie, our tour guide, has awesome vibes and definitely made it an exciting trip. They provide transportation, you get a shirt, and a drink at the end of the hike. You also have the option not to carry your board and instead...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie S
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Katie, thank you so very much for taking some time to review Bigfoot Hostel and our volcano boarding tour. We are thrilled to know you had great time with us and your compliments to Arshia will be conveyed for sure. We appreciate the details you wrote on your review, it will make easier to our readers make their minds...

Vernon, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is definitely a party hostel - great fun but don't stay here if you want a decent nights sleep! It was a blast for St Patrick's day but impossible to have a quiet night in after a few days of partying - the music was as loud in my dorm room as it would be in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sn0wflake1992
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Dear customer, it is always an honor to see our clients taking time to review Bigfoot Hostel, we appreciate your kindness to let us know your impressions about our services and premisses. We feel like as a serious company we owe you some explanations about your complaints: 1 - regarding prices, we may be a a few dollars more expansive...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Excellent location, great travellers' vibe, great staff, good wifi. A party hostel. If you are looking for a quiet place to sleep, look elsewhere. Not overly noisy but not overly quiet either. I would stay here again. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterATaylor
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Dear customer, we are thrilled reading your review and to know you had great time with us. We will print your review and show to our team, it will motivate them on our strive to offer better hospitality services. We hope to have you here with us again. Best regards, Ricardo Sena Bigfoot GM

Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

It's a fun place if you're feeling like a party! The staff is wonderful. However I wouldn't recommend spending the night, come for the party but stay somewhere else. The kitchen is absolutely discussing, it has very few cooking utensils, the fridge doesn't keep your food cold and it smells horrible. Two little fan in a room of 10 beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nohomenoproblem
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Dear customer, thanks for your feedback, we were really disppointed to know we could not meet your expetations. Some points were checked and corrected, other points mentioned by you related to internal policies we sure understand your point of view but they will be kept. I would like to address these points one by one to clarify this for you...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Great for young crowd!!! Had an awesome party the Saturday night. Only problem was the locals were all inside and there were quite a few sketchy people...there is a guard on duty... but I didn't feel that safe. The private room was fine and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freedomforever2013
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for you review dear customer, Bigfoot welcomes people from every part of the world. We are a great place to have fun and enjoy the parties, our locals friends are welcome as well and they just want to have fun, like everyone else. Safe travels and thanks for choosing us. Ricardo Sena Bigfoot GM

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Great place they offer lots to do here including volcano boarding which I also recommend ! Tons of young travellers and this hostel has a big communal kitchen which is awesome ! Leon is hot af get a room with a fan or ac not worth it to cheap out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mic M
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Mic, thanks for taking part of your time to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon. We are really happy to see that you had great time with us, and you are right Leon is really hot and an air cond dorm or private room fit very well for travelers looking for a good night of sleep. We hope you enjoy Central...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.4 km away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
23 reviews
0.5 km away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#4 of 63 in Leon
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 63 in Leon
72 reviews
0.4 km away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#8 of 63 in Leon
162 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 34 in Leon
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Price Range: $8 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bigfoot Hostel Nicaragua/Leon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bigfoot Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bigfoot Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clean and had ac and fans”
Mommamorrow, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Splurge a bit for rooms with air conditioning. It gets incredibly hot in Leon.”
240jeremiahd, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Margarita Pizza is the best in town!”
, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Further from the bar will be quieter”
F3244FBjamief, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The dorm with air conditioning was amazing in Leon's heat”
adrianad18, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5