We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Thunderbird Inn

    146 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    USD 69*
    USD 69*
    USD 69*
    Traveller (10)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent22%
    • Very good37%
    • Average20%
    • Poor10%
    • Terrible11%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Concierge
    Pets Allowed
    Business Centre
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Thunderbird Inn
    Deals (12)
    27 Aug.28 Aug.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed
      USD 69
      View Deal
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed
      USD 69
      View Deal
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      USD 69
      View Deal
    View all 12 deals from USD 69
    Beachcomber Motel on the Water
    131 reviews
    #4 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Lamplighter Motel
    172 reviews
    #5 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Sundown Motel
    8 reviews
    #23 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Flamingo Motel
    14 reviews
    #22 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (203)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 202 reviews

    Reviewed 6 July 2017

    Booked to booking.com. Canceled reservations three days prior along with another reservation. Somehow the reservation was not canceled. I called and stated I need to cancel the reservation. Manager would not work with me.More

    Thank Summer B
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 8 July 2017

    I'm sorry about your experience with our property. As you stated, you did make the reservation through Booking.com and any changes or cancellations to your reservation would have needed to be made through them. If you called us 3 days prior, we would have told...More

    Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

    Overall good value for family stay. No issues with internet. Kids enjoyed pool. Breakfast was to be expected with price point. Value comes in with free shuttle to ferry and discounted ferry tickets. Shuttle arrive with in 15 mins of call and was only a...More

    Thank Jennifer P
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 5 July 2017

    I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable for your family and that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service provided by the ferry company. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

    Check in was super easy and the gentleman was very friendly. Room was very big and super clean. Bed was comfortable. Jetted tub faced the tv which was nice. Housekeeping was a bit loud in the morning but my room was by thier closet. So...More

    Thank renob88
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 27 June 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. I appreciate you bringing the noise to our attention. We want to improve our guests' experience where we can, and will sit down with...More

    Reviewed 22 June 2017

    As motorcycle travel writers on a budget, we are always keen on a good balance of value, comfort, convenience and security. Thunderbird Inn offered all these with few drawbacks. Parking is room-front, so keeping an eye on your ride is a cinch and offloading gear...More

    Thank Scotte B
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 27 June 2017

    James, I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We do turn of the refrigerators so as to keep them clean and free of ice buildup. We hope to see you back on any future travels to the Mackinaw area.

    Reviewed 20 June 2017

    My husband and I planned a trip to Mackinac Island for a weekend and found a really good deal for this hotel. We both are extremely concerned about cleanliness and were not sure of this place at first since the old reviews were not convincing....More

    Thank Cindu A
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 27 June 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I'm happy to hear that your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations. We strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for our guests. We look forward to you stay again with...More

    Beachcomber Motel on the Water
    131 reviews
    #4 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Lamplighter Motel
    172 reviews
    #5 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Sundown Motel
    8 reviews
    #23 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Flamingo Motel
    14 reviews
    #22 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Room Service
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Room Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Concierge
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 64 - USD 158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 48
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Michigan >
    • Cheboygan County >
    • Mackinaw City
    • Also Known As
    • Best Western Mackinaw City ,
    • Mackinaw City Best Western ,
    • Best Western Thunderbird Hotel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (10)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (2)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (13)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Lamplighter Motel
    172 reviews
    1.53 km away
     
    Flamingo Motel
    14 reviews
    1.93 km away
     
    Beachcomber Motel on the Water
    131 reviews
    .51 km away
     
    Sundown Motel
    8 reviews
    .24 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Pizza Palace
    721 reviews
    1.21 km away
    Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips
    479 reviews
    1.20 km away
    Mackinaw Pastie & Cookie Co.
    244 reviews
    .73 km away
    Nonna Lisa's Italian Ristorante
    1,024 reviews
    .91 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry
    1,089 reviews
    .34 km away
    Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises
    94 reviews
    1.24 km away
    Animal Tracks
    85 reviews
    .98 km away
    Mackinaw Crossings
    148 reviews
    1.11 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Mary P
    5 May 2017|
    Answer
    Response from TBirdMackinaw | Property representative |
    Yes, there is a one time, non-refundable pet fee of $25. Also, please call us directly at 231-436-5433 to book a pet friendly room.
    0
    Votes
    dlandrews28
    12 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Vmika | Reviewed this property |
    I don't know you would have to call the hotel
    0
    Votes
    Jazlynn H
    4 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Tracy G | Reviewed this property |
    5 minute drive to the ferry terminals in Mackinaw city. you could easily walk it.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Don't stay here"
    Read review
    "Ground level for motorcycle riders."
    Read review
    "There are only a few pet friendly rooms but ours was near the back and quiet."
    Read review
    "all rooms were accessible situated on the ground floor"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing