We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
Saint Johns
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

1 night stay. Not sure the sheets were changed :( wrinkled) brought disinfecting wipes ( thankfully) The sink countertop was covered in a man's beard trimmings, ewww! Wiped all surfaces,DIRTY! (Ryad needs a cleaning tutorial- Person who cleaned??? the room) poor guy on check-in desk was swamped( nice man) one lady was on her 2 nd room checking-in and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I have to state first that although I travel regularly and almost always stay at cheap hotels ($50-$80 range), I am not used to 1-star hotels. So this may be why I had a poor experience. I'll start with the good: our room was honestly great. King bed, reliable internet, nice shower, TV, etc. I hoped it would have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliveSH
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

I was checked in quickly and got to my room. Very nice and tidy, good A/C, which was good because it was very hot out. Nice flowerbeds and green grass. Better than you're average Red Roof Inn. Front desk was very nice when I was checking in and out and when I had some questions they were very knowledgable. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paxton03
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review.

Brighton, Michigan
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Stay 2 nights, won't ever again! Trip advisor gave it satisfactory rating but missed by a long shot! 1st room the toilet didn't work! Handy man said "water supply wasclogged with rust". We quickly were given another room "upgrade" . What a joke, this room had a working toilet but sink drained very very slowly, shower curtain hand black greasy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flyboybob5
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

We were here for a family reunion. This hotel had modern looking rooms, great for the price, the staff was very helpful and the housekeeping was very accommodating! I would recommend this Red Roof to anyone visiting the Kalamazoo area! Thanks for the great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BriP3
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Bri, Thank you so very much for your amazing review of our property. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kalamazoo, Mi.

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

We have never stayed at a Red roof inn before because I had heard some bad reviews. This was the closest to our friends home so we took a chance. It was clean, quiet, very comfortable and reasonably priced. The manager was most concerned that we had a good stay. He inquired each time he saw us. There were only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy R
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Judy, Thank you so very much for the kind review.

Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewed 24 June 2015

My company has about 26 guys staying here, and the service and staff have been very good. The rooms have been clean and very up to standard. I highly recommend staying here, if you are looking for a place to stay in Kalamazoo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy K
Erica S, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Guy K, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write our hotel a review. It is always our goal to have every guests smiling at check-in and even at check-out. We take pride in our work and hotel and want the best experience for every guest possible. I will be sure to pass on the message...

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I've been staying at the Red Roof Inn frequently over the past year so I thought I would submit a review. I read some of the reviews below and was very surprised. I have never found any of my rooms to be dirty nor have I ever found the property to be poorly maintained. I've stayed at quite a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jklein218
Erica S, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write our hotel a review. It is always our goal to have every guests smiling at check-in and even at check-out. We take pride in our work and hotel and want the best experience for every guest possible. I will be sure to pass on the message to my staff...

West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We stayed 5 nights last week. The reservation was made a year ago, and I was very disappointed that they did not have the room type that I reserved. They did have a room though. (Whew) I asked if the desk could notify us if a different room came open (we had 5 days after all!) and she would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJones57
Erica S, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our inn. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We strive to impress our guests, but clearly we came up short. I have shared your comments with my staff and we will address the issues that you mentioned. I hope...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I can always expect a comfortable stay at the Red Roof Inn. Check in is easy, and the receptionists are nice. Sometimes the rooms could be cleaned a little better, but I always enjoy my nights there!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tori B
Erica S, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Tori B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and are pleased with the experiences you have had with our front desk staff. However, I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your rooms has not always met your expectations. I...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
10.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
118 reviews
0.4 km away
Value Place Kalamazoo
Value Place Kalamazoo
#14 of 31 in Kalamazoo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Jackson, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford an extra $50/night, stay at an alternative upscale hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles davidaN9648BO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms available with microwave for a slightly higher price.”
 of 5 bubbles Datakat, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for amenities before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles lorriewilken, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no smoke free rooms at this hotel. Guests and staff smoke in the doorways and leave butts on the ground.”
 of 5 bubbles LauriHoward, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“back building facing side street”
 of 5 bubbles teddygrit, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5