We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 346: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
 Click to rate
Detroit, MI
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We booked this place with full understanding that it wasn't going to be "great". The room, although very small, met our basic needs, and it was a cheap Uber/Lyft to the breweries we were there to visit. My biggest complaint was that the room had slight dog and cigarette odor. Bed wasn't great either, but I've slept on worse. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dionyza1
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dionyza1, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West. I'm sorry you arrived at our location with poor expectations. As the new manager, I'm working hard to ensure every guest has a great and comfortable stay. I will take your feedback regarding the odor in the room to...

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Rooms r nice n spacious, mini fridge, microwave, safe n 48 inch flat screen tv. Bathroom, wash clothes could have been cleaner, but we r only here 4 a few hrs 2 rest n get 2 Plainwell 2 get our son. $$$ wasn't to bad it was $66 + tax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica M
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Veronica, Thank you for choosing to review your recent stay with us. We're happy to see you enjoyed the deluxe room with microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot and large flat screen TV. I hope you got to check out the extended cable package while you were here! I will pass your feedback regarding the linens and bath area on to...

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Keyonna! A welcoming smile! Her proficiency in the knowing her job made my stay a treat. The room was clean as always with no reportable issues thanks to the on going maintainace. I will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Helen, Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with us. I am pleased to see you found Keyonna to be friendly and accommodating. I will pass your good comments on to her and my maintenance crew. We're proud to see you enjoyed your stay with us! See you soon! Brittany S GM

Reviewed 6 January 2017

old comforter, very out dated, probably 10 years old-- blood on it, smoke smell in room, very very tiny bathroom. Spend the extra $50 and stay at Hampton, or Holiday inn. A/C unit not very operational. Carpet outdated. Bed and pillow was OK

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

David A, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay. Please accept my apologies for the dirty comforter in your room and the smell of smoke. We hold all guest's who choose to break rules and smoke indoors accountable and we will use your feedback as a training tool in housekeeping to ensure issues like this...

Reviewed 1 January 2017

My boyfriend of 4 years, and I decided to take a night out for ourselves ended up getting a hotel room, thinking we would get a good nights rest together, well it started out good but waking up in the middle of the night and seeing that your luggage was covered with ants, completely discussed me I called the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilmanduhx2014
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear lilmanduhx2014, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay. It is important to us to have maintenance issues of this sort reported so we may handle the situation appropriately after you have vacated the room. I'm happy you were pleased with your two nights at half off and the new room. We wish you safe...

Reviewed 20 November 2016

The room was clean and warm (weather had just turned cold). Refrigerator and microwave in the room were a plus. Can't hear neighbors or plumbing but anybody talking on the walk outside is so loud you could join the conversation. Bring your own toiletries. Beds were comfortable. This non -smoking room does have a smell of old cigarette smoke, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Dawn H, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us feedback regarding your stay. Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues that occurred. I will utilize your review as a training tool to ensure this does not happen again. I hope next time your in the Kalamazoo area you'll give us the chance...

Boyne City, Michigan
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Clean. Bed comfortable. Safe feeling area. Helpful desk employees. A good place for a frill-free, affordable stay. I would not hesitate to stay again. Was in town for a dog show, very pet friendly. They even provide clean-up bags in the dog walking area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Datakat
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Datakat, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Feedback from our guest's is very important to us, as we're working hard to provide a great product. We're very happy to see you enjoyed your stay during the Harvest Cluster dog show and hope to see you again next fall!

Indiana
Reviewed 7 November 2016

perfect for an affordable, good night sleep - nothing flashy. Clean, comfortable, and fair priced. Came back because previous stay was nice. Nothing really to awesome or bad - just overall solid establishment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuenosNachos2
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

BuenosNachos2, Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your second stay with us here at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West. We're very happy to see you were satisfied again. I hope you will be back to visit us soon! Thank you!

saginaw, michigan
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Although everything was clean and it is supposed to be a nonsmoking room, the smell of cigarette smoke was nauseating. The price was right, it provided a bed to sleep in but that is all I can say. You get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMagico
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

MichiganMagico, Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your stay at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan University. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room issue. While we work hard to ensure every guest follows policy sometimes things like this do occur. I have shared your feedback with my staff to ensure we take the right steps when...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Has modern decor, and it was clean. The only thing I didn't like was the small bathroom and short toilet. Beds were comfy. There was a chair beside one bed and lots of lighting. Will stay again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stim81
BSigourney, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

STIM81, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan University. We're always happy to see a guest enjoyed their stay. I hope you'll think of us next time your visiting the Kalamazoo area!

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
10.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
4.3 km away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: $75 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Jackson, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford an extra $50/night, stay at an alternative upscale hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles davidaN9648BO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms available with microwave for a slightly higher price.”
 of 5 bubbles Datakat, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for amenities before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles lorriewilken, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no smoke free rooms at this hotel. Guests and staff smoke in the doorways and leave butts on the ground.”
 of 5 bubbles LauriHoward, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“back building facing side street”
 of 5 bubbles teddygrit, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5