We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

American Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
American Inn & Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for American Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

What is that smell. It is like a musty wet dog. The lobby smells like that and in our group, three of the four rooms smell horrible. We can't find four rooms elsewhere or we would move. The pool is fine, haven't had breakfast yet, but nothing else matters because of the smell

Thank sgbgalt
victor k, General Manager at American Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize at the American Inn we take our reviews very seriously We have correct that issue due to the wet carpet in the Lobby We had a an ice machine that leaked and caused that smell, that problem has been resolved immediately we had a professional company come take care of that. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

I travel a lot for work. I am in hotels at least once a week. This was the worst. Just FILTHY! Dead bugs and mold in the shower. Trash all over the grounds outside. Walk in the pool room and the stench was overwhelming. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

2Thank Joshua B
victor k, General Manager at American Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us at the American Inn we take our reviews very seriously We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered these issues have been corrected. We make sure that our rooms are clean at all times . Their was a heavy storm and heavy winds that night and blew the trash everywhere in the parking lot and...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We were on a business/golfing trip and had about 8 rooms for the weekend. The rooms were much quieter and comfortable than I had expected. Typically in this class of hotels the walls and ceilings are paper thin. I did not hear a peep from people next door or above me the entire stay! There was a nice indoor pool...

3Thank chrisevans415
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as it was the best option by reviews that allowed pets, in the area. The other hotels had a 25lb maximum on dogs, or just didn't look appealing. The bed was nice, and comfy. The rest was outdated, and not really my standard of 'clean' per se. The tub had a soap scum tub ring and chrome was...

Thank gucci123_13
Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Good service from the time I called to book the room through my entire stay right to checkout. Comfortable clean rooms, nice pool, and a decent breakfast. Conveniently located right off the expressway. Stay Near Houghton Lake, restaurants and shopping, and near-by attractions. My only complaints are that the shower by the pool did not have hot water and the...

1Thank Lynda M
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I have stayed in this hotel a few times already for business and I can tell you that this hotel is as consistent as can be when it comes to cleanliness, stay, and comfort. The staff is very friendly and very helpful when it comes to getting directions, recommending restaurants, or anything else. I travel 50 percent of the month...

1Thank rerobsntna
Wixom, Michigan
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the American Inn because of the great cleanliness and comfortable beds,wonderful staff were so kind and helpful Sean the front desk was knowledgeable of the area . The lobby was very relaxing and cozy nice fireplace excellent wifi service, The complimentary hot morning breakfast was also great We will assure you we will be back...

1Thank Lou H
New Boston, Michigan
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Arrived to the hotel late Monday night service was Great Room was Very Clean Service was Great. I will stay there again when in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful both at check in and check out.

1Thank cwood48164
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 30 October 2015

My Hubby and I came for a last minute trip to Houghton Lake to view the fall colors and booked here last minute. Check in was fast and smooth. The room was very clean, the bed was comfy and cozy. Pool was great . They offer a great complimentary breakfast waffles eggs sausages yogurt loved it, we will be back...

Thank Renee A
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This was our first trip to Houghton Lake to view the fall colors staying at the American Inn was a wonderfully experience from the very helpful folks at the front desk, we traveled with a group of friends enjoyed the hot tub that was very clean and relaxing . rooms were well kept very clean. Nice hot breakfast, loved the...

Thank Don G

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (15)
Bathroom (7)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
6.5 km away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
1.3 km away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
35.7 km away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
73 reviews
30.5 km away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 10 in Grayling
308 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites

Address: 200 Cloverleaf Lane, Houghton Lake, MI 48629 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: $90 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your American Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Houghton Lake
Comfort Inn Houghton Lake
Holiday Inn Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from American Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel does not have elevators but plenty of first floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles frankpT7912OG, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles beckys349, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side 2nd floor is fairly quiet”
 of 5 bubbles caymankid, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator. If you have difficulty with the stairs, ask for a first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 38lyndam, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“king rooms are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 683reneea, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5