We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Booked here due to best-in-town reviews. Hard to believe. Wierd location in entry area to town up away from the water and downtown. Certainly ok and clean. Courteous staff. But getting a little worn and nothing special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Barbara S, We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory. We really apriciate your suggestions and feedback! We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel. Thank you so much! If you decide you want to give us another try please feel free to contact me directly at: (906) 482-1066 ext. 101 Have...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Houghton is a beautiful city and many of the hotels have nice vistas of the water. The Quality Inn is right downtown and close to restaurants. This Holiday Inn express is nice enough on the inside, but is located in a terrible spot. You can either have a room facing the front parking lot or a room facing a pile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Psjo
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Dear Psjo, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your stay. I regret to learn that you did not enjoy much in terms of the scenery from our location. Despite this, we do hope the rest went well. We appreciate the candid review that you provided and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express....

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The overall quality of the hotel was good and what you would expect with a Holiday Inn. However the breakfast did not at all match the rest of quality of the stay. They said breakfast was over at 9:30 but at 9am they didn't put anything out, very disappointing when that's what you go there for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Dear Maggie H, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found the overall quality of our property good and I am sorry if our breakfast options did not live up to your expectations. Your review is vital for improving the service and...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Express Hotels but of them all this one stands out by far. When you walked in later in the day you smelled fresh popped popcorn, cookies, a large boardroom being used to welcome guests to watch TV, fresh fruit, tea/coffee and flavoured creamers. The breakfast was AMAZING. We were there in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheri G
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Sheri G, Wow! Thank you so much for this wonderful review of our hotel. It means so much to us that you enjoyed your time here. We work very hard at trying to make everyone happy and comfortable and our staff really loves working here because of wonderful guests like yourself. Thank you so much for being so great....

Iron River, Michigan
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Desk personnel was great - friendly and helpful. Hotel is new, modern and clean. Room was great except that it faced the parking lot and street and it was a bit noisy with the window open. Nice breakfast area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magical430
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Dear Magical430, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to read of your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the hotel and the great service received from our staff. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy your stay...

Ann Arbor
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights for Michigan Tech freshman move-in weekend. All hotels in the area were booked, including the Holiday Inn (thankfully we made reservations in advance). Despite the "no vacancy" status, the hotel never felt overrun or crowded. Breakfast was busy most of the morning, but they kept everything stocked so there were no issues....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jayceemi
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hey jayceemi, Thanks for the fabulous review. It sounds like you were able to experience all of the wonderful things about our area and our hotel! Make sure next time you are in town you come back and see us at the Holiday Inn Express in Houghton! Go Huskies!

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My husband and I stayed here over our anniversary and we had one of the most delightful travel experiences ever. We checked in and Mimi G. was the desk clerk. She was a delight and obviously not only loves Houghton, but also thoroughly enjoys her job at Holiday Inn Express. We asked the typical questions about things to do, places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happi1944
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello happi1944, What an amazing review, thank you so much. We adore Mimi and we are so happy you were able to get to know her a little bit during your stay. We want you to feel at home and at ease and it sounds like we accomplished that. It is incredible to hear such an amazing review and it...

Jefferson, Oregon
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The hotel was off a parking lot of another business. The parking was spread out between the parking lot of the other business and adjacent to the hotel at the base of a steep slope. The hotel is conveniently located to services (restaurants, gas & grocery store). The room was nice appearing new. The view from the room was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

After a long day of traveling we were thankful for the clean and comfortable too. Hotel seems rather new and isn't far from downtown. It was very quiet and the employees were friendly and helpful. We weren't thrilled with the breakfast options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hey Amy K, Thank you so much for your feedback! I am happy to hear you hit it off with our staff and were comfortable and cozy during your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Houghton. Our hotel has lots of breakfast options: pancakes, muffins, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, omelettes, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy,...

Lindenhurst, Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed here while in the area to explore the Keweenaw Peninsula. Able to get a room for a couple of nights midweek at a reasonable rate. Appreciate that they are pet friendly, having a nice walking area by back/side parking, which is ample. Very clean throughout, looks quite new, and beds are very comfortable. My husband especially liked the pillows....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DGMAC
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello DGMAC, Thank you so much for your wonderful and kind words about the Holiday Inn Express in Houghton Michigan. We are delighted that you, your husband and your pup enjoyed your time here with us. We truly look forward to your return in the future. See you this fall!

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.8 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Magnuson Hotel Franklin Square Inn
17.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
38.9 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Price Range: $169 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See if they have a room with a view of Houghton.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulL388, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try the back side of hotel, it may be a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles cookie41, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor in a large room with two queen beds. It was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles happi1944, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The back side faces a rock wall- no sun, good for quiet. The front side faces morning sun.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyBE8074KA, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request an even number for a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles jeredn2015, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay