We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Booking.comUSD 161*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stanley House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
southport
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Stanly House is an amazing hotel in the middle of beautiful countryside which is ideal for walking. The Hotel is very classy without being overwhelming. Very welcoming and excellent customer service from the staff. WE stayed in the old bit of the hotel and the rooms were very traditionally furnished with a huge comfortable bed.Even had an old-fashioned free standing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunnySouthport
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Can not fault the hotel. We stayed for two nights to celebrate my birthday and from start to end thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and spa. After checking in on arrival we were shown to the most stunning room. It was huge and decorated in gorgeous deep reds. We then had two hours in the spa which was fantastic and so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 813smurf
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, your comments mean so much to us as we strive to deliver the best customer service that we possibly can. We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your birthday and hope to see you again very soon.

Liverpool
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I booked an overnight stay through Secret Escapes for my friends 60th birthday.EVERYTHING surpassed my expectations.As we drove up the sweeping driveway we could see the hotel surrounded by beautiful countryside.We arrived early and the the reception could not have been more helpful,we decided to have lunch in Mr Fred's restaurant.Once again the staff were first class,friendly but professional.During our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cosycooe
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Wow, what amazing feedback, thank you so much. It is such a delight to know that we have surpassed our guests' expectations and we certainly look forward to a future visit to welcome you back.

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel through secret escapes with a DBB package. The deal also included 2 hours spa experience for which you had to book a time slot in advance. It was very good value. The hotel is approached up a long drive. We parked and checked in and were able to get in the room straight away. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you had such a wonderful time. Our Manor House is indeed beautiful but as a listed building this does prevent us from adding a lift or air conditioning unfortunately. Perhaps on your next visit you may wish to try one...

Skipton, England
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

The manor house bedrooms are lively but bag a bedroom on the first floor of the new wing for lively open views. The beds and linen are superb and the mid lighting in the high end modern bathrooms is fab! Housekeeping do an excellent job the rooms were spotless. There is an excellent spa with great facilities but let down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderingwithwalter
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is so lovely to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Your feedback regarding staff members is welcome and has been passed on to the relevant team managers.

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We are staying at the Stanley House Hotel and Spa for a luxurious and relaxing break. Although the hotel and surrounding grounds are beautiful, our experience at Stanley House has been disappointing and certainly not five star. We're sorry to say that some of the Spa staff are unfriendly and unwelcoming to a point where we have felt uncomfortable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davidos100
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We are staying at the Stanley House Hotel and Spa for a luxurious and relaxing break. Although the hotel and surrounding grounds are beautiful, our experience at Stanley House has been disappointing and certainly not five star. We're sorry to say that some of the Spa staff are unfriendly and unwelcoming to a point where we have felt uncomfortable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AbiSams
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us and we shall certainly take your comments seriously and use them in our training to improve our customer service that we provide, so thank you for your assistance and apologies once again.

Whalley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

This spa facility is of high quality, with a perfect environment for relaxation. The staff were courteous and kind - very helpful, and Rebecca the therapist that treated me was exceptional, and should be commended. However we paid for a package that included the spa experience, but only for two hours. We were instructed to arrive just before this 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SagefemmeSB
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent spa experience. We are sorry that you didn't completely enjoy your visit, however we have passed on your lovely comments to Rebecca, your therapist on the day, thank you for that. We are sorry that you have decided not to return to Stanley House for future spa bookings, we...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We visited Stanley House Hotel for my mum's birthday afternoon treat. There were 6 of us altogether. I'd been a few years ago and the afternoon tea at that time was superb. I was therefore confident it would be excellent. The place is impressive, with a long drive up to the main entrance, manicured lawns and topiaried trees - beautiful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kizzy1368
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Stanley House to celebrate such a special occasion and for your very kind words. We are sorry to hear that you felt our afternoon tea offering wasn't as good as previously enjoyed and your comments have been taken on board so that we can continue to improve our service. We do hope that you will return...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Our wedding was 1/5/16 and I feel that I had to write a review because our experience was so amazing. As soon as we viewed the venue we both knew that this was the venue where we had to hold our wedding. The grand entrance set in beautiful surroundings and the beautifully modern restaurants and bedrooms, alongside the manor rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue432
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Wow, we can't thank you enough for your fantastic comments! We were honoured to have the opportunity to host your wedding day and we are so pleased that Megan looked after you so well and that you were able to relax and enjoy your Big Day. Your recommendation to potential brides and grooms-to-be is worth so much and we look...

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
7.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
988 reviews
9.4 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
918 reviews
4.2 km away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
31.5 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Price Range: $205 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Windsor, California, United States
Liverpool, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay overnight”
caroledenny, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 23 in the Woodland Suite was fabulous.”
  • View from room 23
  • Woodland Suite on right
  • Room 23
RADCTurton, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The new wing is wonderful”
frankfurness, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful country hotel. Transport is essential. Our room in the absence was quiet and had lovely views. Large room.”
margaretwS3233VT, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Woodlands modern and easy to access rooms”
brianmI990JG, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 161* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 161
PricelineUSD 161
Agoda.comUSD 160
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates